Wpho Neutral Newbie September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 Turbo kit from www.turbospecialties-race.com/toyota/TC25B2e.asp that is custom made for the 1zzfe Altis. Seems that all the neccessary components already bundled in including the manifold, intercooler and ECU piggy. Only thing not there is the exhaust system. Was told it costs SGD5200 by local agent... temptations... temptations... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godibado Neutral Newbie September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 hah! u sure u want to do that? some temptations are good but something like that is gonna burn your pocket in more ways than one dude.. think long term Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simchuan86 Clutched September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 got local agent here for turbo specialities? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 5200 means legal ah hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 now i noe why quite a few very fast altis running around in SG expressways....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 remember to add in $500 for illegal mod fines.. and a couple more hundred for inspection fees Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 from local agent means legal right? else 5200 a bit ex leh. Can get one for 2500 sgd liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 i think if legal one with all the cert nonsense... will be at least 10k liao mmm.. but 5200 is on the high side. maybe it comes with a standalone ecu? 2500 so cheap? comes with a piggyback? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie September 10, 2006 Share September 10, 2006 TRD have kits for your rolla... but they are superchargers... aftermarket turbo kits are also available but they don't come cheap, they come with PFC as well... do u need a car that fast if u are in spore?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 Please tell me this is legal... While I'm not concerned with the legality of the mod when I'm drooling at it, it becomes a cold shower when I have to send my car in for inspection...The bottomline question is "Will this pass LTA inspection?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 tt is a crap bottomline. HAha. Bottom line is will any mofo TP or ROV stop me and take me for inspection . They shd have an ad for epson colour printers, print out the original picture of yyour engine bay, tape it inside ur engine bay, when the inspectors open your bay, shout "PASS! Stock engine!" Next day, all the printers sure sold out Anyway, back to topic, u mean authorised agent can sell kits that are ILLEGAL?! I tot authorized agents means only can sell legal stuff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 Not really lar.... Just watch where you are boosting. And dun be adding more hp thru decals and bigass spoiler, so as to avoid road block. As for inspection, these bolt on turbos are easy to install and remove. Can DIY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magnakai Neutral Newbie September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 Wah chun bo... can bolt on and remove...so easy meh for turbo kit? better dun try...otherwise once 'tia' dun know how to put back....at least that is what's going to happen to me if i do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 A few more components to take note if u are going in: 1. Fueling - can the stock injectors cope with the additional air mass the turbo is charging into the engine. Else u will run too lean at WOT. 2. Brakes & suspension - this one obvious. 3. Tuning - is that included? 4. Drivetrain - Hope yours a manual. If auto, I doubt it can last long under charging unless there are precedents elsewhere to prove that wrong. All the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wpho Neutral Newbie September 11, 2006 Author Share September 11, 2006 Actually if you read the link closely, the kit comes with additional injectors. And tuning is provided... actually they need 2 days. As for the brakes and suspension, yes these must be upgraded 1st b4 contemplating on a turbo... On the matter of MT vs A/T, only AT in Sgp. But if you keep the boost within limits, its ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wpho Neutral Newbie September 11, 2006 Author Share September 11, 2006 yes, there are compressor kit for the 1zzfe. not just trd, there is also one from ORC japan. however, no intercooler so the power increase band is limited. as to yr question abt fast cars in Sgp... you gotta to ask those guys with wrx and evo... sometimes its just knowing you have that extra ommph when you need it... u agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wpho Neutral Newbie September 11, 2006 Author Share September 11, 2006 (edited) its legal as long as u paid for it... but no, its NOT legal until you get the 'pass' stamp from lta... Edited September 11, 2006 by Wpho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear September 11, 2006 Share September 11, 2006 (edited) Will be better to get the optional injectors, but then if u want low boost (less than 0.7 bar?) then maybe no need. Why is SAFC listed as optional also if tuning is provided? Tuning via the map unit (piggy) i supposed. What brand is the piggie? AT issue is always a risk, unless as i said someone else somewhere have already played the guniea pig, if not i will be very hesistant, unless u dont care about longevity. I'm surprised they left out spark plugs. U should need colder spark plugs with charging. Edited September 11, 2006 by Falc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...