Felipe 3rd Gear February 19, 2006 Share February 19, 2006 (edited) the fuel cover may not be locked, but the cap which is locked is sufficient. even with the cover locked, some1 can break it open and borrow fuel. the lock cap doesn't make it any easier for vandals to break in and steal fuel. i dont noe about the distance between acc and brake but i found it ok when i tested it. only thing i dont like was no left foot rest. on my alfa, the pedal distance is even closer, for obvious reasons but i noe some dont like it. i dont see anything wrong with point 4. isnt it good to have the passenger able to activate central locking or front windows? unless u got a robber beside u or some nasty kid. here's a viewpoint for yr consideration. wat about a car which has the above 4 points, but doesnt have as much driving feel, handling, nice engine note, revvy engine, 6 speed cvt at this price. the closest competitors to the punto would be the jazz, swift and watever other korean and jap autos. & to be honest, none of them in auto mode has a more engaging drive than the punto. agree the punto doesnt have everything, but its got a great drive which tips the balance in its favor. Features are afterall just enhancements. ultimtely, its gotta stir yr soul. Edited February 19, 2006 by Felipe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cursor Neutral Newbie February 19, 2006 Author Share February 19, 2006 Thanks for the information. For the gear part I also feel the same. For the fuel cover, I really got no idea that there is no lock. I thought now all the cars fuel cover is open from the driver side with some lever or something under the seat. But if there is lock on the cap then shouldn't be an issue. I also notice that the accelerator and brake is very close. But during test drive already use to it liao. Maybe I drive a manual car now so never notice the leg rest. As during test drive I put my feet on the floor. In fact, for gear, brakes and the rest if you really like the car (which I do) can slightly change your driving habit to suit it. What I'm in concern now is more on the leg space available at the rear seats. Still I find it quite narrow back there but can't confirm if it is my eyes playing tricks. As there is owner saying that the leg space is same as Mazda 2SP and bigger the Jazz..... As I see from the specification, the Punto dimension is same as Getz. So I need to confirm this issue (infact seem to be my only issue now.) Since I do expect to ferry people (including driver is 4 adults + 1 baby sit). So this issue can't really be ignored. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 19, 2006 Share February 19, 2006 Ya I did a test drive the other day for Punto. Handling is good, engine is louder the Mazda 2SP, but quiet compare to Rio, Aveo. Build and quality is there.What I don't like about the Punto. Price is high for a 1.3L car, but not really the main concern as if 1.3L can do the job of what a 1.4L to 1.6L car then not really an issue. But question is can Punto do it? I mean for normal driving, Punto handle it well but when push to the limit will it be the first to give up? Just take for example. if both Mazda 2SP and Fiat Punto are fully loaded with 4 adult + luaggage of say 30Kg, who will still perform well? Another thing that I don't like about Fiat is the gear shift. It is located too low. I find it's design make it very hard to depress the button and shift the gear (eg. from P to D). Possible to change this gear shaft? Lastly, anyone know how much the sport rims that they offer worth? is it any good compare to the original stock rims? Cos as some had said the original rims when in high speed of above 100Km/h don't perform well. Hence most owner change it after they got the ride. So wonder if the sport rims will be the same? Sorry, as I really want to have the thought of getting Punto over Mazda 2 SP hence must hear some feedback on the above issues. I dun understand why you feel the price is high. I think Singaporeans are too fixated with the idea that 1.3 must be sold at certain price range and 1.6 must be at certain price range. Honda Jazz is a 1.4 and it is currently sold at 57.5K without sportsrims and OMV is only a few hundred higher but selling price is almost 4K more. Swift is currently at 52K and its OMV is about 2K odd lower than Punto. 2K in OMV translates to about 5K after the taxes. By right Punto shld be at least 5K more expensive than Swift but it cost only 2K more. Comparision is fairer when you take into account the OMV, FC and other aspects such as performance and handling. Not just by looking at the size and engine capacity of the car. Punto maybe only 1.3 but it can deliver in certain aspects like a 1.5 or 1.6 car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 when's my turn to ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 (edited) sometimes i see the things that pple pick on, really . the pt about having to step out to open the fuel cover and the pedal distance not far enough, even my supposedly more reknown ford has these weak points too. and i hv seen jap car owners complain that conti doors are too heavy too my view is same as you. everything in this world comes as a package. there's nothing in this world that is perfect. big picture is much more important than nitpicking. Edited February 20, 2006 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 of course the fuel cap lock is a bother to some drivers ? how many of us drivers actually don't come out of the car during fueling? i don't rememer anyone who can say that the punto is bigger in rear seats space than the mazda 2 or the jazz.. all three are comparable , if fact each has its own advantages instead. For the punto and mazda 2 , entry and exit to the rear seats are with ease. the vertical space definitely goes to the mazda. As for the jazz, you noticed that entry is a bit different, but you cannot put the colt in the picture , as for people entering the back seats of the colt would notice a slight discomfort and problem. but really if you are gonna ferrying 4 big adults and 1 kid which are sensitive to space, it seems better to buy a mpv or a really large jap/korean make? i took a samller car coz i knew i wouldn't be ferrying that many people most of the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 Bro Hicksau , I think our friend want to go for the punto but wifey said otherwise....sigh.. see our reply under :www.clubfiattitude.com under PUNTO - punto selling price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enrique Neutral Newbie February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 I managed to squeeze in 2 adults and 3 kids in the back of my HGT. However I dun always do that. Only once in a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 if its by the common singaporean car buying sense , you can stick with a jap or worse korean make and in the end , you in your head will say i have a car .. but if you stick with your