Sound insulation

Turbobrick

Hi Cool, U mean a special tool to push the insulation material or something in the door panel to adjust?

TUrbobrick..

Did not read your posting... allow me to share my past experience

My doors did vibrate before once... the problem is not the door but the floor that caused the vibration and the tyres you use.

My mechanic taught me the rite way to do insulating... not just cover but at strategic parts..

Example:

Rear wheel areas (under the seats)

Floor (4 seats)

Rear seat joining the boot

Leave the door uninsulated cos you may block the air flow if not done properly especially in japs cars... else the glass may shattered at high speed. (this was what happened to a friend of mine).

If you are interested... I can share with you a cheap tip.. use Office Carpets. they are good at absorbing noise.. do not spend money on those expensive ones..

I use SoundGard with a layer of office carpet .. very quiet compared to the stock ones... but I believe 2 layer of office carpets will do the trick.

my 2 cents .. of .. sound advise... [;)]

Dun think insufelx would do the trick bro.....

But what you can do is wind the window up to excess to the inner panels lor. You may have to cut the materials into smaller piece to be able to paste on the panels.

Kinda tricky stuffs that you are trying man, door is not so easy as the floor.

Hey Hey..

Forgot to tell you all the most important factor... how to prevent rust !!!!

When I sound proof my car doors recently, this is what I did

1. Remove the door plastic compartment

2. Cover it with sponge sheet (1cm thick, got from Joo Chat Rd)

3. Cover the sponge with plastics sheets (got it from Bookshop)

This is to prevent water getting into the sponge and cause rust

4. Spray anti-rust along the sponge parameters.

This will prevent rust (at least)

If you want to force the foam between the glass panel and door, remember to spray anti-rust cos foam traps water and when it rains, it will rust.

You do not want to end up with a rusty door.

Hi, I'm new here [:)] Had a lil noise issue after installing Remus exhaust. While the exhaust is not loud outside the car, the exhaust note is too bassey within the interior. Wife's been griping car's been "Ah Beng"ed [:/] Toying w idea of sandwiching sound insulation between the heat shield & car body. But not sure of materials which can handle the heat from exhaust system. Any advise?

btw, U driving a Focus with Remus exhaust? Fierce siah! [laugh]

Another way to insulate the exhaust sound from your cabin to to beef up your floor pan insulation. That'll involve removing the carpet and probably the seats as well.

Thks. Checked out the link. Looks more like heat insulation product.

There's already a stock AL heatshield in place. What I need is to insulate the noise close to source (muffler box) but hv to be heat resistant. Toying the idea of dropping by Hock Hin for high temp sound insulation sheets. They seem to hv some interesting products.

Office carpets [;)] tiles? Not sure if there's enuff allowance to slip the carpet tile ~8mm T without bulging out floor pan carpet

I meant slipping some thin sound insulation material between your car carpet and the floor board. Office carpet tiles cannot put in car lah, too damn thick and also I don't think they can insulate sound well [:p]

i was just thinking....

is it possible to insulate just only the area between the engine and the passenger compartment instead of the whole floorboard?? As least, it will reduce the noise by around say 30-40%(rough estimate & not scientifically proven), yah?

[:)]