Help needed. Desperate!

Manfred_sg

haha..

true also.. but this one is gotta see ur installer kung fu lor..

tat time my installer saw my EQL, he also sian diao, cos he kena duno wat sxxt from all this processing device.

then after install liao, ok.. haha..

but if installer kung fu not good enough to satisfy manfred, the pre-amp is the cheapest solution lor..

adding processor CONFIRM will be an advantage.. but its ex.. so u pay for wat u get lor..

heheh..

hahaha..

if kung fu not good enough, u put ODR or F1 also will kena sai lor.. hahahaha..

but oo well.. for manfred's case,if the problem really cannot resolve by other means, then suck thumb gotta resort to gettin additional hardware lor..cos he cannot tune the amp ( unless i stick my kuku jiao in the amp, after that sound sure nice one)and his stock HU is limiting his abilities, so bo bian lor (this is if the installation is done properly)

as for the left right issue thing, the most can do is just play with the fader lor..

or if all in one, get an EQL lor..

i heng my stock HU got 7 band EQ.. so tat time at least got someting to tune with.. heheh.

Manfred, let's break down the questions that need to be address and see if we can digest and propose what's next for you. These are my opinions, ultimately, you have to come to a decision, because, you must know what you want to get out of the money you have paid.

All music/sound originates from one single source, which is your HU. How the quality of the sound turns out to be is affected greatly by your source unit, in this case, your stock HU. I was at this crossroad too when I was using my stock Sony HU on my Focal speakers, no matter how much of investment I made on the cables and blah blah blah, the problem still lies on how the Hu is reading/extracting the info from the CD and broadcasting it out. So, that is one.

1. The sound appear to be bright could be a result of the characteristic of the speakers, and if the amplifier belongs to the same type, you will double the effect of the brightness. By reducing the treble setting, you are also effectively reducing some other bands of freq thus the end result is not ideal and make you much more frustrating. One way is to consider an equalizer, and I mean a decent one.

2. When you say loud, how much louder? I think its better to get down to the meetup tonite for actual auditing before we can come to any conclusion.

3. Your HU's amplification may not have enough wattage to effectively drive the rear stage, same as point 2, let someone in the forum have a look, we are more than glad to help.

Don't do anything impulsive for the moment, tonite's meetup should shed some light in your setup, I am sure of that. You must also be clear of what you want and how far you intend to go in your ICE. If you don't, don't expect the installer to know too since you are just but one of their customers.

Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU

1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble

2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right).

3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU.

What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! bigcry.gif

Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so bigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gif

Forget about this, this senario can hear right tweeter louder than left is very normal if you are not doing Time alignment or real speakers is weak. Your right ear is closer to the right tweeter, so naturally you hear the Right tweeter louder. Simple way to solve this is to adjust the left/right balance,

Or

as your installer advise, to install Alpine 701 processor/display to get precise Center Imaging for your Mazda 5 stock hu. The price he quoted for you $1200 is not X as it includes RTA($150). Other places i know selling same thing at $1500(wif golden ears tuning only)

dude, i hv to disagree with you on this. no TA doesn't mean right will be louder than left, its probably the installer anyhow hantam and fix, i never had this problem running stock HU/cheap spkr/with or without amp. Also the installer's advice to install processor smacks of chop carrot head attitude [thumbsdown] a good installer should always be upfront with the customer and manage his/her expectations regarding the equipment and install. like manfred_sg mentioned, he already spent 2k+ on the setup (not a cheap price might i add), he has a right to expect some results and its not very professional of the installer to just say its like that one, pay more money and add a processor to fix it. if i spend 2k+ on a setup i would expect the installer to lay out the pros and cons and what i shld be expecting out of it.

Please, please, please read my post carfully on the left right sound issue......Lets be more open and help the Spender to solve his problem instead of argueing, tio bo???

[thumbsup]

dude, relaklah, not arguing lah, just stating my opinion...peace k.... [wave]

Hi Sarong1

Thanks for the advice. I have given alot of thought abt addon HU before I did any installation, and make a decision not to dive in yet may be a year later due to money+messup my dash+steering control. I understand the cost if i do it later.

