Bluecollar 1st Gear September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 Remember there were guys in van drive up and apporach you with cheap home theatre systems years ago. These guys are back in Upper Serangoon (maybe Hougang area as well)looking for victims. I have been appporach recently but have just politely rejected them. Please beware of these con and I should have reported to the police. Anyway to all out there please do not fall into the trap. Beware. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 What are the cons? fake products? They are also operating at the opened car park of SLT. Have been approached by them twice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dada Neutral Newbie September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 I was approached by these men in their vans outside TP HQ in Ubi. I was asked if I wanted 42" plasma TV and full home theater systems. They were saying that he needs to get rid of stock because of some problem with their logistics. anyway I rejected him as I never believe in free lunches..Lucky u brought this topic up, bros pls be careful. I din think of him as a cheat then, but these guys really look pro. At cheating..They are very persistant as well. So no matter how good the deal sounds, dun even try tp believe them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 This has been around for sometime,didn't know they still exist. Happend to me 2 yrs ago @ Woodlands area,suddenly this red kangoo like van , ask me to wind window.I tot wtf...want to sell me hi fi set and wanna bargain in the middle of a traffic junction? seow ! I just ignore and move on.Appearance of the guy is like ah beng gangster. Can't forget his C,B bin after i refuse to buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 .. been hearing so much of them for few yrs liao ..i would like to meet them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff Neutral Newbie September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 they are alwasy around , even at tiong bahru shopping ctr carpark . so hoe they con ppl? they say just name any price , they can go fix at my hse . 200 they also take . but i never bother them . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 Actually how does the "deal" work? I've been approached too long time back at Shell Paya Lebar. That bugger say got some hi-fi "stocks" to clear at "tiao lao" (jump off building price). If they are selling products should not be considered cheating rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiace79 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 Yesterday juz saw them @ Tampines st 21 approaching one old man.. Dunno he got kana con not.. Den having my lunch @ Tampines st 11,saw them again.. Quickly siam far far fr them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twixified Neutral Newbie September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 I was once approached by one white van at tampines area as well. Turned down their "offer", anyway how they come about coning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 ya, wat and how they con u? they sell u cheap , u agree,u pay, u get the goods are they fake goods, faulty or ??? advice please Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear October 1, 2006 Author Share October 1, 2006 Okay, I have jumped the gun a little but like DaDa said "there is no free lunch". I have heard about this a few years ago and not sure if there are people out there fell into it. If you heard anyone out there taken for a ride, please let us know. Those guys told me that they don't want to return the systems back into the warehouse, therefore can sell them cheap to me. If the systems is so good and cheap then they don't need to paddle for sales outside. I also fail to understand what so difficult to return them to the warehouse; items are in the van anyway. Anyhow I may have jumped the gun and my sincere appology if I have offended anyone. Sorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 They operate all ove Singapore. Just last Monday I had a "meeting" with them at the car park just opposite Habourfront - the car park just beside the food centre / bus terminus. Do avoid even talking to them and walk away - better to pay a bit more and be sure of what one is getting rather than take the chance of getting goods which quality cannot be verified Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whocaremi83 Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 i see alot ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 i was approached by them opp tampines mall car park few mths ago... they drove forward n ask for direction... then the driver say he cannot find the delivery address... say he need to dispose of the sony home theatre system asap... ask me wan buy anot... he say veri cheap sell to me la if not he also throw away... ridiculous... then i think confirm is "water goods"... after awhile he left liao... they drove around in a blue nissan van... watch out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myprecious Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 I saw them twice! Once was at MND Complex carpark and another time at jurong east mscp. They requested for 200 bucks coffee money for the home theatre system. They say the goods are supposed to be delivered to the port to be sold overseas. But the ship has left and their logistic man ask them to dispose the goods. But i feel that something's fishy. So i didn't really bother about them. I guess they have gone to almost all carparks in singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yanuk Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 ya, wat and how they con u?they sell u cheap , u agree,u pay, u get the goods are they fake goods, faulty or ??? advice please One of the stories I heard is as follows, They will tell you they got some 'branded' stuff to give you for free because they were ill treated by their boss, so they want to make him lose money by giving his stuff away. But they will ask some "kopi money" from you as a token of appreciation. Then they will show you the "branded" stuff that is supposedly very popular and high end in USA/Europe and give you the jaw drop if you said you've never heard of the brand before. So far I haven't heard of anyone who has bought it, so wun know if it works or not. The "kopi money" can range from $100-$300 or more. Supposedly a good deal since that "brand" usually costs more than few thousand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyongchi 1st Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 There was a CASE dialogue couple of weeks ago (over radio 938) and a woman explained how she was cheated. So, pls beware. No free kunch in this world! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 just to add on, was washing my car in serangoon north ave 4 mscp during late afternoon last week when these guys drove up to me and asked me the same things. Rejected them politely and they jus drove off. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...