Advice pls: thinkin of installing a all alpine system.

Evan015

I rem I saw someone selling orie...

Anyway, not for me... heng my car can change to after market HU easily...

Btw , hows ur new setup? All Mono extreme and mainly gensis setup, right? Wanted to ask u if u can let me listen but lost ur num...

MM-1 is a niche product. interesting concept but may not suit everyone

it completely replaces your head unit, making it obselete

you have to rip all your CDs into either WAV or MP3, limited only by the capacity of the CF card

very interesting product, I've got a chance to play with it [flowerface]

well, converting CD audio to mp3 and wav will be a lossy conversion right? if that's the case, i doubt it will improve sound quality, on the contrary, it got worse... [jawdrop]

haha it's subjective to say whether SQ improves or not

MP3 is "lossy" format, WAV "lossless" is much better but at the expense of larger file size

it's like going back to analogue vs digital argument

playback thru memory card will eliminate all the probs faced with CD media, e.g. skipped tracks, spoilt/stuck discs, storage space

the next trend in Car Audio is moving towards "portable digital audio" so this is one of the products

even now got SQ competition which requires i-pod setup to push the new trend into mainstream [dizzy]

yup, i do agree with you that a memory card might solve the problem of cd skipping, spoilt disc or storage space. the bewith mm1 seems like selling for abt $3k plus which i think i can get a decent hu without such problems right?

not many will fork out $3k for a portable audio trend lor. Look at DAB, it once tried to pick up but in the end still is dying...

pardon me if i've offended u in anyway but i'm just been realistic.

the probs I listed lies with the media not the player

time will tell if the trend dies or prosper...

haha anyway why would i be offended I dun own one & I dun think I will in the near future also [laugh]

anyway let's not stray OT... back to alpine setups! anyone got any comments on the latest range of alpine decks? [;)]

Edited by Wahlao

it completely replaces your head unit, making it obselete

you have to rip all your CDs into either WAV or MP3, limited only by the capacity of the CF card.....

Err..I dont tink it work this way.

U still can play from your HU and the signal from ur OEM HU will be process by the MM-1 (setup box) before going into your processor/ amp.

Read the link , I provided.

The MP3/Wav is an addition, all its trying to prove is that: with their black box, they can convert the not so high quality source into high quality signal into ur processor or amp.

true...

But this product is meant for pple who dont want to change or cannot cannot change the OEM HU one (integrated HU)... not for the mass....

Nam Huat (Sin Ming) ...

you interested in a 2nd hand set ? mine is sitting there idling ... you can have it for $25 ... plus I give you the no-brand hi-lo too ... how is that ?

i don't think alpine came up with anything called the mini F1. it's coined by some ppl but not alpine for sure.

i know the so called combination of "mini-f1" that quite alot of ppl is talking abt. it's good for it's price.

frankly, the original f1 sounded alot better and it's much more versatile.