Why so crazy about fireworks?

Stary

S'poreans like to see fireworks because its the most beautiful way of watching where their Income Taxes, GST, COE blah blah blah ended up at ....

[jawdrop]

Save the $$ & give us in form of progress package better [:|]

Been there last sat and witnessed a fight.

A rowdy group of malays was squeezing thru the crowd. pushing here and there when everywhere is jammed packed. Until one guy (with his gf) buay tahan, asked them don't push anymore. In the end, the group of malays attacked the chinese guy until he bleed. Beat him up twice. Until someone shouted, "Hey, stop it, got children in the crowd, why wanna fight? ". then they run away, not without giving the crowd a warning not to play with them. Felt quite disgusted by the incident. Crazy guys. Would they dare to attack the victim if police is besides them.

Told my gf, next time, try to find a better place to watch instead of squeezing into the jam and still have to suffer such potential dangers.

Watch fireworks til ended up fighting [shakehead] Somemore kenna beaten, very bo hua. Damn those idiots. It's obvious that they win in numbers [mad]

How do you place worth?

Like Turbonetics said, "to each his own". You may think it's not worth the trouble, but those who enjoyed it thinks it is. Similarly, you probably had sacrificed for things you appreciate that others don't.

Agree [nod]

Worth it anot is to each of it's own [:)]

last sat,i was watching at the bridge between fullerton and esplanade...

then the 2 left lanes vehicles stopped by and some drivers and passengers actually came out from their cars to watch...

So lomatic ah [:p]

Guys,

I don't understand this. what is it that is so fascinating about fireworks? Is it Sporeans are so deprived of entertainment that they are willing to stuck in jams, stuck in public transport, walk miles and miles, just for that 5-15 minutes of fireworks?

I really don't get it. What is so interesting about some spluttering lights in the air? [hur]

People are curious to see how it looks like when burning $100 million away in the sky versus donating it to various charities.

See your avatar better than see fireworks. No jam. Just log on and stim. tongue.gif

Why look at my avatar only when i can give you the website of all these beautiful women. [laugh][sly]

Certainly have its limitations but not many people want to take pictures of humming birds. I use the G2. Bought way back. Dropped twice, bashed around a lot. Still clicks but I must say the start up is really slow.

Right now, I just wish someone will give me a Chinese-made replica of a Luftwaffe issued Leica 35mm rangefinder complete with swastika and Luftwaffe coat of arms. inlove.gif I heard you can get it for 50 bucks. Good to display at home to fool visitors.

"Ooooh.... a German Luftwaffe Leica....coool" laugh.gif

I prefer the TLRs ... way too cool as a display [laugh]

G2? I was an ex-G2 user... sold it away and got a newer P&S canon as a replacement along to compliment my dslr. then I sold the P&S away.. coz i don't like it... still on the lookout.

One thing I had troubles with the G2.. its no doubt a good camera, but due to age, the CCD and lens will start to show quality fades. More prominent when you are taking uniformed colours like paper... or sometimes even clouds.

These thing about photography. It doesn't mean that anyone who armed with a camera (may it be P&S or SLR) must come out with a award winning masterpiece.

The very basic idea of photograpy is to take a snapshot of memories which you see with your eyes. It is the real thing you encounter.

To have a snap shot of what you thinking in your brain is "painting". Which will never be be able to be replaced with photography.

And for sure each series of photos that you taken with your camera will be able to tell a story. And it will be your very own story. Cos you are there to witness the event and take the shot. Good or bad, interesting or not is not the issue, cos the years pass and you will be reminded of these stories again when he saw the photo next time. That is main reason of taking photos.

no offense bro, but thats exactly why i said there is a big difference between taking photography seriously and taking photos for the sake of filling up your 'history album' where you show to your kids decades down the road. [laugh]

as an amature, simply point and shooting and hoping a shot turns out right is forgivable, but if a person take photography seriously, 10-20 years down the road, one should not be going 'hope this shot looks great' when he/she prod that button. [:p]

Analogy: Its similarily like mashing a bunch of piano keys randomly and hope the piece sounds great. 10 yrs down the road, if you are doing the same thing, then you are not improving.

the reason i bought photography up is that someone made a comment about certain 'arenas' of taking photo is 'better' and more 'meaningful'.

In terms of graciousness, I've yet to see it amongst people in some palaces. Imagine being in a foreign country, where i've been, people in wheel chairs, strollers and babies are given way. no squeezing or shoving. yeah.

Guys,

I don't understand this. what is it that is so fascinating about fireworks? Is it Sporeans are so deprived of entertainment that they are willing to stuck in jams, stuck in public transport, walk miles and miles, just for that 5-15 minutes of fireworks?

I really don't get it. What is so interesting about some spluttering lights in the air? [hur]

Life here is sterile for many people....work, go home, watch tv, sleep. The cycle is repeated the next day.......many don't even have the inclination to make babies. The fireworks is a change from the norm and must be really exciting for many people. [:/]

i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks i like fireworks

oiii.. went missing, come back no happy ah..? laugh.gif

me too like fireworks me too like fireworks me too like fireworks me too like fireworks

it is really sad to see that a simple thing like fireworks is enough to make our people go gaga....

No wonder my foreign friends are saying that Sporeans are the only people in the world staying in a matrix....we are all programmed to behave in a certain way and any bugs in this program will be quickly eliminated through legal cases or security cases.

I will say u are staying in a world of ur own... National day is a national holiday and wat's wrong with the fireworks celebration... it happen around the whole wide world...

I will say the human and traffic jam in Singapore is consider civilise... at least ppl dun push and sqeeze so much... moving slowly as they can and stop if the front has stop... u should try the human crowd in India, China or HK... In HK, almost every day is almost crowded... at least we are only crowded in some special occassion...

Such crowd is expected anyway and should be avoided if u dun feel like joining it...