Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 I really like the auto EQ and time alignment features in some of the Pioneer HUs. Do other ICE brands have these features? I did some reasearch and did not find these on Alpine and Clarion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L9turbo Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 Care to elaborrate what are these functions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 The Pioneer HU comes with a small microphone and a tuning CD. When performing auto EQ and time alignment, the microphone is (typically) placed at the driver seat headrest (that's where the driver's ear level is) and the other end of the microphone is connected to the HU. You then insert the tuning CD for the HU to play. For auto EQ, the HU plays white (or is it pink?) noise, the microphones picks up the audio signal and feeds it back to the HU. The HU then perform a before-after comparison of the signal to evaluate the overall ICE system frequency response, and adjust the multi-band EQ to flatten the frequency response as much as possible. For auto time alignment, the HU plays click/pulse noise through all the speakers, one at a time. Again the microphone picks up the click/pulse audio signal and feeds it back to the HU. THe HU then determine the time difference between when the signal is played and when it is picked up by the microphone. Once this same process is repeated for all the speakers, the HU then add the necessary time delay for each speakers to ensure that all the auio signal from all speakers arrive at the listening sweetspot at the same time, thus providing a coherent audio experience. A lot of ICE installer somehow don't believe in the above auto-tune features and prefer to tune the system by ear or otherwise. I have no issue with that. Audio appreciation is subjective. To each his own. Mukaiya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 the Eclipse 8455(tink thats the model) has one that uses memory stick.. u plug in the memory stick and position the mic, it will do a scan, u upload the data to the eclipse site, they will tune it for u and put it onto the memory stick, then u can save it on ur HU.. heheh.. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 so, this microphone n cd. do we get in the package or the installer only has it? if we do get it, it comes with which model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 The 9650, 8650 and 9200 have the auto-tune features. The mic and CD are part of the HU package. They are meant for user DIY auto-tune. I made a mistake in explaining the auto-tune process. The CD is not required. The HU emits the test tone on its own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 Time Alignment is available in a lot of HU , not only Pioneer, some other brands name it different, and it's a good feature, as it can be used by the installer or the tuner to easily achieve better tuned system and also by spending less time to tuned it. Can u imagine how it's like to tuned a system ten years ago? heh heh Tough right ? But that's the fun part of ICE'd~~~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 (edited) Time alignment is available to lots of HU. However AUTO time alignement and AUTO EQ seems to be exclusive to Pioneer for now. Pioneer has this edge over other brands because these features were already available in their AV receivers some years back, and they received rave reviews. Pioneer has now brought these features to their high end HUs. Edited March 23, 2006 by Jomukaiya1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 so u meant we can do it ourselves? so if i install this models, i need to get the mic n cd oso rite? otherwise the installer will keep it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 that's why i am usin the 8650, cheap and good kekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 Yes. It's completely DIY friendly. The auto time alignement and auto EQ are, as their name imply, automated. You just need to plug in the mic, position it at the desired location, activate the auto-TA/EQfunction, get out of the car and close the door. The entire process will be over in about 6 minutes. Of course, you have to make sure that the installer doesn't bua bodoh and keep the mic + CD when you purchase the HU... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 In Alpine is called Time Correction (TC), I believe Alpine F1 Status and Pioneer ODR are the pioneering of this system. Previously I had Pioneer 9450 in my car, was tuned by NG that time but I alaways prefer to do my own tuning. I spent hours and petrol for running idle to learnt on how to tune the 9450 myself in Bishan carpark last time. I did try the auto tune, maybe is perfect according to Pionner program but honestly I don't like it at all. I prefer to meddle with it myself. In Pioneer the alignment is easier since the HU able to set the distance is inch/centimeter. What I observe last time is the speaker distance is set nearer to focus point the delay is going up relatively to the furthest speaker setup. Pioneer guide was not so clear in my 9450 it doesn't show how it works or calcultate. So I learnt it by trial and error. When I changed my car, it has OEM HU and I didn't want to install 2nd HU. So, my installer recommend me to use Alpine RUX-701 processor. This processor has time correction, user selectable parametric equalizer or graphical equalizer. I started playing with it myself oce basic tuning was done by NG. The Alpine manual has guide how to calculate the TC, this made me clear on how the TC works. But in Alpine the TC is representated by "ms" (milli second), so number crunching is needed to put the setting into the system. I still on learning curve now, due to workload lately I don't have much time to spend alone in the carpark tuning my processor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 (edited) "speaker distance is set nearer to focus point the delay is going up relatively to the furthest speaker setup." This makes perfect sense. For time alignment, the lowest common denominator is the speaker furtherst away from the listening position, because it takes the longest amount of time for sound to traverse that distance. Therefore the closer the speaker is to the listening position, the more delay has to be added - thus giving opportunity for the sound from the furthest speaker to catch up. On time alignment user interface, it makes more sense to me that the measurement unit is represented in distance (cm or inch), because that's what you can physically measure - the distance between from the listening position to the speaker. For HU which uses time (milliseconds) as measurement unit, it's just plain bad design, because it forces you to manually convert distance measured into time (speed of sound/distance=time). I know some of such HUs provide a conversion chart in their owner's manual, but the manufacturer could have save printing cost and user hassle by implementing the measurement unit in distance. Edited March 23, 2006 by Jomukaiya1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 ok, then it makes the reason to get 8650 easier...u know any good lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomukaiya1 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Author Share March 23, 2006 My lobang options are very limited because I drive a Saab and most installers are clueless about such niche cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 Time alignment is available to lots of HU. However AUTO time alignement and AUTO EQ seems to be exclusive to Pioneer for now. Pioneer has this edge over other brands because these features were already available in their AV receivers some years back, and they received rave reviews. Pioneer has now brought these features to their high end HUs. You miss out Alpine F1 which also has Auto Time alignment, Auto EQ and Auto Road EQ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 Sorry I am not promoting, but go to New Generation at Paya Ubi your Saab will be taken care. I never had doubt in NG workmanship and care to the car. My previous car and current car was less than 1 week old after collection, I handed over to NG for ICE installation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 >>My lobang options are very limited because I drive a Saab and most installers are clueless about such niche cars. >> There's this Saab 95 done by diyboy Andrew using D2, Seas, Genesis, nice car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...