Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 22, 2005 Author Share December 22, 2005 Hi Jooz, "sound is secondary to aesthetic" I am trying to strike a balane, my ride only 2 weeks old lah. Cut here Cut there very pain one, and yes D2 is also one of my option more likly clarion 865. D2 quote me 1900 out of my buget. "less is more " i totally agree, but how to use less to solve the current situation? Seemlike U driving Mazda too, I was told of Pioneer 9655(Euro version) or something lke that can have full steering control but my installer say they no carry muct buy myself than get it fix. Can you advise what HU you use that can still use your steering(minus the mode). Bro headshok had offer me a Eq for test(Thanks), but i think my installer should be the one offering me as a solution. Thus I will go squeeze them to try it out on my system after i runin my speaker. By the way there is aftermarket carbon fiber dash for Mz3, can remove your stock and put new HU very nice, I think few hunderd better than cut here cut there, but theres none for Mz5 or else early early I go get D2 liao. >that is also 1 reason I waiting to change HU because Taiwan just started shipping Mz5, aftermaket should follow. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie December 22, 2005 Share December 22, 2005 The Alpine 701 is best to be linked digitally to the HU. By running analog cable from the HU to the 701, most of the time there will be static and some form of aeroplane noise.. unless the insulation is done very well. But then again, by switching digitally, the signal going into 701 will be 'amplified' as well. in this case I dun think it's even possible for the mazda stock HU for the hissing I dun mean the aeroplane noise. it's something intrinsic to the processor... anyway it's quite an old model & should be discontinued very soon cos Alpine have newer processors in it's lineup liaoz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jooz Neutral Newbie December 22, 2005 Share December 22, 2005 Hi Manfred I hear you. Cutting up new car damn pain manz I am using an aftermarket dash (top) made of plastic. Thanks for heads up on the CF one. Where did you see it? Like I have said before, I have really no suggestion as to how to solve the left / right thingy. Just felt that a $1.2k processor is too expensive a solution. The HU was a sidetrack (anyway I was last quoted $1.5k for the D2, which is not too far off the processor). Just brought it up to illustrate the $$$...not trying to posion you Agree with you that your installer should be the one offering you a solution...but no harm accepting the EQ offer for a test. At least you know your options better when you next speak to him. BTW, a lot of pple like to experiment with their tweeter position (apparently they use blue tack first before making any decision on their final location). Mazda Singapore charges $14/- for a set of Mz3 window sail (the black piece of triangular plastic behind the wing mirror). Don't know how much for the Mz5 and you may also want to find out the $ for the A-pillar set. A lot people mount their tweeter in these 2 locations for imaging reasons and apparently it can also help reduce the tweeter brightness. So if it costs only $14/- for a piece of plastic (that's assuming that I am gonna replace it later), I don't mind cutting it up. This would be my next project As for my steering control, my stock HU is connected as an aux device to my 2nd HU...so steering control is retained. And given the sound quality of the tuner in the 2nd HU, I would prefer to retain the tuner function in the stock HU thus retaining the full set of controls. Reception on the 2nd HU is better though. And yah, my 2nd HU is a Clarion 956 but I believe any HU with an aux in would work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie December 22, 2005 Share December 22, 2005 I will go around to look for "cheong" 9835 for u tmr How was biz yesterday? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...