heart with the daring passion and a real analytical focus instead of following sheeps , you will in your head say that you have and drive a car .. B) I'm not biased against anyone whom follow common beliefs :rolleyes: , but i admire those who look through beliefs and find gems beneath every rock. It takes a smart creative side to find the gems but it also takes a "the world is flat" common myth to squash the effort... :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 standard features? get standard car loh " dear sir , do you want your standard vios in black or white ? " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 when's my turn to ridecome to the Tarzanboyz 323 d.i.y. sessions, lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 time to infiltrate tarzan boy session Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 the fuel cover may not be locked, but the cap which is locked is sufficient. even with the cover locked, some1 can break it open and borrow fuel. the lock cap doesn't make it any easier for vandals to break in and steal fuel. i dont noe about the distance between acc and brake but i found it ok when i tested it. only thing i dont like was no left foot rest. on my alfa, the pedal distance is even closer, for obvious reasons but i noe some dont like it. i dont see anything wrong with point 4. isnt it good to have the passenger able to activate central locking or front windows? unless u got a robber beside u or some nasty kid. here's a viewpoint for yr consideration. wat about a car which has the above 4 points, but doesnt have as much driving feel, handling, nice engine note, revvy engine, 6 speed cvt at this price. the closest competitors to the punto would be the jazz, swift and watever other korean and jap autos. & to be honest, none of them in auto mode has a more engaging drive than the punto. agree the punto doesnt have everything, but its got a great drive which tips the balance in its favor. Features are afterall just enhancements. ultimtely, its gotta stir yr soul. As I have mentioned, this is my personal feel about the car. Everybody has their own expectations and requirement. thats all. What I have just stated may not be even a concern for some but that's not all. Lke I have mentioned, I am satisfied with the test drive. there is nothing wrong with the car, just that the car did not have some of the features I expected. I suppose I may have offend some of the punto owners with my comments but every cars has its cons and pros as you have mentioned. Peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 May I know in what way is a Fiat Punto not deemed a standard car? Your enlightenment will be greatly appreciated. No car is perfect, so let's take comments of the car objectively. I hope my comments above have been objective and unbaised. It is open to discussion or debate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 no probs, it was never intended to impose on your opinion anyway but just to provide u a different view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 if its by the common singaporean car buying sense , you can stick with a jap or worse korean make and in the end , you in your head will say i have a car .. I think it is unfair to majority of the car owners in the forum with your sweeping statement. I am sure majority of the forumers and non-forumers are non-scholars, including myself. We do have our priority and requirements. I am sure you will say differently to the new Japanese Honda Civic 1.8. but if you stick with your heart with the daring passion and a real analytical focus instead of following sheeps , you will in your head say that you have and drive a car .. B) To be frank, I dun find Colt Plus or Pergeot 206 a following sheep decision. I am sure driving a impreza will give also give you that spirited feel and control. Are you sterotyping the majority of us? I'm not biased against anyone whom follow common beliefs :rolleyes: , but i admire those who look through beliefs and find gems beneath every rock. It takes a smart creative side to find the gems but it also takes a "the world is flat" common myth to squash the effort... :( I am glad you have found your gem. Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. I am sure many people here have nothing but admiration on the new Fiat, however it seems that the barrier lies in your heart not ours. Don't you agree? Your comments smells of anger and unacceptance of anything not positive against your car. Your comment also gives me the impression that elitism is at play in your heart. In fact, you own the other forummers an apology for your comments. Thats says alot about yourself and your thinking. ** Moderator, you may delete this post as you wish. I apologise for creating any unpleasantness in the thread and my comments above did not meant to offend any Punto owners. However, I totally do not agree with Hicksau's posting. ** Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 Thanks for the information. For the gear part I also feel the same. For the fuel cover, I really got no idea that there is no lock. I thought now all the cars fuel cover is open from the driver side with some lever or something under the seat. But if there is lock on the cap then shouldn't be an issue. I also notice that the accelerator and brake is very close. But during test drive already use to it liao. Maybe I drive a manual car now so never notice the leg rest. As during test drive I put my feet on the floor. In fact, for gear, brakes and the rest if you really like the car (which I do) can slightly change your driving habit to suit it. What I'm in concern now is more on the leg space available at the rear seats. Still I find it quite narrow back there but can't confirm if it is my eyes playing tricks. As there is owner saying that the leg space is same as Mazda 2SP and bigger the Jazz..... As I see from the specification, the Punto dimension is same as Getz. So I need to confirm this issue (infact seem to be my only issue now.) Since I do expect to ferry people (including driver is 4 adults + 1 baby sit). So this issue can't really be ignored. The legroom behind is pretty ok for a car this size. I am 1.77M tall and I find the legroom and headroom acceptable behind. Unless you push the driver seat backwards, there should be no problem sitting 3 average adults behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie February 20, 2006 Share February 20, 2006 i do not think your comments above have been objective and unbaised. It is open to discussion or debate. but seriously i wonder the thought of someone whom buys a car with "standard features" would bring that thought so to rest of car owners without " standard features"? please if thats a sweeping statement, pls tell me anyway, i was more refering to someone whom believes that a car isn't "standard" so he puts off other carbuyers? so is that biased? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...