Meetup 17 Jan

Coolbreeze90

Sorry Hyun bro, mine is a humble system, in fact, I have just packed them up as well...to get ready for house shifting...so, can't help you now...why dun you put on your headphone and give it a try...the effect could be immediate...

that emma comment is too vague. well mr ILOVEPICCOLO got the chart of the soundstage, but even in that chart it doesn't apparently detail out the position of that line, it just again vaguely spread the background vocals across.

mr kebaya i got no headphone leh.

Simple, bring that CD to Adelphi and said you are interested in their speakers, that you wanna assess them...there you go...for free....You just have to pay the car park...

Dekiting of the current setup.

Decided not to have oversize tweeter and 3 to 4 amps in the car.

Looking to sell some item from what i have now and downgrade to a simple 2 way active setup lor... Think i will need to take some time to build up my system.

Will let you guys know once my setup is done.

Good to hear that, take some time also to consolidate yourself. Its money, hard-earn cash...good to know when and what is the limit. Even within the limits, you can still enjoy to the fullest.

Hi Bro,

... spreadsheet to a JPG file for others to download or view. Just click here

Saw your JPG and noticed that you mentioned aeroplane sound solved with lowered amp gains - it effectively means that the sound is still there but you have merely lowered its volume to a level which you presumably cannot hear i.e. problem still there.

You may still want to fiddle with your cabling, etc. to figure out how to fix the problem - after you have fiddled around and gotten sick of your other settings/adjustments [nod]

i'm a broken record. 33 1/3 rpm one. i repeat myself again. how come u pay some shop $5000+ and still got fundamental problems. wats wrong with business ethic. mr lawyer how ah we sue them good good?

by the way did u guys realise cartoon came down to our meetup on 10 Jan 2007?

he was reluctant to come but was persuaded by a customer of his to join in the meetup. he didn't hang around long, just spoke a bit with spinworx and left.

looks like a lot of them do very secretive things. he told the customer to keep his settings on the HU secret. it was a little disturbing having a secretive person turn up at the meetup. are we supposed to keep secrets from him as well? i bet he's got lots more to teach us - i dun think there's anything we can offer him.

its common for installer to advice their customer to keep this HU setting to themself, don't let others see or re-set it....

oh isit? that's how they behave ah. understooded. got the message - not interested in sharing.

heard about an IASCA competition 2 odd years ago where an installer was poking his head around a DIY competitor's car during judging process while the competitor was explaining his system setup and features to the installer. the installer was waving his handicam, probably making that kind of home video shaking camera kind of movie, recording every word and filming every component in the car.

when it came to that installer's turn to be judged, he formed a perimeter donno maybe 2 metres around the car or more, and forbid anyone from coming near while he spoke his secrets about his setup to the judge. "excuse me, can (stand aside)... judging in process" he sort of said.

interesting hor.

as bro kermit mentioned, its their ricebowl.. who know if you're one of new and coming installer trying to steal his skill... make yourself free, join the shaolin clan and gather all the skill then you come down loi.

in many professions, there are codes of ethics, written or unwritten. that's the way people agree to behave, so that everyone feels comfortable.

the example given earlier about the installer filming, then shoo'ing everyone away when it's his turn to "reveal secrets to the judge", that's an example that's clearly bad ethics. and this probably isn't the only instance we can recall where we feel installers have bad ethics.

so that's fine, we all know this profession got limited ethics. it's not just about earning rice bowl. it's earning rice bowl with limited ethics. luckily hobbyists got ethics hor?

Hi Hyun,

<< by the way did u guys realise cartoon came down to our meetup on 10 Jan 2007?

he was reluctant to come but was persuaded by a customer of his to join in the meetup. he didn't hang around long, just spoke a bit with spinworx and left.

looks like a lot of them do very secretive things. he told the customer to keep his settings on the HU secret. it was a little disturbing having a secretive person turn up at the meetup. are we supposed to keep secrets from him as well? i bet he's got lots more to teach us - i dun think there's anything we can offer him.>>

Oh.. is that so?.. I am not aware of that.. Dunno who is this Cartoon guy from NewGen right? That is also the reason why sgsoundsystem is very serious about meetups when installer turns up during their meetups. I had witnessed in one incident that the meetup was called off just because one installer turned up.

Edited by Bobcatsysop