Assassin Clutched April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Definitely will do that. Wash and dry before spraying. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Yup, I've used STP undercoating with good results on my brick. Had 4 layers on all wheel wells and they held up well. STP is ok as I used it with no peeling so far! Think its most important to do it while the wheel arches are still clean. For me, its my 1 step to save cost-deaden sound-rustproof at 1 go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Yup, I removed the wheels for a more complete coating. Did that while rotating the wheels too Got it. Thanx ! I did mine while the tyre shop removed my wheels to install new ones. Must say that it was an opportune moment to do it...pre-meditated as well ....at least it will save me lots of back-breaking removal of rims Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Good ah you..do everything all at once. How long did it take for each coat of the rubberised spray to dry fully btw ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 (edited) Quite fast as I had a time limit...you see, after the wheels were done, (I started spraying the moment he took out the wheels) the rain started coming down like cats and dogs-pardon the pun! so all in all about 20 mins after spraying to harden slightly. I did the doors rustproofing cum rubberising spray when the radio installer took out the door panels to do Accumat. Edited April 25, 2003 by Bimmerfan8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Looks like you've got everything planned out nicely and timed already huh ? Where did you do your Accumat btw ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Seem like you have been quite busy recently.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 (edited) Yah lor, busy always at the initial stages then later can R&R and enjoy the fruits of my labour AHEM wallet! Nowadays, every bit counts that's why must plan every step to save cost $$$ Edited April 26, 2003 by Bimmerfan8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 Did it at my regular 'cost effective supplier of stereo' at Blk 1002 Toa Payoh Ind Park 2 next to the driving range, shop name AutoTrend, look for Darren. Charges $35 per piece w/o labour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 I totally agree.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 Thanx for the info. Have updated the Resources folder. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niss Neutral Newbie April 27, 2003 Share April 27, 2003 very easy one..... ususally i wait until the bangladeshi workers wash the mcp at my place..... they got schedule one.... i used to get my old car's undercarriage washed once every two weeks/month. first bring ur car up to the second highest level so no one from the block can see wat u doing and report u. also not many cars there. when the bangladeshi worker come up, u just ask him nice nice to borrow the hose or ask him to spray the undercarriage with mid flow spray. then pay him 2-3 bucks in tips lor. easy but illegal... hehehhe. dun get caught lor. i mean how long does it take to hose it down anyways.... i've seen someone use the fire access hose to spray the undercarriage also but i think that one too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 28, 2003 Share April 28, 2003 it's save to just drive from your house/office to the car wash unless you just finish 3 laps at PG & immediately go for a car wash, than it's a Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 28, 2003 Share April 28, 2003 if got ABS, than there'll be sensor near the disc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear March 28, 2010 Share March 28, 2010 Hmm, I'm concerned about the fact that any ride, after having travelled for quite considerable distances, would have the disc brakes all heated up at a very high temperature. Would it not hurt or cause the hot expanded discs to warp when cool water suddenly splashed on them when in a car wash? In this context, I think it's safest to wash a car when it's cool...just like how it's best to gauge tyre pressures when the tyres' cold. understand that brake rotor will warp if do car wash after driving arnd for some time. best to do it cool. reviving this thread becoz wan to ask if anywhere in sgp got car wash that do detailed washing of undercarriage like JB style. dunno wan go JB to do it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...