Miles 4th Gear October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 Skoda Octavia I, VW Golf, Audi A3, SEAT Leon/Toledo, VW Bora, Audi TT, VW Neu Beetle, etc,... all share the same platform/chassis and to a certain extent, ECU/firmware (VW uses Bosch and Skoda uses Siemens... slightly different but both are accessible via VAG tool), parts, engine, gearbox and 80-90% of every darn thing. www.Skoda.com has technical spec sheet on both Octavia I and II, and both are 55L tank. So are all the rest of the cars above. So, unless you pump your petrol till it overflowed, it will never hit more than 55L. And that's a fact. There is no spare fuel tanks as someone suggest, otherwise it'll be in the spec sheet. And low fuel indicator comes on when there is 5L of fuel left in the tank. Ask Koolaba. I am sure he knows Skoda cars inside out. So, while i managed to get 550km per 50L tank on 100% highway with 16" wheels + stock tyre (Dunlop SP2000) + 74kw 1.6SR, i simply cannot believe another fellow driver with similar engine (ok, Skoda as drag coefficient of 0.31 as well .. from Skoda website), larger 17" wheels (should be 225/45/17 i believe since they're all using 5 PCD100 same offset); perhaps with new DBW throttle and retuned 75kw 1.6MPI; kerb weight 1235kg (20kg more than Bora) 60% highway, can achieve 750km per 60L (???) tank. The numbers just dont add up. By the way, Octavia II has Cd of 0.30. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 I believe it lights up at the 55L mark With an extra 7L for you to locate a petrol kiosk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 Hi Miles... You're spot on about the shared chassis ... As for the fuel tank capacity ... well... it's interesting that the current catalog on the Octy Tour on the Skoda website states only 55L ... However, there were previous catalogs with the reserve tank stated (see http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Volkwagen_...Specs_P1015578/) As for myself, I've experienced pumping in more than 55L of petrol ... I don't think I would've spilt 3L on the floor unwittingly Here's one of the few times I pumped this amount... [inline octypetrol.jpg] That said, I can't achieve good fuel consumption figures anyway lol ... I shouldn't even be in this discussion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondaskoda_ Neutral Newbie October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 My Octy does pretty well with caltex 95 It's less powerfull than esso but very good on FC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 if 55+7 tank is true... i offer my apologies. i know fuel tanks are usually configured in 45L, 55L, 62L and 70L. usually cars of vw golf class are 55L whereas passat/mondeo/vectra class are 62L. I guess Octavia sits in between. if that's the case, 750km in 60L is a very commendable mileage... not impossible but very very very good, especially on 17" wheels. Though still a little unbelieveable. Must be very light on throttle. Spec sheet indicates 6.3L/100km for extra urban, which works out to be 15.8km/L, or 950km per 60L tank. Audi UK indicates this similar 1.6MPI squeezes out 40mpg on the new A3 w/6 speed manual (also Cd 0.31), which works out to be about 21.36km/L. Amazing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 Bugger probably drives like a fag I'm wondering if the current catalogs have been "revamped" ever since they decided to rename the Octy MK1 to Tour due to the introduction of the Octy MK2 ... As for the wheels, you'll be surprised that some bigger rims combined with the tyres are lighter than some 15" due to the weight of both the tyres and rims My current set of 18" are lighter than some of the guy's 17" (combined weight of tyres and rims) That aside, the larger contact area of the tyres do play a part as well, therefore taking into effect the extra "grip" of a set of 17"rims+tyres versus say, a heavier set of 15" rims+tyres, the results of fuel consumption could very well be on par surprisingly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 (edited) I've got 620 when the reserve light came on. I drive an ambiente manual. This is on Shell 95. I'm on toora 15". once to test water i drove till 660, when trip comp show 10 km left with current fuel tank. THis was in 6 pm traffic along bukit timah road (safest place to test this as there are petrols stations every km or thereabouts. on pure h'way, i've managed to hit 680 before the reserve light came on. I don't drive with a light right foot. Edited October 10, 2006 by Dudemobile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear October 10, 2006 Author Share October 10, 2006 Bro, I got 750km with all gear change at 2000rpm and speed of no more than 85kmh. It is possible. But if you still have doubts, dare to put a $1000 bill for a trial? I'll show u the 750km for sure. (kidding bout the $1000 bill lar ) As for the capacity of 55L or more I belive I dont need to elaborate further. Bro Lightspeed has answered you. He is right, I did drive like a faggot to acheive that mileage. Now on normal and heavy foot at times I still get an average of 650 per tank. Btw, my 17" is lighter than stock 15". So wat is impossible? Even dudemobile can get 660 full tank on heavy foot. You say lar? I rest my case... