OPTRA Fuel Question

Worker

Leon19 ,

I presumed you did not meddle with the "95 thingy" under your bonnet ; ie. the car was still "programmed" for RON 95 petrol .

If that is the case , then I would be quite confidently pump the lwr grade petrol and save some retirement funds .

As for your 160 km/h eperience , I hope it does not become addictive ,

you know what I mean .

Rgs

Just collected my OPTRA .

Have been reading the Owners Manual but cannot find anything to indicate what grade of petrol is suitable for it .

Thought of saving some cents by pumping the cheapest grade.

Anybody have any adverse experience with RON 92 petrol ?

Rgs

My car (manual) was collected in Jan 05,,so it is 15 mths old.

Other than the stupid ECU which went haywire from day 1 (finally replaced in June), the car ride was quieter than my previous ride, an EK3.

as for fuel, during the first 2 mths,, tried 92 to 98, also tried V-power when I drove to Malaysia. If u pump ron 98 or V-power, the response is slightly better, whereas ron 92 will initially be abit sluggish, but after a day or 2, u will get used to it.

Conclusion,,ron 92 is good enuff for me, mileage is a decent 12km/l. My daily usage is rather low..so a tank of petrol can last me 2 weeks. I will top up when the refuel light is on till the first auto cutoff during refilling. Amt needed is 50 litres and distance covered is 600 km.

The Optra is a heavy car so dun expect much power from its 1.6l engine.

Topped up the OPTRA till the brim a few days ago with Shell 98 .

So far I have travelled 190 km , lots of cruising ,and the needle is still stuck at full , have not move at all .

Looks like the "heavy" consumption is not so bad yet .

Does the needle start to fall rapidly after that ?

Rgs

if u top up till brim, u can hit abt 200 km before the needle leaves the "F" mark..and probably hit close to 400 km at the "1/2" mark..after tat it will free fall...Depending on ur driving habit..u should be able to hit abt 750 km with the refuel indicator lighting up.

I had tried only a few time...cos to top up from the refuel indicator lighted up to filling up till the brim...will be abt 60 odd litres..which will cost u > $100 dollars !!.

hi !

i also just collected my 1.6A optra sedan on 15Feb too !

when i collected the car, it had abt 1/4 tank , so i drove all the way until red light come up - abt 145km.

but when i top up to full last tuesday - 48L, it only took abt 50km b4 the needle drop to the 'f' mark. then now at almost 280km, my needle is already somewhere btw the 1st and 2nd marker(less than half tank) ! I have strong belief that it wud not make it past the 400km mark this time. (80% highway)

btw, i pump esso 5000, 48L = $80, using the SA petrol vouchers.

Edited by Ysc3

Ysc3 ,

Maybe your "full" was not to the brim of the tank , just when the pump cuts out ?

I pump until I can see the petrol right about to overflow .

My needle started dropping after about 200 km as predicted by Cracker .

Right now at 250 km , it has dropped about half a division .

May be able to reach 400 km at the half tank mark .

Still driving with a very light right foot .

Rgs

i'll wait till i hit red again, then top up and i will roughly know my current FC already. no need to rely on the markers lah....

[drivingcar]

I wonder how accurate the petrol pumps are .

They should be , isn't it ?

The petrol tank capacity of the OPTRA is 60 litres

and the low level light is supposed to come on a 7.5 litres .

That means one can only put in about 55 l after the light comes on .

If you can pump in close to 60 l , does that mean the pump is over reading ?

If the pumps are not accurate , the consumers suffer , unless they are over reading ,

in which case , I don't think anyone of us would mind .

Just wishful thinking , I presume .

Rgs

[thumbsdown]

usually when the refuel indicator is lighted up, balance will be ard 10 litres. If u top up to the first auto stop, amt will be ard 50 litres. If u pump till u can see petrol at the brim, amt needed will be 60 litres....So if u can actually squeeze in abt 70 litres of petrol into the tank.

how is it economical ?

I feel different ..... the first marker drop like mad....but the last marker tend to last longer. gives you the impression that the fuel tank is pear-shaped. Top small, body medium and base big.

surprisingly, i managed to hit 490km b4 my fuel light comes on. topped up another 49L today - pump auto-stop mode.....so roughyl my first tank managed to do abt 10km/L.

Mine is the Saloon type , Manual .

You want the OPTRA 5 ?

Not that many on the road .

Good luck

Rgs

[drivingcar]

They are all manual car, 12k/l is not a problem.

My Optra estate manual can easily get near 12k/L, with heavier car body, and no control right foot. I can achieve about 700km for a tank, but normally pump to the brim.

For Auto I am not sure.

I like the optra 5 estate auto. (No flamming please [sweatdrop] ).

Good choice [thumbsup] But you can try manual if you not mind a little more fun of driving.

wow...optra tank oso 60 litres huh?..My primera holds a 60litres tank too.However the most i hv pumped to the car is like onli 52L??...and tat is when the reserve tank lights came on for quite some time liao...anyway buey zhun de lei...they said 60L but infact maybe 55l niah la..