Toyota Corolla 1.3XL Part II

Mivec9

i supposed u tried stuffing $$$ after "brushing" them b4

====================================

Hahaha. No lah. So far the china aunties at the car wash I saw not worth it. [:p]

Hahaha. Ya but u must remember that the mechanic will do only if u tell him what u want changed.

If u didnt tell him to change it on the 1st visit, he wil not change.

Otherwise he suka suka change things, some customers wil refuse to pay.

That's why mechanics must b careful about what parts they change cos many dishonest mechanics will tell u only 1 part need to change at first then later tell u they had to change many other parts & the bill is 3 times more. [bigcry]

This was very common b4. Many pple got conned. [:(]

But u can talk to him & see what needs to change & see if he compromise with u. [thumbsup]

I did told him way before he installed the absorbers. Somehow or rather he didn't rem. Can't blame him, he's a busy man.

Went down at 2 this afternoon to check again. I'm pretty sure the absorbers are working weel, it's other factors.

So he inspected the shaft bushing and there it is, the aging bushing at the left rear shaft.... Guess how much he quoted me?? 70 plus ... I said crazy, how about the 5-10 bucks type. He gave me that 'so cheapo' looks and laughed at me, telling me that can only last a few weeks. I really feel like telling him you are the one who feed me with such infos. Of you're bluffing to me? [sly]

Anyway asked me to call him again this thurs and asked me to come down if I wan on fri to fix it, takes about 3 hrs but I'm not gonna pay 70++ . No way. Will take this opportunity to observe the sound but I'm certain it's rubbing more than weight load problem.

ur rims is nicey [inlove] so how's ur new absorbers getting along [flowerface]

Thanks .. the rims also given to me by my uncle before he scrape his car.

The absorbers working real well .. only problem is the noise when going over hump ... seriously have to settle it, if not, no point changing the absorbers... monday will go down to Ah ting ask him for a check.

ur uncle still have anything to give or not??

keep us update on ur absorbers

He gave me these 2 stuffs only lah ... he himself is a car siao .... in fact if I know my tachometer will be spolit, I should have ask him to dismantle and I keep the aftermarket tachy. Damn!

By the way,

the bushing found to have problem is not the top of the shock but at the end of the shaft underneath. Ah ting show me the shaky end shaft when the bushing can be found ...

Sianz ... old car really one big headache [shakehead][shakehead][sweatdrop]

wah, long time nvr hear from you ...

I don't have any good tyre suppliers ... but just a tip, rem there's 2 types of tyres.

1 type very smooth on the road but safety level not high ... the other type safety level good but noisy when running .... typical 14" tyres costs about 55-70 bucks each ...

So he inspected the shaft bushing and there it is, the aging bushing at the left rear shaft.... Guess how much he quoted me?? 70 plus ... I said crazy, how about the 5-10 bucks type. He gave me that 'so cheapo' looks and laughed at me, telling me that can only last a few weeks. I really feel like telling him you are the one who feed me with such infos. Of you're bluffing to me?

Anyway asked me to call him again this thurs and asked me to come down if I wan on fri to fix it, takes about 3 hrs but I'm not gonna pay 70++ . No way. Will take this opportunity to observe the sound but I'm certain it's rubbing more than weight load problem.

======================================

Shaft Bushing. This one I never changed b4. Price I also not sure. The bushing I changed was the ARB bushing.

Why dont u go to the spare parts shop a few doors away & check if they have the bushing & how much it costs. This one is more work to change than the ARB bushing so maybe that's why the charges r higher.

If it really takes 3 hours of work, then I normally calculate abt $10 to $20/hr, so u can do the maths.

My driveshaft he did for me recently took about 1 hr plus & he charged me $50 for labour but I gave him $60 cos I saw that he did quite alot of work.

Now u know what is the problem, try other WS like Simon's place & get a quote & see what is the difference in price.

If Simon is cheaper, then do it at Simon's.

I wud also check the price of the bushing so I will know what the mechs r charging for their labour. Ask for the OEM or at least the Jap made bushing as the quality sud b good.

U can mention that I recommended u to him, but if u find his price or workmanship unacceptable, then I feel it better u try another ws.

So far, I have found him OK but it is up to you. No obligation here bro.

the bushing found to have problem is not the top of the shock but at the end of the shaft underneath. Ah ting show me the shaky end shaft when the bushing can be found ...

Sianz ... old car really one big headache

=========================

U refer to the rear wheel, right?

I guess this is the trailing arm bushing.

My car is >17 years but not too bad leh. If I change a new car now, I pay monthly instalments of about $500 to $600. [shocked]

Even with the repairs I do now (which is not that much) it's still less than the amt I wud pay for instalments. [dizzy]

If your car got only 2 years to go, check if the bushing can last till scrap then just leave it lah. [idea]

But if have to change, then have to change lah. [:/]

A couple of years back I overhauled my autobox for >$2K. What to do. Otherwise car cannot drive. [sweatdrop]

But remember that if u treat your car gently, it sud last quite long without too much problems. If u always whack, then even new car will spoil very quickly. [nod]

The usual one which has some good prices on certain brands is PH. Another is the one on Lor 8 Toa Payoh.

