Headshok 1st Gear November 7, 2006 Share November 7, 2006 this one after my exam i help u lah.. hehhe.. if u want, we DIY gournd ur engine bay if u want.. heheh.. but it does help me.. heheh.. big 3 is basic for all "loud" cars.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Sorry to bring up such an old topic. Im pretty new at this so asking a lot of questions. What do u mean the big 3? which points? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 alt ground, engine body ground, batt -ve to chasis. have fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 okie thanks bro. So ground this 3 is enuff already? no need do like the rest 5 points or 8 points grounding all?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 Sorry just another question, where can i buy 0/1 awg cables? SLT got sell? and roughly how much? Appreciate your help cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 just use bigger cables and its good enough liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 Oh okie okie. Paiseh ask so may qustions. Me noobie at this so forgive me if i ask too much. Right now i already have 5 points grounding in my ride. All using 8awg cables. So maybe i shld look into upgradign my cables. You mentioned u grounded with 0/1 awg cables. where can i buy 0/1 awg cables? SLT got sell? and roughly how much? Appreciate your help cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 for normal pple, no need groudnw it 0 gauge, i am abnormal.. hahah.. for u, 4 gauge is best. go to edison at SLT and get the 4 gauge, $2.50 per m, then go to B1 of SLT, look for this hsop called "dav jones", the boss is one old woman, get the 4 gauge lug, $1 each. and ur in business. i had left over 0 gauge, thats y i used it to ground. average price of 0 gauge is $15 per M, and the lug is a b1tch to find. have fun! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2007 Share February 16, 2007 oooo okie..advice taken. Thanks alot bro..I'll go hunting after CNY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Maybe u shld try undercarriage grounding if ur hardware is behind.... sort of a highway for the ground to go bac "mother" batt neg rather than chassis which is made of steel.... Beware too much grounding will have neg effect.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 (edited) Hi Bro, If you are serious in doing grounding, the big 3 points as pointed out by bro Headshok are the most important. I did another 1 for ECU grounding to make it 4 points. I also have one additional direct awg4 direct from battery negative to undercarriage of the mid-body and rear grounding points so that my rear amps and rear capacitor gets a direct highway all the way back to battery negative instead of via body chassis. To know if the grounding helps or not, I recommend you install a $25+ worth of digital voltage meter (not analog meter) that tap power direct from fuse box (not from cigarette lighter socket). If you can get constant voltage of 13.8v running, your ICE is going to operate at optimum level. Then, you check the voltage (not in the morning start that shows like 14.2v or 14.3 volts that is not the accurate voltage). You monitor it at night on a rainy day with all your headlights on, rear demister on, aircon on, etc... then you see what voltage reading you get. See if you are getting 13.7v or 13.8v. If not, check how old is your battery right now and how old is your car (coz alternator life is also a factor for doing the job of charging), then you know what to replace or upgrade. A ballpark figure for amps to operate at optimum level is 13.8v for you to shoot for. If you are using a Pioneer P80 head unit, there is a battery voltage display that provide real time voltage reading thus, you just have to use this display to show your battery voltage saving you the trouble to install a digital voltage meter. Edited February 20, 2007 by Bobcatsysop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 wow thanks for all the advice. Im reading up some articles in different car forums also to understand grounding better. Didnt know can be so chim. Currently my amps are all in my boot. Lemme read up a bit n digest this better then i'll come back with more questions if u guys dun mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Hi Bro, My pleasure to be of assistance... How is your Alpine HU W200 doing?... Free to drop by tonite's nasi padang ice meetup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Hey bro thanks for the invite tho i saw it to late. Im currently in Kl at the moment doing some project. My work requires me to fly ard here n there a bit. Would love the chance to meet up with u guys when um around..if time permits.So many questions to ask so many things to learn hehehe. My w200 is doing fine. im still exploring it cos so many functions to play ard with. Im not too sure on how the TA actually works...but that is a seperate issue altogehter. How do we calculate the TA cos i noticed its in m/s or something liek that or TA is normally tuned by ear?? The shop that installed theW200 n 701 processor did a good job but im curious to know how it works. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Hi Bro, Wow!!!.. so fast after CNY got to go back to office liao.. So you are in regional job har? A lot to learn about tuning that's for sure. I am totally blurr on Alphine tuning and not to mention the complicated 701 processor & controller. To get the tonality right, use the correct xover points to match your components, gain levels, calculate the TA, we usually go by ear and that is through those who are experienced. As for myself, I am still a newbie to mcf... still learning. You are most welcomed to drop by during those wed meetups. Our regulars will be more than happy to help you out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dopod78 Neutral Newbie February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Hey thanks for the reply bro. yeah me at work already... wat a bitch! All these traveling doesn't leave me with much time to play with my toys hahaha. Wat to do if i don't work then i cant buy new toys. Thanks for the help given so far bro. Appreciate your replies. Hey another thing. You mentioned the $25 digital gauges. Where can i get them back home? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Hi Bro, Work is more important... Yeah.. you can buy the $25 (dunno if this is still the same price today) digital voltmeter from Asia Elite Tools subsidiary of ATC Tech Pte Ltd. 20 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A, AMK Techlink #02-14 Singapore 567761 just next to AMK Autopoint Tel: 6484-3431 Ask for Wendy. AM2801 Digital VOLT METER: http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/doc_star2...d&.dnm=94c6.jpg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romanc88x Clutched February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 Hi Uncle Bob I have been looking to get a volt meter. Thanks for the lobang. AMK near my place also. Xie xie ni. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...