Verna vs Kia Rio

Mivec9

if you think Jap are more reliable but can't afford a new one go for used ones. But u want new car and can't afford a jap and doesn't want to buy Korean then don't buy car at all.....Cars are like humans no matter Korean or Jap or Continental they do have wear and tear...if you know of any car that doesn't need maintenance tell us we go and buy.

I'm happy with this car. If you think your friends's judgement are accurate, can forget our comments mah! ask for what?

For that kind of budget...you can't even think of VIOS...! Jap brands are out of the list..don't burden yourself if you can't afford a Jap one. I drove a continental before its like stretching my budget every month, maintenance and fuel cost already kill u

your budget can buy u only

Kia Picanto, Rio, Cerato

Hyundai Getz, Verna

Proton Wira, Gen2 1.3

Perodua Kelisa

Posche..I am asking for comments because we are at a lost. As i have mention..i know nuts abt cars..so it pretty normal for me to want to find out more. I almost wanna commit to buy verna liao...cos really like verna alot.But in dilemma cos worried abt the maintenace when years to come and whether the car can "tong" up to 10yrs. I am not condemning on Korean cars.I know individual cars have their own set of problems and the wear n tear issue even conti cars.We just heard too many negative comments so we are not sure what to do next.Anyway...thanks for your advice and dun understand why you so agitated? If you feel pek chek to answer my question..umm..you can let the others who willing to advice me do the job. Sorry if i am really so disturbing to you.

btw bro, tin porche is right in some sense lor, ur comments actually let me feel that u had already make up ur mind buying a jap car, cos ur friend highly recom. its just tat you cant part with ur $ so keep tining of a cheaper option.......... if sm1 can quote u a jap car cheaper than korea 1,tin u will close this thread liao [dead]

no offence but i personally tin tat korea car in terms of quality may nt lose out to jap car i this era loh.......many of my friends/relative all switching to korean cars, is that a evidence to prove so.... [;)] btw, they can well afford those "branded" cars 1 lor

nevertheless, in the end u r the owner, so u decide ba, all others ( including ur friends view) should be treated as only feedbacks.............follow ur heart bro...but dun tie urself to a loan tats out of ur means [nod]

Ya..i agree with you..you r right... If i have a choice..in terms of $$ and afforbility..i would choose to buy a jap car.....than a korean. Sad to say lar.think will be throw smelly egg by you guys liao. [:p] ..u mean if you have a choice between jap car and korean car..you will still chose korean? To be honest to yourself?? Then i have nothing to say lor[sweatdrop]

Hope u know the total cost of owning a car. How much allowance your company give? Can you claim parking on top of allowance?

You should have included road tax, erp, parking, petrol, maintenance into your calculation.

If you just get this sales job which require a car, perhaps it is better to get an old car to start first.

Is it a must to have car? Can't u take taxi and claim?

This is because, if you don't like the job, change job etc, you sell the car, don't lose so much.

I can't imagine how much you will lose selling the car 1 year if you find a better job that don't require the car.

By then maybe no car allowance, wanna sell also hard, don't wanna sell every month also bleeding.

Something to think about...

emmmm. ..... no body will throw u even if u choose jap car........as i say, its ur choice....... but nt every1 will tin jap car is the best lor, so if u ask me, i can tell u that i am ok with either jap or korea lor. i wun say i will surely choose jap if i hav the choice........btw, i choose my verna over vios & vit & altis, wat do u tin???? [;)]

Hahha..cos of alot of ! mark i think...tats why you sound fierce ba.no lar.sorry olso hor...me olso quiet upset..cos quite in a urge to settle the car things..sort of make up the mind liao yet getting so many negative feedback so feel pretty demoralised lor.Hahaha....paisey hor..if i really sound so offensive to you all.Really dun mean to condemn korean cars.......really SONG BA! i believe you what you guys say is true...maybe the quality has really change over the yrs........ [:)]

bro buy what u need not buy what u want.....! now jobs not secure, just 2 cents from me. I got friend buy Vios, then kanna jia luck accident whole car write off now he in great debts.

I can well afford a wish if i want but it voice down to what u need! can drive big cars shiok shiok but no $$$ to settle the bills end of the mth....! Hyundai is a good buy lah, i considering getting another one as OPC for my OC!

Bro, you are right to say all cars will have their sets of problem. Some have more, others have less.

Wear and tear parts replacements is part and parcel of car ownership - u need to replace certain parts when the time comes, no matter what car you drive.

Korean cars used to have a bad rep. this is not without valid reasons. Now their quality have improved. How much have they improve? Only time will tell.

No one here or anywhere can say for sure if current korean car can tong for 10 yrs.

It will take years to find out. Japanese cars have been time tested. Current batch of Korean car is being time tested.

You can't make a fully informed decision on Korean cars yet. That's the dilemma you have to face.

Hahha...think of old car before...really but think rather bo hua if do the calculation...my comnpany give allwance of 800/mth if you own a car......if no car you only allow to claim up to 350/mth for taxis.

Which way better? Buy a car or taxi?? hmm..now have to ponder....... [sweatdrop]

Yes.I do need a car cos in sales line. [sweatdrop] if not i dun think i won't even thinking of getting one lor..

My friend was in a similar situation sometime back.

He needed a car for his sales job, but at that time was not able to afford a new car.

So he bought a 2nd hand car, which lasted him for a good 2 yrs.

After that, when he was financially better off, he got a new car.

Why not settle for a reliable 2nd hand car and save up a little in the meantime.

By then, you would have more choices to choose from.

You will also have a more informed judgement as to whether korean cars can last... [laugh]

But with all products, initially to penetrate the market, they will undercut the more established brands in pricing. But after they hve proven themselves, the prices will be more comparable.

Eg. Samsung and LG Plasma/LCD TVs

Now, Samsung LCD's are considered market leaders in technology and quality...

Something to think about...

Edited by Burgerdog

u got a pt there too. Might as well get a car. :) Every mth, u fork out some money out of ur own wallet on top of the 800 bucks and you can land urself with a pretty ok car.

I'm driving a mit lancer (M) opc. Every mth pay close to 1k, but no allowance from co. Honestly, if u get 800, its make a lot of sense to get a car. If u average out the taxi allowance, its about 10 something dollars a day and you can't get a cab as and when u need, especially during peak hours and weekend. I can assure u that getting a cab during peak hr is no joke. sigh.... cos' there are clowns who will purposely stand some metres up the road to catch the cab first.

I'm used to travelling a lot during the weekends. On sunday, I travelled more than 70 km, which would have cost quite a bit if I took a cab. In terms of petrol, its about less than 10 bucks.

As for the debate over whether korean or jap car, this is up to u to decide. Buy something u like. No pt saving that few thousand and end up regretting over ur purchase.

Like urself, I was on the brink of buying a getz, cos' the the mthly installment dirt low and don't have to borrow much. I didn't buy the getz still, not because its korean, but rather it wasn't what I like a lot.

PS: Cab is not reliable, if you are thinking of getting to places on time, everytime. Unless, u book a cab, which is going cost an arm or a leg, especially during peak hours. But, even if u book, there are still unforeseen circumstances. [dead] Cabs can lose their way too. [mad]