Air Con

Kaede44444

care to elaborate further? what car you driving? new or old? where does the smell come from? is your aircon still as cold?

Air con is working normally. Still cold.

I driving Lancer 2005.

But when sometimes I rev to about 3k - 3.5k (which is kind of common), a strange smell will come out from the air-con.

Edited by Kaede44444

smells like a leak in the air-con system lei. how long u smell the smell already ? may afew wks later u tell us air-con still cold or not. or there is something stuck in the air-con system lo. get it clean lo. skali its some kinda dead animal rotting in there ! laugh.gif

rancid....

this is highly common. due to formation of mildew as lancer does not come with a removable filter. there got this anti bacterical spray with long thin nozzle can buy then spray spray abit inside the aircon grill. best is fine those like the clorox which kills 99.9% bacteria.

also, aircon the knob for recycle air, turn to fully fresh air. no recycle.

Yup, i fully agree with you bro.

Kaede44444, there are probably something /(or dead inscet)stuck inside the a/c air vent or perhaps in the cooling coil casing. It is also highly possible that there are moulding at the cooling coil. [nod]

Do monitor your a/c for a few weeks, if there are any changes to its coldness... do keep us update.

When you rev, is your A/C Compressor still running or is there a powerpass module, which cuts out the compressor?

Most importantly, what kind of smell is that? Burning smell or "sourish" smell?

Edited by Cordia_gsr

My aircon also got bad smell leh. Like smelly socks kind of odour now. Before that it was a very sickly sweet odour. But mine is not when I rev but consistently on-off.

It was in the workshop for a few mths and after I got it back it became like that so I wonder if it was due to long-term absorption of fumes or whatever from the workshop.

Anyway mine is Dec 05 and I have removable filter. Think all those with Ralliart rims will have. Only Lancers with OZ rims don't have the removable filter.

I know how to remove the filter (it's behind the passenger side compartment box) but I dunno where to buy a new aircon filter. Can anyone help in this?

mits car? conrad mtors at veerasamay road lor. tat one buay giam got 2 more shops also sell mit parts.

can call golden wheels at waterloo center alzo.

I drove Subaru TS and Lancer. Both have a funny smell ONLY when the engine is rev till about 3k. Normal times are ok one. Very normal. It is not really smelly lah.

But smell like some chemical smell? The smell will come ONLY when your engine is pressed hard. Not really smelly but noticable so just wanna check if any of you guys face similar issue. My friend driving VIOS also face the same problem.

i dun think there has been brands around for this... but wat i did for myself was to get hold of this kitchen hood filter which is rather thick (4-5mm) and cut it to pieces of slightly bigger then the paper filter and displace it . seems to work well as i can see dust deposit onto the black carbon.

Could it be something as simple as the aircon air circulation selection? Like allowing outside air to enter instead of re-circulaion of air internally?

If outside air is circulated inside, then there's exhaust or burnt smell during high revs.

I've experience this with a conti car and Japanese car b4. It's not your air-con.

I have trace smell to the exhaust manifold(or extractor). Cos when u rev hard the hot exhaust fumes will raise the temp. of the manifold causing it to glow in red. It's not leaking but the burning heat of the metal.

It smells like burning of the engine oil if I'm not wrong. The smell seeps into cabin thru the air-con system. Most cars air-con system is not completely air tight so as to allow fresh air from outside to dilute the concentration of CO2 in the car cabin.

So next time u try gradually increasing your rpm and not so sudden like u always do.

I used to smell something like what you described in my old cars. What appears to be a leak of the gas that is used in the air-con system. How is it that it leaks out more at higher revs, I'm not too sure, but what I had to do was to monitor the situation, recommended by my WS.

If there is "smoke" coming out of your air-con vents for extended periods of time, it may mean that the gas had leaked past the minimum amount, and you will need to top it up. You may also feel that the air-con is starting to get longer to cool. Take note that over-topping of the gas will also cause your air-con to cool slower, and may create more condensation in the vents and pipes, hence higher chances for mould to appear. Your air-con mechanic should know the right amount to top up. Air-con systems in the car typically last around 5-8yrs before they need some servicing or even a replacement.

For those who are smelling those mouldy smells from your air-con, I had read a thread here that recommended me to buy those "hippo" moisture absorbers. I went to those $2 shops to get a cheap one, works great! Can even last more than a month (water fill up to half of the container before it stops absorbing). Removes all the mouldy smell. The great thing is I only spent $1, because 2 for $2! Oh, it also makes you air refreshener deplete faster [laugh]

pls lah... new car leh how to leak.. not just happen to Mit, even toyota also got this problem. apparently any car with denso aircon got this problem. tat makes 90% of the Sushi cars. cannot b 90% of cars r leaky.

your aircon condenser stuck liao .... got to service...too much dust accumulate liao .