Headshok 1st Gear February 11, 2006 Share February 11, 2006 Hi all, just got back from helping my friend "check his install" at the installer shop. He went to this shop by accident as he mistook it for a more well known installer which was just next door (he knew there was a gtood installer along that road, but went to the wrong shop). so he had this to install: Genesis profile amp(duno which one) Phoenix gold 1200.1 monoblk (1200 watts) a simple fuse box 1.2F cap I told my friend to get the installer to rig him up with all 4 gauge cable since his amp was a power sucker and most prob an 8 guage to his genesis amp. one thing abt te PG amp is that it has 2 power inputs. according to the specs, for normal useage, u can use 1 power input and leave the other one empty or attach to a caps OR use both inputs for max power to the amp. then i went down to kapo look look. install was quite average (simple board with the amps mounted). also, going into the amps power inputs were 2 4 gauge cables and 2 4 gauge gound cables. not bad. what was funny was this: when i looked at the fuse box, it had a 4 gauge ground cable and an 8 gauge live cable. this puzzled me. how did a 4 gauge cable from the battery become an 8 gauge behind, then i traced and traced (the installer was settling somethign else). then i looked behind the board, this was how the installer did the "full 4 gauge setup".. from battery to the rear: 4 gauge once behind, 4 gauge attached to capacitor positive terminal. also, 4 gauge attached to caps ground terminal. THEN, from the caps positive terminal ran an 8 gauge cable to the fuse box. thus this explained the 8 gauge +ve input on the fuse box. from the fuse box ran out 2 8 gauge cables, one ran to the genesis (which is fine with me). then i was wondering, how did he magically turn 1 8 gauge cable into 2 4 gauge cable. I pulled out the board and saw tha the had attached the 8 gauge to 2 4 gauge cables and blacked taped it together in 1 big bundle. this would have defeated the whole purpose of havin a 4 gauge cable in the first place! i sounded this off to my friend and explained to him what was goin on (after all). the installer had almost finished the whole job (was installin the sub). aniway. i told my fried to ask the installer abt the "doctored 8 gauged cable". later on, he called me back and told me that the installer said that his fuse box didnt support 4 gauge outputs. fair enough reason, but y didnt he sound off in the first place? then i tolf my friend: run the 4 gauge from the battery directly to the monoblk. attach the caps to the other end of the monoblk. Since the monoblk is gonna take up the bulk of the power, y not just use the caps for it. as for the genesis amp, for the time being, tap 1 8 gauge from the +ve input from monoblk to the old fuse box then to the genesis amp. aniway, pple, plss research the installers and ur facts b4 goin to instal ur ice. sometimes u wont noe wat u'll be getting. cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romanc88x Clutched February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 Hi, can pm the shop name so that I can info my friends, if need be. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foursprings Neutral Newbie February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 Yo bro! Thanks for coming all the way down to take look at the install. Your after sales service not bad hor. Heng u spotted that cosmetic 4gauge else one fine day i go for long drive to MY then the 8 gauge wire behind melt and catch fire I gone liao (worst case scenario). Come to think of it, I shud have asked you to draw me a wiring diagram before I went to install but it was a last minute thing because I had suddenly had a few hours to spare but suay lor, pop into the wrong shop. Anyway, just now I re-tune the sound to my liking liao and the sound now very very acceptable to me. Altho still using that small box hor, the base still really damn shiok. Good stuff!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 12, 2006 Author Share February 12, 2006 haha.. no problem man.. sorry i left early, monday got 2 quizes, would have loved to stay behind and see how the guy do.. aniway.. have fun with ur new setup man!!! cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 comon tactics to cut cost.... haiz... y cheat that few tens dollar????!! Along where huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 12, 2006 Author Share February 12, 2006 if cut cost safely, can, but if it has bene agreed "full 4 gauge" and still got 8 gauge ard the place, then different lor.. hehh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 The sub really power? I am sure it does, but too bad I'm not in town this Wed If you want a box for the OZ sub, let me know. I've got one made to perfection 1.2 cuft sealed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 OT. your avatar getting as disgusting as your burping, wahahahaaa....... i see your business improving, when you buying us drinks on wed night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 12, 2006 Author Share February 12, 2006 i small time make some $$$$.. so poor thing.. *sobs sobs*.. heheheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 (edited) Your ES sold? Edited February 12, 2006 by Slonez Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 no 1 want leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 The ES or you!? Solly hor! A bit sianz over in China lah on my own Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 bro everything abt Headshok is disgusting.... trying msn-ing with him during the day~~~ Geez~~ his mind inside only got PCC, boobs, neh neh, etc etc etc... kekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 wahh enjoy life now liao hor~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 Wat to enjoy ... I'm alone in my room posting on the Car Forum I'll PM u my MSN address! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 great job on spotting. i need your help also, pm u later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 well, bro let's trade places~~~ u come punjabi-land, i go to xiaolongnu-land~~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 I go curryland sure jialat ... me no speak punjabi leh! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...