Advice

1)I am seriously considering the processor+controller thing, preamp wise I heard too many complain about aeroplane noise and so for and do not want to go into another round of pain.The Bright thing now is still acceptable for me and I am giving the speaker 2 weeks run-in before I talk to my installer again

2)Thanks for the invitation, I have PM headshok that I really like to meetup with you guys but really caught up during weekdays night. Will find opportunity to go, me marry man must plan properly one. As for the loud thing, my installer also know but I refuse to accept the answer abt the right ear nearer to the tweeter thus this problem. When playing vocal loud, you can feel right side standing out feel really uncomfortable.

3)Rearfill is not my major problem, just want to know is it normal as I do not have problem when stock. Second thing is the advise from my installer abt getting PHD4070pro to drive my front+tweeter and my currentPHD2200 to drive my rear which he also advise to get a PHD MF to replace my stock rear. I was wondering if he try to [knife] me or is it really correct to go this way. He told me with the processor my setup can go active.

The problem is that all this will set me back easily another 2.5K(if I get the discounted PHD).Just wanted to know the right way and my option, not about complaining on my installer, I have no problem with them and I still confident that they can solve my problem only thing is how much? [bigcry]

if you running at passive. Maybe you should adjust the crossover. What i know that Diamond Audio Hex series is transparent. Same situation like Focal 165K2p. You just need to reduce the dB to -2 or..on the crossover.

Just go back to your installer and ask Er to solve for you. Think he can solve all your problem. And tell him what music you are listening to.

If i not wrong. Your tweeter is on the deck and direct facing you.

Didn't and couldn't help you much now though since all is via text. Bottomline is not to be sway by opinions to go into active if you are not ready. WE must understand the concept of passive and active before throwing in more money. People with experience on active will definitely be glad to say that it will be a better option, but if the crossover is good, why need active?

A thingy about selecting processor is that they tend to digitise what shouldn't have been, so you must also consider carefully. You are always welcome to the meetups. Cheers.smile.gif

alot of people in this thread wants to know my installer name, but I insisting to keep it and I do it in PM with a reason, in many other ICE forum once this installer name is announce people will just argue and end up thread being lock down. I hope you understand where I am coming from, not to protect my installer.

I am having a problem with my setup and I am finding a solution with any help I can get and I appreciate fellow forumner from contibuting their experience and share with me and even volunteer to help me check my setup(only Kopi, tea or coke) [grouphug] . I do gain several other option than before I started this thread and I am going to discuss it with my installer.

By the way I never condem this installer "yet" and I defintely will go back to the same installer to rectify my problem of course with the suggestion I got here. The story is not ending yet, I will get the result and feedback in this forum to share with other newbies and those with similar problem(it seem i am not the only one).

This thread can also advise newbie that no "big" installer can always get thing done right the first time and 2K++ is no big deal in ice(I learn that). Saw a Lexus setting up beside me having 3X luxman amp [inlove] and cost more than 20K and I can see my installer workmanship [thumbsup].

One more thing is that I know the Christmas deal before I went down to do my installation and I still choses PHD amp from them. Its the pro series that I am trying to get from the christmas deal as I cannot afford to take from my current installer, its 2K vs $699+install(max S200), of course they can only say go get from others and get them install, this is not professionallism its call Lan Lan. [:p]

Hi Manfred

Seems like you have narrowed down your major irritation to the left / right thingy. Can't help you in that.

But just like to share that I have run a similar setup like yours previously ie front component driven by external amp and rear coaxial driven by HU's internal amp, and it is perfectly possible to drive the rear fill loudly. In fact, it was too loud for my liking and I had to fade it to the front to really obtain that "fill". I think the problem here is really the stock speakers. CMI. Perhaps you could borrow a pair of cheap but efficient speakers to replace the rear stock and try see if it works? You might not need an external amp for the rear fill.

Just my 2 cents...

yo..

in my opinion, rear fill, no need put so expensive speakers.. most pple run their rear fill off the head unit... but if u got $$ to spend, then by all means go ahead.

Also, i was thinking abt ur "left right" problem. i guessed u already played with the left and right balance on ur HU and it still doesnt work. As for the aeroplane sounds, from my personal experience with EQ, i only had the real bad aeroplane sound after my EQ fuse blew..

how abt this. i have an old audio control EQL that's suppose to go in my dad's car soon.

its 15 bands, and each band has a left right frequency. I can lend it to you first for u to test it out and see whether u can solve ur problems.just get ur installer to rig it up (very fast one).

