Icebird Clutched January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 My car got hit when I left it parked. Driver drove off. Luckily I have eye-witnesses who left notes for me on my windscreen and I could make a police report based on that. Can you imagine if no one saw? I would have to pay the damage myself!!! Damn pissed off. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommyjen Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 ya, i also witness a Nissan Cefiro hitting a black Honda Edix at the Downtown East carpark.. however, i got no paper and pen, so went in chalet and came out later, but the Edix left liao.. sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Ehz.. You at least got witnesses, so quite good liaoz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Sorry to be a wet blanket but it is never like the drama serial we see on channel 5 or 8 .... A witness and a note does not mean anything. This guy if he is good he would have gotten his car repaired .. the cops cant do anything in this case as there is no injury involved .. it will be between insurance companies .. and likely they have no case against this person as he can likely get an alibi or witness for a mere 70 cents coffee money ... good luck but i wont put my money on it .. just move on ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 read my post... witness, photography evidence are useless unless u wan to fight court case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kokanadan Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Can be done. I've been in the same situation as you before. Just use the note and make a police report. The police will escalate the case to TP for further investigation. After the investigation, you can use the report to make 3rd party claim on the culprit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 wow really was FBI involved in this? and did CSI come and take evidance ...hohoho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 some people dont understand ... i;ve seen too many of such people trying to soothe their heart ache by believing these will help them ... they need to accept the fact that NOTHING IS GONNA change the fact that someone got away .. boo freakin hoo ... UNLESS you have 20-60K to spend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 They can help you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tzeench Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 If that is the case, beware abuse can happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kokanadan Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Can you not be so skeptical for once? I'm speaking from my own experience. My car got hit on the bumper and some kind-hearted soul left a note on my windscreen. I took the note and made a police report. It took about 2 months for the TP to investigate and a investigation report was sent to me, which of course was in my favour. I've used the report to make claims on the culprit and repair my car. I can try to scan both the TP & the claim report if you still doubt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coke21 Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Dun feed the trolls. Ignore them they go away after a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kokanadan Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 I understand where you're coming from. For this case, there's witnesses to substantiate the claims. I don't think our police force is so naive to handle cases without proper evidence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Dont pretend to feed the trolls .. they will come back and haunt you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodigysaint Clutched January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 so if after months of investigation and after the lawyers on both sides made their case and nothing came back to you or the culprit.. how??? does that mean the case is over?? for such a case.. is it a criminal kinda of case or investigation?? my car kana such crap before leh... but really can't do much.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 TP or cops investigate only when there is injury ... even if you report it's SOP .. fill form and go home ... the best bet is to accept the crap and move on... dont waste time yakkin away Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kokanadan Neutral Newbie January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 Honestly, I can't answer that as I'm not very familiar with such cases. But what I can offer you here is my own experience with my 'hit-n-run' case. I've explicitly highlighted to the officer that it was a clear hit-n-run when I've made the report. The office acknowledged that and the case was escalated to the TP. In the TP report, they clearly stated that they have done the investigation and found the culprit guilty of negligence driving. So I took the report and made a 3rd party claim. The whole case was handled by my repair workshop and I didn't have to intervene at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 15, 2007 Share January 15, 2007 tis my personal experience. -witness hit & run in carpark,left particular on wiper -owner contact me,report TP -I go over TP give statement -Few months later,TP gimme letter say no further action taken.TP ask the victim settle himself Few months later -Victim kaopeh kaobu, deputy prosecutor ask IO 2 reopen case -TP call me in ask more qns again -say might go court if defendant refused 2 admit the case above bit tricky coz defendant already scrap & export the car b4 TP cld check.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...