Toyota Voltz...oops I mean Pontiac Vibe

Phalanx

It's a popular mini-SUV here in the US...on the other end of the scale is the Hummer H2 (also popular [thumbsup] )

The Vibe is aimed to be youthful and sporting with looks to match [cool]

didn't see caldina in Turf but saw a black one along leng kee rd

last week. agree that it's sleek & made in Jap. According to PIs

Voltz is suppose to be made in Jap(1.8l)for export. US made is the

4 whell drive 280bhpmodel (Pontiac)

Somehow the paper work got screw up & it was made in US & that's the

reason why so few registered by LTA.

Frens went to test "drive" yesterday at Ubi... test drive around the carpark that it laugh.giflaugh.gif

overall not bad but the interior a bit disappointing... apart from the dials, the others look plasticky and dun really like the air-con control... looks dated.. the engine is the same as the SS1 but can bring in a manual version at about $109k.. that one is a a SS2 engine sly.gifsly.gif

A bit exp so my frens may be going for the Caldina instead... at $93k with similar specs but front and rear disc brakes.. and sleeker IMHO.. nod.gif

Found some stuffs on the Caldina.....

Hear the Caldina....

http://www.toyota.co.jp/Showroom/customize.../sound/download

The GT-Four "Name" has been reborn in the new Caldina 2.0 GT-Four. This is the same style of vehicle known as the Matrix here in the US. It's powered by a 4th Generation 3S-GTE pumping out 260ps (254HP) through a full time All Wheel Drive system. This opens all sorts of doors for us. Is there a 1% chance that this could be the next "All Trac Matrix" in the USA? Most likely not, but it at least breathes more life into the 3S line and what parts will be available for us. The Caldina has been around for years with a 3SGTE heartbeat, but it was a completely different car in previous versions. With the new Caldina so closely resembling the Matrix, it makes us wonder.

Caldina GT-Four

Model Code : ST246

Full time AWD

1480kg Vehicle Weight

1755kg Gross Vehicle Weight

4 Speed Automatic Transmission

2.0L 3S-GTE

260ps @ 6200 RPM

33kg Torque @ 4400 Rpm

9.0:1 Compression

86mmx86mm bore vs stroke

More specs here

http://www.japanvehicles.com/newcars/toyota/Caldina/main.htm

post-2-1049858556_thumb.jpg

post-2-1049858557_thumb.jpg

post-2-1049858558_thumb.jpg

post-2-1049858559_thumb.jpg

post-2-1049858560_thumb.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Reply To

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

there's a black one at AMK centre. e big carpark between courts n bus interchange.

looks very

hehehe.... will drop by with my digi cam liao..... the voltz is there weekdays or weekends???

saw it there on a weekday n a saturday. tink its a season parker.

go shoot it rifle.gifrifle.gifrifle.gifthumbsup.gif

will go, will go....... laugh.giflaugh.gif

Yeap .. guess I saw the same black one in front of me at St Nicholas up slope ...

there's a black one at AMK centre. e big carpark between courts n bus interchange.

looks very [sly][sly][sly][sly][sly]

any chance you help to make your fren the first Caldina owner in MCF ???.... commission for bringing in new member: 1 kopi, 2 tiger, 3 kisses from MCFers of your choice (male only hor) thumbsup.gifthumbsup.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Thanks bro for the comprehensive write-up thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifnod.gifnod.gif ..... yeah, all previous Caldinas were more or less station wagons.... this one is so different man, for the better thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Oops.. didn't see this... yup Caldina much sleek IMO.. same engine as Celica SS1 and the Voltz... definitely longer with more boot space and the interior seems better (but prefer the silver dials of the Voltz)..

checked yesterday, it's about $92k... additional for bodykit (they've got nice fierce looking ones nod.gif)

but your Ass is still better looking lah thumbsup.gif

They not the forum-forum type leh... but will try thumbsup.gifwink.gif

and... errmm... can i skip the 3 kisses part? not exactly an incentive unimpressed.gif ... some more SARS scare now sweatdrop.gif

i think Cal is much sleeker than Ass.......... if only i saw it before i put deposit for the AsS.....rolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif

understand, understand,..... on the kissing part:- you choose where they land their kisses lah.......... ooopps lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif (TX3 also needs kisses mah)

But your Ass is more "come-from-behind" type of brute force mah sly.gifsly.gifrolleyes.gifrolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif .. plus turbo some more

The Cal is slightly too long for me though... I like shorter cars... sly.gifrolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif

[reply]Yeap .. guess I saw the same black one in front of me at St Nicholas up slope ...

if i'm not wrong, two tones rite? black top n grey bottom.

Actually not the SARS part that worries me... it's the part about being kissed my our MCF bros... yucks!! laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif