Verna vs Rio vs Aveo 1.4A

Skthk

I will conpare for you.

Hyundai Verna 1.6(More worth it)I bought one after viewing Vios,Lancer,Aveo,Rio.

CVVT

ABS with EBD

Four disk brake

Power Mirror

drivers airbag

timing chain(can last 100000km or more)

Fuel comsumtion better than 1.4.1.6,the weight is about 1085kg.

Parts cheap and we have lobang for cheap and good servicing join us at http://clubhyundai.org.

No crash test for euroncap but should be the same as Rio(same platform)

US frontal crash test five star(with six airbag)

Hyundai Verna 1.4

1.4 engine no CVVT

No ABS(Some sale person will tell you comes with ABS)

drum brake

drivers airbag

timing belt(mustchange 60000km)

Kia Rio

The car is same as Verna.But no ABS,no airbag and drum brake.But the 1.6 and 1.4 is same engine as verna.I heard the suspension tuned for more sporty than Verna.

Crash test (Four star but with 6 airbag in the test)(http://www.euroncap.com)

Aveo

1.4 engine.

Timing belt

ABS with EDB

Drum brake

No Airbag

Latest model Crash Test very poor(see http://www.euroncap.com)

Kindly correct me if I am wrong.

Edited by Clarencetey

verna looks reasonable in terms of size, built quality. a friend just bought one. rio thot getting phased out already? Aveo is the hatchback right? Nice also, but dunno if legroom is comparable to verna?

ya man....me another verna owner. Rio not phase out lah, new model liao mah, looks more chio than the previous model. Aveo just released the all new sedan, but prepare for the worst as the car is a drinker compared to Verna and Rio

Hi Bro, me also just a new Verna owner,

I'm currently driving a Verna auto, hows ur FC like?

Mine is about 7K/1...which is very high [smallcry]

But my fnd was saying still running in...should give it more time [:/]

hi,tin most probably u in running in period ba, my 1.6a cn reach 11km/l,smtimes 12, so i dun tin ur is the accurate figure [sweatdrop]

Wah thats a very bad FC [sweatdrop] ...think u always rev hard or drive in city condition. I'm a new RIO 1.4M hatch owner and the FC is around 11k/l for 50% city and 50% highway, change gear around 2200-2500 RPM.

I'm still in running in period.

Yah read from somewhere, Verna FC is abt 11 or 12.

Lets hope it gets better soon or else I [sweatdrop]

BTW, bro during run-in, did you cheong above 100km? [dizzy]

Yesterday I cheong the Verna to about 110km...kow smooth and stable ride man, cheong above 100km I also don't know [laugh][laugh] (or maybe cause its new)

My Bro was telling me for new cars, should not cheong about 80km cause the car has not settle or run in yet, but was reading from some forummers thats there's no such thing as running in or settling in, new cars should be able to cheong above 100km.

haha,i always above 90 even during running in. i remb ard 1wk after i got my car, i hit 140km/hr [sly] only tat time lah,nw i very guai,ard 90-110most [laugh]

Edited by Verna24

dosen't sound likely leh, 7K/l and 11+k/l is ALOT of diff leh. Considering both are still in their run in period and same engine type and capacity leh.

Most prob could be due to your:

- Style of acceleration

- Load u carrying (eg 5 passengers/1 passenger)

- City:high way driving ratio

- Check if tyres are properly inflated (underinflated tyres can eat up to 20% more fuel!)

Tks for your advice bro.

First thing first, my style of acceleration should be ok, I also RPM below 3k.

As for load should not be much of an issue also, cause my only load is my wife beside me and my baby girl and my maid behind

As for driving ration, think mine should be 50 - 50

Which leaves the only suspected thing is tyre [:/]

Oh yah forgot to mention, this is only first pump, I only got the lcar last week,...think hereine lies the diff

tin i mislead u liao, i got 9k/l when running in,its nw got better. i m 2nd batch who got the car [:)] more than 4mths liao.............. [nod]

No prob bro [thumbsup]

Go check ur tyres...for my 15" 195/55 tyres i usually inflate up to 225 KPA or somewhere aruond 33 PSI. Also its advisable to check ur car's tyre pressure every week to maintain optimum pressure.

tks Bro.

Anyway forgot to mention my Verna is a 1.6A, which partly explains the higher FC

Then again, when I scouting for my new ride the SE was tellin my the FC for 1.6 will be better than 1.4 cause of the CVVT engine...didn't really believe him, took it with a pinch of salt.

Anyway with hindsight when the SE was tellin me that, should have told him the 1.6 oil tank is bigger than 1.4 so how can FC be better???

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

ya,after 3k it actually increases to 9.5 then up up up.................until now, clock 8500km liao,fc ard 11-12 lor

Yah read from somewhere, Verna FC is abt 11 or 12.

Lets hope it gets better soon or else I [sweatdrop]

BTW, bro during run-in, did you cheong above 100km? [dizzy]

Yesterday I cheong the Verna to about 110km...kow smooth and stable ride man, cheong above 100km I also don't know [laugh][laugh] (or maybe cause its new)

My Bro was telling me for new cars, should not cheong about 80km cause the car has not settle or run in yet, but was reading from some forummers thats there's no such thing as running in or settling in, new cars should be able to cheong above 100km.

Dude, You are killing your engine!!! Better change your driving habits or your engine will be trashed liao... permanant bad FC + other future problems.

Do a search in MCf regarding breaking in of engine.

During 1st 1K use. Engine has lots of tiny metal bits floating inside as they break off the engine walls during break-in. If you over-rev the engine during this period, those bits will cause griding to the pistons and cylinder walls, causing damage. Pistons & Cylinders will then not be optimumly aligned.

That's why 1st servicing at 1K is to flush out the engine oil with metal particles. Then replace with freash clean engine oil.

Suggest you read your User Manual.... There's tips there you should listen to.

- Rev only between 2000-3000

- Don't exceed 80km/h

If you cheong to 110km/h... likely you've been reving to 4000-5000 km/h liao... very bad... [shakehead]

Hope you haven't been blasting off at 4000-5000rpms from Traffic Lights to experience thrill of new car also.... [shakehead]

Only after clocking 10,000km on meter then you should be able to cheong as you like. Some people say 5000km also can. But I'd prefer to be safe.... Why damage a perfectly new vehicle for some short-term fun ?

Is this your 1st New Car ?

Edited by Alveron2001