Pool100 1st Gear October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 Hey folks... need your advice on this... I just bought a set of CDT CL-62 at a pretty popular audio shop in Toa payoh this afternoon. However, after hearing all the SLT stories here, I decided to check out the set being installed in my car. I got very suspicious when I realised the box set for my CDT does not have an serial number. Also, the manuals and warranty cards look like those printed from home colour printer. Very amatuerish, very fake looking. As it was already halfway throught installation, I decided not to ask so much. Also, after talking to the shop owner, he said that his shop has got clean record in the market, which I'm not disputing. Heard many bros recommending that shop on the net. Anyway, just want to ask: 1) Are there known 'chiong' CDTs around? 2) Are all manuals and warranty cards printed in amatuerish way? I even spotted several spelling errors on it! 3) Do CDT component speakers have serial numbers on them for warranty purposes? Would appreciate if all bros can help verify... thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 wah.. guess the SLT thread stirred up some thing. if the shop that u bought from also sells tyres and has a seperate show room with the pioneer ODR, i'm pretty sure ur safe... but no harm askin other bros ard here lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 (edited) you can email CDT tech support and channel ur questions to them. but AFAIK, CDT speakers dun have a serial numbers to them. I used to own a pair of HDs and dun recall any serial number on them. and yes, the quality/construction looks cheap, but the SQ is good value-for-money. yes, their manuals are just printed from color printers, its just a single page tat tells u how to wire up the connections. (it's a no-brainer thing for speakers, so why do u expect a stapled user guide on how to operate the speakers?) for warranty purposes, just keep the receipt with u, if got any problems, just bring back to them. for 300plus bucks, i doubt if there are chiong ones. if u look around, chiong speakers are usually the much higher end ones. Edited October 20, 2006 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yanuk Neutral Newbie October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 I'm using CDT CL61. CDT users are a 'rare breed' in here according to a fellow ICEr during a meet up. Finally tuned my system to something 'acceptable' my CL61 are quite pleasing to my ears. From what I know, CL61 and 62 differ only in the xover and the tweeters package. The CL6 woofer should be the same. We can compare and see if they are the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klein Neutral Newbie October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 Hey .. I think I know you :) ... guess you are the one driving the vios right? ... Anyway I use to be a great follower for CDT speakers .. however today just changed to something else. anyway, as I had told you at the shop .. so far I had not heard of CDT fakes ... for CDT models, I do not recall them having serial numbers... I used to be owning a pair of CL6 and had seen my friend's ES model.. all the packaging are cheapo looking. They are really value for money stuffs and I would say they are even able to compare up to higher end model of the other makes... No worries, your stuff is real .. I was taking out your set of speakers and looking at each items before you came in as I was also thinking of changing to that just now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 no way to tell except email cdt tech or the local agent. after all, the shop owner might not even know if his item is fake if he bought it off some other distributer so technically speaking, he has no intention of cheating. for me, i learnt my lesson and will stick to brands with local agents such as boston acoustics wose agent is in joo chiat or jbl, infinity with the local agent in woodlands etc. just call up and check, very safe. remember, u do not want to pay $8000 for a $200 fake rolex and then say its ok because the $200 rolex tells the time after all. so what if it sounds good to your ears? u should pay for what u get and not some copy that sounds good for 1000% more :) it always pays to be careful. money hard to earn leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie October 20, 2006 Share October 20, 2006 hey bro.. you're the owner of the white vios rite? Spoke to you together with my friend for a while while they were installing your speakers. I have the same speakers as you. The box looks cheapo but quality is . no worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi Corgan! Seems like u like your new CDT setup Do join us for us on one of the Wednesday MCF meetups Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear October 21, 2006 Author Share October 21, 2006 Hey bros, yeah I'm the one with the white vios Didn't know so many of you are here in MCF Thanks for all the clarification... just want to make sure of things, not trying to stir up anything. I do like the speakers... the SQ is pretty good. Just a tad bit concerned about the packaging that's all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi Kwongwing, Seems like I chose the right speakers then. Thanks to your advice also. will join if I am free but always seem to have something on on wednesday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Mid-week partying See ya around! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 a little more assurance for you... pic of my cdt cl61 (which i sold recently)... it has no serial no on it either, and well the printing could be improved. but hey, who cares if it sounds nice? and it does, for its price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Webbyboy Clutched October 22, 2006 Share October 22, 2006 Wondering this vs Rainbow SLX265, which one is better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klein Neutral Newbie October 23, 2006 Share October 23, 2006 Need to go hear it yourself ... for me I perfer the CDT... I find the rainbow slx not clear and abit too bassy for me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie October 23, 2006 Share October 23, 2006 Sorry bro, have not heard the rainbows before, so can't comment. But for its price, the cdt is pretty competent. I had it for a good two years (took a while to catch the tuning, but it can be pretty sweet). Hope you get a chance to hear both like bro Klein suggested. best way to get a feel of what u personally like. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie October 24, 2006 Share October 24, 2006 see the photo attached by turtle. it's deep red in colour (maroon). i hear the chiong CDTs are bright red. even the box is different but i cant describe it cos i haven't seen it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear October 24, 2006 Author Share October 24, 2006 So you're saying there're chiong CDTs?!!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie October 25, 2006 Share October 25, 2006 yah, according to an installer from indonesia. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...