Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 Hello Guys, I've come across couple of guys who connects harddisk to their I.C.E. My question is, how to you use your headunit to control the files in the harddisk? From what I know, you need to install a driver to access the drive, since our HU is not an OS, how to control? Any bros had done it or knowledge, any sharing is very much appreciated. Thanks in advance! Happy new year! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 14, 2007 Share February 14, 2007 HDD to ice? it seems some HUs have USB port somewhere, so u can load thumbdrive, hdd into it. but if ur HU don have, then u can build ut own "car-puter", hide a CPU somewhere in the car and put a screen lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Author Share February 15, 2007 Appreciate your help bro! But.. dun think that's the only way leh. Previously or rather few years back when the USB HUs were not out yet, there are already people doing it to their HUs like P7650 etc etc those with screens. Maybe use devices like HDD player? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sjww57 Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Hi Hope this thread be able to help you http://www.twcsg.org/viewtopic.php?t=2392 Have a Happy and Blessed New Year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 http://www.twcsg.org/viewtopic.php?t=2392 Hypelink for U Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auriginal Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 You have have a look at this. Not cheap though http://www.mobycar.com/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_nam Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Hi, There's actually a special casing that is being use with those portable harddisk.. There are two type..one is the one without a screen..which is ard $120..(HHD not included), the other is with a screen, ard $340 (HHD not included).. Both have play, forward and usb port..but i think the audio is using a audio jack.. the one with screen is very much like MP4 player with many functions.. U can go sim lim take a look.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auriginal Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Do be careful with those. Most HU that supports USD has a maximum capacity it can handle. Make sure you run through the manual to ensure that is support, say eg 80GB HDD. Only when you know it support 80GB, then you go out and buy a 80GB HDD with casing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 to what extend do you want your ICE to interface with it?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleanwipe Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Hello Guys, I've come across couple of guys who connects harddisk to their I.C.E. My question is, how to you use your headunit to control the files in the harddisk? From what I know, you need to install a driver to access the drive, since our HU is not an OS, how to control? Any bros had done it or knowledge, any sharing is very much appreciated. Thanks in advance! Happy new year! I'd install a PC (WIN XP Pro) into my ICE in my odyssey Dec 2006....great, not only for ICE but also surf internet will driving....hehehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinloh Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Hello Guys, I've come across couple of guys who connects harddisk to their I.C.E. My question is, how to you use your headunit to control the files in the harddisk? From what I know, you need to install a driver to access the drive, since our HU is not an OS, how to control? Any bros had done it or knowledge, any sharing is very much appreciated. Thanks in advance! Happy new year! Hi, I have just did my ICE. I got a Sony Head unit CDX-GT660US. It comes with a USB port. (S$339 with installation) http://www.gmarket.co.kr/challenge/neo_goo...scode=111856175 and Swissbit Mini Hard Disk 8GB (S$129 at SLS) http://tech.yahoo.com/pr/swissbit-mini-har...rive/1994201716 This way I have few thousand songs. On the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Author Share February 15, 2007 It doesn't matter I guess. As long as can play on my screen, I'm satisfied. That's why i'm looking for a HDD that doesn't need an interface to play stuff. Saw those HDD that one of the bros mentioned. Seems possible after I check out with the sales person about the functions and how it works etc. All you need is to plug it into any screen using the VGA out or AV out, then play from the HDD. I think that there's also a possibility that those archos ones should work fine. Since they got VGA output etc and can record directly from cable, tv etc somemore! Must check how to fit it onto my 7850. Thanks for your contribution man! Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie February 15, 2007 Author Share February 15, 2007 Hello bro! Impressive to install a PC inside car. Seen my friend DIYed his Mac Mini into his car with GPS, TV tuner and Internet etc. Damn cool! But well, that's not what i really want lah. Hahaha... hard disk that can play will do. Anyway, what's the cost? DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Do be careful with those. Most HU that supports USD has a maximum capacity it can handle. Make sure you run through the manual to ensure that is support, say eg 80GB HDD. Only when you know it support 80GB, then you go out and buy a 80GB HDD with casing I believe becos it only supports FAT32 so both Mac & PC hard disk can read. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...