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alveron2001 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 Just to share with you guys, most of the time when we mention Skoda, ppls tend to say Wah, conti car drinks petrol like mad. Actually not totally true. Its all in the right foot. I did an experiment on my 1.6 AUTO Octy. First time in history I managed to hit 750km when the red light appears. I pumped in 60 litres which is about 12.5km per litre. From what I understand the 1.6A drives an average of 10-10.5km per litre unlike the manual version. 60% highway and 40% city driving. Gear change 2500rpm max and speed range 80-100kmh max. So to say 12.5km/litre is similiar to Jap cars eh? Oh btw, I am running on 17" tires and 225 profile. kerb weight should be 1500kg with my ice and me in it. Hello Brudder.... Are you sure or not ??? How in the world did you manage 750km ??? Manual states that 1 tank should avg 600km... I'm driving a 2003 Auto Octy with 15" rims. I can only hit 450km with 50l when the topup light comes on... That's only like 8.9km/l 20 Highway - 80 City. Avg 2000rpm at 80km/h How did you manage 750km ??? Downhill all the way ???? Or are you one of the recent Shell challenge finalist ???? (160km with .8L) Anyway... Happy for you..... Wanna swap cars ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear October 10, 2006 Author Share October 10, 2006 If after talking so much you still insist that the numbers don't add up then I can't help you liao. You have to take it that I am lying. Bo pian.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear October 10, 2006 Author Share October 10, 2006 Bro, heheh..I only hit 750km once lar but if you see the way I drive, you'll faint. Bloody car macham 800cc pick up. Slow and steady...left lane always..I just wanted to push the car to the max to see how much I can squeeze with full tank. But everyday drive like that will pengsan surely. I dont recommend! I always get above 600km every tank. You heavy footer siboh? I think I better stop talking too much. Wait cause commosion. Let's say I only hit 550 full tank and not 750km. I was dreaming so gave wrong figures..CASE CLOSED! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alveron2001 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 Dun worry... I'm not argueing your results.... It's just that even after driving like a Gu-Nia... The best I can get is still 8-9 km/l.... So it's very depressing to read other bros getting 500-600km per tank... Makes me wonder if there's something wrong with my ride... A bro in SkodaSG ever recoomend that I send my car for tuning.... Maybe it will help a bit... But dunno how to go about looking for such service... Other alternatives is to mod the ride with: - Bigger Sport Exhaust - Cold Air Intake - Lighter Rims - Cyclone Air Filter But then... still dunno if this will help with FC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear October 10, 2006 Author Share October 10, 2006 Hmmm...Bro maybe u'd like to PM me wat stuff u have in your car currently. We can discuss further. Skoda Ambiente Auto isit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkm Neutral Newbie October 10, 2006 Share October 10, 2006 (edited) OCT Tour oil tank capacity is 55l without reserve tank, travelling within 70 to 90 km/hr (15in rim 195-65-15 tyres, 70%HW) using Shell 92, you are easily clock 11.5 to 12.5 km/l. Edited October 10, 2006 by Kongkm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak007 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2006 Share November 28, 2006 Hi Guys, I find that on highway my octy is very very very good FC.......but once out of highway its very very very very very baaaddddd....................Does the FC increase after the 1st service , by changing the oil???? If so can i change the oil early before the 1st service due ( whic is only at 15000km) ..........tks....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear November 28, 2006 Share November 28, 2006 what's your "...very very very good FC..." & "... very very very very very baaaddddd... " figures ? Yours A4 or A5, manual or auto ? Actually OCI is up to you. If the oil already turn black, even b4 the 15k, its definitely changing time. Do you intend to get CA to do it or outside ? Heard CA will you . Think its in the region of $200+ or sth like dat as soem bros found out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak007 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2006 Share November 28, 2006 Hi, Mine is a A4 auto.........Very good on highway about 14-14.5Km/l.....I measured when i travelled for about 20km on PIE.......very bad is only about 8Km/l......... Tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak007 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2006 Share November 28, 2006 Hi, Which is a better oil to change.....I understand CA will use mobil .......but the skoda engine n manual says skoda recommends shell........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...