Example of Poor QC on Toyota Vios

Vit4wd

Front and rear impacts on the Vios have a relatively high chance of totalling the car, yes, because it's small and the whole bonnet area is designed to crumple. Any difference from other 1.5l budget car from tomyumland?

Side impact-wise, show me a budget car that is obviously better. FYI I've had a side-impact on my Vios from a Presea before at approx 30km/h (long story short, he couldn't keep to his lane while turning and I refused to give way to the moron. I have 2 cars to drive around in, so I can afford to lose the use of 1 for a while and I could prove that the bugger was at fault and I had no way of siaming him unless I mounted the kerb and killed some pedestrians). I'm still here typing.

Wife's Vios is still running fine for 2 years. One of the most problem free car we have owned.

But Vios design is getting on. Most of the original moldings for the parts too are needing replacements. That's why most Jap cars facelift all the time(2-3 years) and complete outside body design change within 4-5 years. For Vios, strongly suspect toyota is trying to stretch it a bit. This may be their folly.

They recently had a facelift. The 06 Vios looks a bit less sporty and a bit more grown up, though I guess it won't shake off the bengracer image in a hurry thanks to the sheer number of riced-up Vioses driving around like the PIE was suddenly renamed the Nurburgring. Actually I don't think they should do much with the exterior of the Vios. They should concentrate more on the interior. The best thing a cheap budget car can do is not feel like a cheap budget car when you're inside. The City is pretty good when it comes to doing this, but the Vios really screams "BUDGET" when you step inside. [laugh]

Edit: On hindsight, the City isn't really a cheap budget car anyway, unless the budget we're talking about isn't cheap in the first place.

Edited by Requiemdk

Have seen worse problems in City & Accord. Looks like problem with all the tomyam workers trying to fit into Nippon QC system. Time for them to wake up, otherwise may become china quality lah.

Cannot agree city interior is better leh. Think Vios is better. Maybe personal opinions and experience. 2 years and all panels still firm and no rattle sound. Not in City and Accord of my friends.

Only draw back is the center meters position. Maybe you feel this to be not conventional and screams .....

But for me, so far so good leh.Everything is still stock.

Yr FC is indeed very good even for a MT. most pple will not even get pass 14, myself included. a check in VOGS forum will tell u its normal to get 12-13km/l. but city is proven by many to get abv 15km/l, some even registering 20+ [sweatdrop]

That's why need passenger airbag which most other budget dont have ma.

wah...like that also can har...win liao.. [laugh] ...this is just an extra feature from vios...so you mean some of the car that have more than 2 airbag are unsafe?? [lipsrsealed]

Oh, the facelift is only a facelift to look a little different so the can sell thedesing a little longer. But norm has been 2 years, Vios is now into 3/4 year that they facelift. Good for us 1st gen buyers though.

Dude, 12-13km/l? My old Sunny MT had 12.7km/l which is the norm. Most of those who get 12-14km/l on their Vios are either driving AT, or have their cars modded and are pretty HRF drivers lah. I've spoken to some of the VOGS bros before one. A stock run-in MT Vios can easily get above 15km/l man. Highest ever recorded FC for a MT Vios is above 20km/l as well if you must know. I myself have gotten 21km/l before (80% highway, no air-con, only fan). Once again, the City's FC is not as miraculous as you make it out to be and the Vios FC is not as jialat as you make it out to be.

Edited by Requiemdk

Cannot agree city interior is better leh. Think Vios is better. Maybe personal opinions and experience. 2 years and all panels still firm and no rattle sound. Not in City and Accord of my friends.

Only draw back is the center meters position. Maybe you feel this to be not conventional and screams .....

But for me, so far so good leh.Everything is still stock.

Oh.. not talking about the build quality lah. It's the design. I think the Vios' simple design is good, but the materials that they use could really be a bit better. I'm quite fine with the position of the meter anyway, it just takes some getting used to. In fact I was pretty used to it after about 5 minutes of driving. [laugh]

Front and rear impacts on the Vios have a relatively high chance of totalling the car, yes, because it's small and the whole bonnet area is designed to crumple. Any difference from other 1.5l budget car from tomyumland?

Side impact-wise, show me a budget car that is obviously better. FYI I've had a side-impact on my Vios from a Presea before at approx 30km/h (long story short, he couldn't keep to his lane while turning and I refused to give way to the moron. I have 2 cars to drive around in, so I can afford to lose the use of 1 for a while and I could prove that the bugger was at fault and I had no way of siaming him unless I mounted the kerb and killed some pedestrians). I'm still here typing.

I have to say you are very very brave when it comes to proving your point [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I've had a worse accident than that before lah. Besides it's not like I had much of a choice. I couldn't speed up safely since the cars in front of me were dead slow and even if I braked, he would still hit me. Only option left -> Mount kerb. Siao bo? [hur] Made sure I scolded the bugger jialat jialat though. Young punk who threw away his highway code knowledge the moment he passed the test. [:|]

Yes, the vios and soluna that i drove are both auto. both are fairly stock conditions. soluna give me avg 12km/l while vios slightly better at 13km/l, at most 14. was a bit disappointed cos the vios weighs not even 1 tonne and with VVTi engine it shld give much better FC. but accordingly the FC is normal so i did not worry too much.

its not something i make out, but tried personally...

city definitely fared better in this aspect despite being larger and heavier.

Interior not so bad liao. Only front console below dashboard I think is not too well done and should be better material. They use a PVC-leather wraping material that is thin and do gets scratch easily if you carry a sports bags with the metal hooks.

I think problem is the 4 speed auto box. Ok for city traffic you don't get very good economy on highways. Any idea if City uses 5 speed? If so, then will get slight better on highway travel.

1. City should be using steermatic if I'm correct, could be at least 5 speed.

2. Vios is in every sense a budget Toyota, the interior tells it all.

Regards,