Oil Change 5w20

Strawberrypink

Last time I brought in 5w30. KM SA kpkb... remarked that my oil is too thin.

Maybe your SA more knowledgable...

Ya Shell Helix 5w40.....but why they dont use 0w20 or 5w20 since the manual stated....instead 5w40? should be 5w40 more suitable for local use & weather rather than 0w20 & 5w20

Mine's Billy at Eunos KM. He knows about Teg owners. No, weather is not so much a factor. More engine type and level of wear.

More important is the SA allows the use of appropriate oil type. Don't really be bothered if the dealer carries it or not. They'll probably carry what the masses want for convenience, hence SHU wt40.

Edited by Vblaster_w211

Corrections , Kah does carry weight 20 oil. The HI-REV Mugen something oil . Saw it last week when I went down to Kah Ubi . Asked the SA why they dont advertise it. Ans --> Must customers prefer their SHU oil and the Mugen oil dont sell well ( Obviously due to Price & Misconceptions of lower wt oils ). The Shell is $80 something while the Mugen-something is $130 plus-minus? Going there later again for my 30k servicing in a while with my 5-20 Schaeffers ( Arghhh 8 am appt i am running late! )

Obviously , the spirited discussions so far are whether lower weight oils are detrimental or healthy for our engines. Lets put that aside and look on another aspect shall we? Browse BITOG a moment ago and notice not much folks tried running their weight 20 to run for 6xxx miles, which makes me wonder . Can any decent synthetic oil of weight 20 ( Say RL/Schaeffers/Mobil or even RP,etc ) tolerates 10,000km in our typical running conditions. Did a quick browse didnt manage to uncover any singapore cars ( small CCs/tropical weather/relavent brand of oils avaliable) that attempted this 10k feat . Anyone tried 10k with their wt 20 oils care to share gossip.gif

most oil will shear after 7000km or thereabouts unless it is those extended drain oil, then maybe can last longer. for this reason, im shying away from w20 oil cos our normal oci is 10,000km. a w30 oil would probably be safer to use and will not be significantly different from a w20.

I've been running RP 5w20 for 3 servicing now and each time I replace the oil at around 9000km+ on it. I intend to run the current redline 5w20 to 12000km before replacing it.

Yea , thats the fear when I went into the "dark" or thin laugh.gif side ... Perhaps conditioned by many hearsay/facts/readups that weight 20 oil might not last as long. This is further complicated by lack of specific references ( UOA for Idsi fit-jazz-city-civic/using 5-20 schaeffers/10k OCI) . sweatdrop.gif

Tried the search engine on BITOG, argh , simply dont work ! Well , it did shows 0-6 hits on schaeffer/schaeffers/schaeffer's hur.gif

But , I did narrow down some UOA on BITOG after skimming 20 odd pages perhaps for all to refer to ..

1. Redline 5w-20 7,800miles Honda Accord

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...ge=6#Post255503http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/pos...ard=UBB3&page=6

2. Valvoline synpower 5w-20, 6,000mi '03 civic

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...ge=8#Post255313

3. 5W-20 Mobil 1 in Honda Element <-- Not very good UOA according to the author

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...ge=8#Post255305

4. AmsOil XL-7500 5W-20, 6800 miles, 2001 Ford F150

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...e=10#Post254827

5. PP 5W-20, 6300 miles, 2006 Honda Civic

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...e=10#Post254883

6. Mobil 1, 0w20, 10,860 mi, '04 Civic Hybrid <-- 16,000 KM on a 1.3L engine !!!

http://theoildrop.server101.com/forums/sho...e=27#Post251064

I remember reading from previous posts that some bros here uses their wt 20 oil for 10k. Care to share more abt it ? smile.gif

I have been using 20wt oil for about 4-5 oil 10k OCI. Car has 135k now, no oil consumption or anything, in fact it's running stronger then i used to.

Is it terrence ? Ah... remember u driving City when I bought the scheaffers from ya ... have u done any UOA for ur ride for the 5-20 oil smile.gif

Yes, after the last few flush "OCI". I think it is time to sent in my RL for analysis, the Si results would be pretty bad though as i'm using HKS type foam filter.

Example:

A specify make new car can take wt20 engine oil.. my qns is; after it had clocked ard 20K KM and beyond, what type of engine oil is suitable? Will the wt increase accordingly or still can continue using the same 20wt oil?

thanks

Just use 20wt till oil consumption take places, it would take much further than that to wear out the rings. Fyi, i'm still running on 20wt oil after 156k mileage on my engine.

Thanks Mr Trex101 [thumbsup]

"Oil consumption take places" means oil leak (as seen it some parking lots with oil stains) or evaporated away? Care to elaborate? kam sia kam sia.

During my 10K KM servicing, I used Mobil 1 0W20 EO, for the next oil change, can I change to 5W20? Or rather, can I interchange between 0w20 and 5w20 for different oil change interval?

Can ignore me lor if dun understand what me is sayin. Sorry ya, my apologies. Me a gnoodu to car, only knows how to drive.

[blush][shakehead]