Relagsingh 4th Gear September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 Yar lor. If the VAG group decides to put DSG in their Skodas, even cheaper! For the reliability, let's see for the next couple of years to prove its mettle. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renesis76 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 of course the 7 is the legend but not so well-received because of the 2-seater and engine reliability due to the turbo-charged rotary engine. in fact, there are turbo-charged 8s in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfatdude Neutral Newbie September 7, 2006 Author Share September 7, 2006 haha... friend.. its not well received because it was so freaking expensive and also mazda official dealer did not bring it in initially. now with the cars (rx8 included) being so dirt cheap, that is the reason why it is so common and so well received. during the rx7 times, not many people know abt the quirkiness of the rotary, therefore blowing many in the process. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 Err... I used to drive an MR Honestly speaking, the 0-100 is high 6s when I tested it. I kid you not and mine is stock. But it doesn't prove anything nor does it matter now. EK4 is good. I like it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renesis76 Neutral Newbie September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 exp true but also problem with the engine being slightly more difficult to maintain. normal syntheic engine oil cannot be used and also question mark about our weather here is more drastic for the engine. need to spend more time and money to take care of the engine ....i think part of the lower cost is because the turbo is not included anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 This car is good but if u notice, Mazda Motor is not doing much advertising to reach this car out to the masses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 the mivec autotrans was a joke.. that's why they needed an engine, geabox change.... i remembered test driving it when it was released.... it was horrible... the trans needed time to think before shifting up or down... u talking about invecs 1 or invecs 2? Or dun tell me mivec come with CVT Invecs 2 i feel is a very responsive auto trans. But the problem is u need to train it. My invecs 2 was very slow and unresponsive, also undecisive at gear changes at first but after a year of driving it with my type of driving style it has "learned" and can downshift from 4 to 1st gear in a flash just to reach the max power output of 5800rpm.vice versa at 5000 rpm on 2nd gear and if i release the trottle slightly, it will immediately change up to 4th gear and go back to GDI fuel saving mode. The Lancer MR is running on convectional Torque converter Gearbox, not CVT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Franksg Neutral Newbie September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 AFTER 10 YEAR LATER, THEY CALL *MAZDA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 (edited) Lancer Mivec versus EK4??? Not a chance!!! Golf GTi not low leh... quite ex also lah. I not rich... heh. But it's one hell of a gearbox. Even the the festest pair of hands and feet can't beat it. U shld try the Lancer MR Manual. Although it's a tad slower than the SiR, but it's something different from the Vtec crowds Edited September 8, 2006 by Atlantis_boi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 so as someone mentioned lancer MR has a 7 second 0-100 on a conventional auto box?!?!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfatdude Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Author Share September 9, 2006 well.... it did have a nice aircon display.. :) Err... I used to drive an MR Honestly speaking, the 0-100 is high 6s when I tested it. I kid you not and mine is stock. But it doesn't prove anything nor does it matter now. EK4 is good. I like it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfatdude Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Author Share September 9, 2006 lower cost is due to lowering of taxes and also COE dropping like a stone. the original sticker price from japan is the same. heard there might be a global recall for the first few batches of the rx8 due to owners complaining engine needing oil topups all the time... exp true but also problem with the engine being slightly more difficult to maintain.normal syntheic engine oil cannot be used and also question mark about our weather here is more drastic for the engine. need to spend more time and money to take care of the engine ....i think part of the lower cost is because the turbo is not included anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfatdude Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Author Share September 9, 2006 they are not doing it but the parallel importers are milking it dry...personally the car is not bad...but it has its faults.. and it needs more power... This car is good but if u notice, Mazda Motor is not doing much advertising to reach this car out to the masses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Try before lo... Actually it somehow feels that it handles better than the EK... somemore my friend's one is bone stock during that time. Or maybe the EK that i drove was'nt probably set up? Haiz... anyway i miss the rivalry of these 2 cars back in those days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 (edited) Yeah... The EK4 had electric seats, the MR came up with climate control AC! Edited September 9, 2006 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 agreed the 8 is a fuel drinker design wise is definitely one of a kind ...no one is even close nice interior and pick up is okay and fun imo better-looking among its category , yet practical with 4 spacial seats and big boot space. couldn't agree more the most important factor is the timeless design. IMO ITR, rexes and evos all look dated after sometime, but the 8 still look great and classic just like the legendary RX7, until now i still drool over the 7 whenever i see one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 just saw this car today in the flesh. looks very good.. anyone drive one here? how about some comments on it? I haven't tested Mazda 6SP, but I doubt the power of Mazda 6SP, there is a story regarding Mazda 6SP, yesterday I was tailgated by a Mazda 6SP on Yio Chu Kang road from CTE exit towards Ang Mo Kio Ave 5, I drove at lane 1, but lane 2 was busy, I couldn't give way, there is a traffic light at Yio Chu Kang road and jalan kayu junction, waiting for green light, you know after triffic light there is a up slope about 10 degree and 500m length, after pickup from the junction, I still was tailgated by the Mazda 6SP, so I accelerated overtaked a lane 2 van and filtered to lane 2 to let it overtake, you guess what happened, the Mazda 6SP power even bei sai overtaking my sunny(M) on the up slope, keeping same speed beside me, hai! no mood to play the side by side game with you, so I dropped gear and accelerate to overtake it again and filtered to lane 1, because I would have a right turn to Ang Mo Kio Ave 5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfatdude Neutral Newbie September 10, 2006 Author Share September 10, 2006 dude.. the MPS and the SP are totally different animals... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...