If cannot, then at least we tried. But if can, you can look out for the EQLs which is definitely cheaper than the processor.

IMHO, if u not so hardcore into ICE, there is no need for such expensive processor.with that money, you can easily buy another HU for your car (pioneer 8650 etc, clarion 956 )...

the choice is yours.

cheers man

Edited by Headshok

Advice

1)I am seriously considering the processor+controller thing, preamp wise I heard too many complain about aeroplane noise and so for and do not want to go into another round of pain.The Bright thing now is still acceptable for me and I am giving the speaker 2 weeks run-in before I talk to my installer again

letting ur speakers & cables (assuming all new) run in before twitching the setup is a wise thing to do. thinking of spending more money to solve the problem in the mean time isn't.

2)Thanks for the invitation, I have PM headshok that I really like to meetup with you guys but really caught up during weekdays night. Will find opportunity to go, me marry man must plan properly one. As for the loud thing, my installer also know but I refuse to accept the answer abt the right ear nearer to the tweeter thus this problem. When playing vocal loud, you can feel right side standing out feel really uncomfortable.

this theory abt loudness due to proximity to speakers can be easily proven or debunked by moving over to the passenger seat & see if now the left speakers are louder. if your installer's "theory" is true then it should now apply to the left speakers instead.

I'm assuming your balance is "neutral/zero" setting & no TA & no defective speakers/cabling fault

3)Rearfill is not my major problem, just want to know is it normal as I do not have problem when stock. Second thing is the advise from my installer abt getting PHD4070pro to drive my front+tweeter and my currentPHD2200 to drive my rear which he also advise to get a PHD MF to replace my stock rear. I was wondering if he try to [knife] me or is it really correct to go this way. He told me with the processor my setup can go active.

u are running passive now because your stock HU cannot run active without sufficient pre-outs & a built-in crossover. going active, to the installer, simply means u spend more $$$ at his place

The problem is that all this will set me back easily another 2.5K(if I get the discounted PHD).Just wanted to know the right way and my option, not about complaining on my installer, I have no problem with them and I still confident that they can solve my problem only thing is how much? [bigcry]

pls listen to the bros here, try to find some time to attend the ICE meetups on Weds for free & unbiased advice. misplaced trust can be quite a costly affair

my last advice - Mazda stock HU does not go well with certain processor (PXA-H701). it has been tested before. hissing sound cannot be completely eradicated. u have been warned

The Alpine 701 is best to be linked digitally to the HU.

By running analog cable from the HU to the 701, most of the time there will be static and some form of aeroplane noise.. unless the insulation is done very well.

But then again, by switching digitally, the signal going into 701 will be 'amplified' as well.

Agree with you totally on the rear fill and the processor thingy.

The processor is really quite tempting for some Mz owners becasue:

1) they do not want a 2nd HU to mess up their dash (I do think the Mz3 have the sexiest dash around, and you can call me bias [:p] )

2) they want to retain the audio control at the steering wheel.

But heck, for the money of the processor, you can even get a high-end HU like the D2 [jawdrop] So my question is: why would anyone want to spend so much $$$ when sound is secondary to aesthetic? Sure, if you have the moolah to blow, then by all means. But it doesn't make sense in this instance. In any case, as far as sound processing is concerned, I always believe that less is more [:)]

As for the audio control on the steering wheel, I only lost the mode function because the 2nd HU is providing the tuner function. The other functions such as volume, track and mute are all retain. In other words, the stock HU is now my CD changer [:)]

I really hope your EQL can solve his problem...seems like one of the most value for money solutions...

Edited by Jooz

[;)] Hey brudder, I lagi worst - married with 3 children also can go down wat [;)] just that I am in China now so could not make it [:/]

Anyway, quite easy to check for the left right thingee - if u can access the RCA cables going into your amp - try switching the left to the right and vice versa - if your left speakers now sound louder than the right - there is some sound balance problem either with the HU or cabling before the amp.

If same problem persists, then the problem lies with the amp itself or cabling from the amp to the speakers.

After doing that then can pinpoint fault and work towards solution.

But seriously, adding a processor is one of the last things one should do - IMO that is to enhance, or tweak the sound after all the basics are in order. [thumbsup]