For PH, not all his prices r good. Only some brands. Try GR80. The feedback is quite good leh.

I am using Michelin XM1 which I find quite good. Last time I got from PH at a good price but now his prices for Michelin is not too good,I hear. GR80 he sud b OK but always check with other shops 1st & then compare his prices.

I have my regular tyre shop at W'lands Indl PK E1, but last time he try to push his Maxxis brand which I dont want.

U refer to the rear wheel, right?

I guess this is the trailing arm bushing.

My car is >17 years but not too bad leh. If I change a new car now, I pay monthly instalments of about $500 to $600.

Even with the repairs I do now (which is not that much) it's still less than the amt I wud pay for instalments.

If your car got only 2 years to go, check if the bushing can last till scrap then just leave it lah.

But if have to change, then have to change lah.

A couple of years back I overhauled my autobox for >$2K. What to do. Otherwise car cannot drive.

But remember that if u treat your car gently, it sud last quite long without too much problems. If u always whack, then even new car will spoil very quickly.

Haha ... I think you must have thought I'm a chiongster .... I'm pretty gentle to my car ... fastest I'll go is 95khm ... seldom hit 100 unless it's really a super straight road and even so, it's only a dash more than over a constant period of time.

The trailing arm bushing, yah maybe it's that one. If it's not te bushing you told me, then when I told Ah Ting about 5 bucks bushing, he should have replied 'where got so cheap' instead of 'you wana use those cheap types har?' So I believe the bushing doesn't cost much, it's only where to find ....

Till now, I have to admit 2 faults of mine. I got a lousy down car without checking (That's true, I go for the number) and another thing is I kena [smash][smash] by my 1st w/s. Changing 2-3 times for the air-con stuffs and only ah huat settle it for less than 100 bucks.

I do think the tuas road near my office sucks ... just speed up a bit(I'm talking about 50-60kmh)then got depression here and there ... bump here and there ... pretty frustrating.

Remember what I said earlier?

PTL

Well we all have to PTL. Some more than others only. [sly]

With MCF to help u, your PTL sud b much less than mine. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Buying a car also u must check engine & body when u buy. Not just nice number then buy.

I check my car when I buy until the salesman also scared. He ask if I am a dealer. [laugh][laugh]

But how careful also must do some repairs. I stand by $2K for servicing & repairs when I buy a 2nd hand car. This I factor into the cost of the car.

If I spot anything wrong, I inform the dealer & ask for a discount cos these things have to do. Sometimes he discount, sometimes he repair for me. Sometimes abit of both. [laugh]

If the roads u travel regularly is bad & u tompang your frens out for lunch daily, b prepared for more regular visits to your mechanic. [dizzy]

aspec got pple complain the wet grip is [shakehead]

The new aspec not so bad but the old one is [sweatdrop]

GR80 is the hot one now for day to day driving. Seems it's pretty quiet & good wet/dry grip too.

PTL

Well we all have to PTL. Some more than others only.

With MCF to help u, your PTL sud b much less than mine.

Buying a car also u must check engine & body when u buy. Not just nice number then buy.

I check my car when I buy until the salesman also scared. He ask if I am a dealer.

But how careful also must do some repairs. I stand by $2K for servicing & repairs when I buy a 2nd hand car. This I factor into the cost of the car.

If I spot anything wrong, I inform the dealer & ask for a discount cos these things have to do. Sometimes he discount, sometimes he repair for me. Sometimes abit of both.

If the roads u travel regularly is bad & u tompang your frens out for lunch daily, b prepared for more regular visits to your mechanic.

If 2 years ago when I purchased the car and double-check in MCF, probably I would have saved a lot.

Anyway it's over, what's spent been spent. Like I have said, the engine is good and this car had probably bring me much more happiness than my whole life w/o driving.

Can't complain much, maybe it's the burden when you're newly married and when you're not. Extra $$$$ will disappear for nothing [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Also learnt to distingish which parts of the cars goes to which w/s to repair. So you're right .. PTL is really a good everyday learning experience.

Owe you a treat. Maybe can drink kopi one fine day and see how hero you are can attract MY sue [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][sly] and also see your maintaining of your car.

What you work as btw? I'm in service line so moving about no problem to me.

Yup, I also wouldnt recommend Yoko Aspec cos of its wet weather grip no good. Personelly, I tried Falken 512 n its good. Pretty quiet, wet weather also ok. But dont know if they r still producing it.

Now using bridgestone, oem from Nissan.

Anyway as I said, PTL.

Slowly u wil get it right. Even I also make mistakes sometimes & get conned by some pple but we learn & try not to make the same mistake again. [thumbsup]

No need to treat me lah. We just help each other here. [wave]

Maybe next MY trip U can join with your wife for some driving fun. [nod]