Bieffe 2nd Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 HID is becoming more popular nowdays. Be it OEM or an option by the PI....HID are here to stay.Since HID is illegal when u DIY...then how these PIs get their cars approved with the HIDs? Surely they are fitted here. Say Wish for example. They don't have projector lamps....how in the world PIs get it approved? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 Hi Bieffe, if the car comes with HID directly from the manufacturer, LTA will approve. The latter will disapprove if you change your original to aftermarket HID. I have checked with LTA on this matter. You mentioned that Wish don't come with projector lamps and got approval. That is precisely the point bcos they are using the bulbs directly from the manufacturer. I hope the 2nd para answer your doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bieffe 2nd Gear February 15, 2007 Author Share February 15, 2007 Cannot be lah. Wish are imported to Singapore w/o HID then they locally install it. Serious...I saw. The HID is not from factory so how they get it approved? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcraze 1st Gear February 15, 2007 Share February 15, 2007 (edited) the new wish comes with projectors. (standard) but, whether the OEM lamps are HID lamps or Halogen lamps, that i'm not too sure. For some higher spec-ed wish, yes the HID is factory fitted. but there are some PI offering "free HID upgrade". FYI, LTA will approve HID installation if the HID setup used is meant for the vehicle. For example, you buy a camry 2.0 without HID, however, if you can get the HID setup for the 2.4 and fit it into you 2.0, it's legal because the setup is meant (OEM) for the Camry (regardless of engine capacity). and also, i think if the HIDs are properly installed (may not be OEM equipment), it's possible to pass inspection. But take note of the following: - proper light beam alignment - light emission must be of approved standard (not too bright, not too dim) my friend who installed HIDs into his IS200 earlier version without HIDs using the Philips setup passed his inspection. Edited February 15, 2007 by Carcraze Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 May I know where your friend get his IS200 converted to HIDs? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eug1388 6th Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 it can get quite glaring for the front driver for some of the HID lights. it shines into the side/wing mirrors and i get quite irritated by some only. Not a minority bec i see quite alot of pple fix such lights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Most HIDs factory fitted should come with 4000K bulb which is a bit yellow. Must see wat type of bulb installed,i think the industry wont allow bulb tat is beyond 6000K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 20, 2007 Share February 20, 2007 Tat is the problem when u install HID bulb which is not suited with HID lamp housing. The reflector goes haywire and need proper alignment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 r u contemplating to install HID? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Why do we need HIDs in Singapore. Are our roads not bright enough? I get real irritated when I see people turn on HID + fog lights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhBao9388 1st Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 actually im not against of HID. its pretty useful up north when u need it. but then drivers does not bother to focus the beam properly when they do tis upgrade. once i saw a swift blaring its HID into a altis, its whole cabin juz totally lit up. i feel sorry for the altis drivers. to those who fit those aftermarket HID. CAN YOU PLEASE FOCUS THE BEAM PROPERLY IF YOU WAN TO INSTALL HID. DON BE SO INCONSIDERATE LEH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 if the altis has rear foggies, he should turn them on and blind the driver who is shinning his HID into his ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 (edited) The altis should put a piece of mirror up and reflect all the HID beams back to the car behind When I drive in those ulu old trunk roads in Malaysia(boleh), there is no street lamps, only reflectors. Thats when I put up my fog lights front n rear n also throw long beam headlights where necessary....I can still drive fairly fast so I dont understand why LTA approve those HIDs, esp those which look bluish. Lets me honest, at least half of those who install HIDs do so for showing off. I just had a Toyota Vios with HID shinning on my butt the other night along CTE and in moderate traffic he was so close I can see his face in my rear mirror. SO is CTE very dim...ladies n gentlemen? Edited February 21, 2007 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doctorc Neutral Newbie February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Hi - aftermarket HID kits are not allowed here unless (as someone pointed put) it is part of an OEM kit from the factory. HID setups normally have ; 1. projector lenses for a sharp cut-off 2. self levelling mechanisms so that the beams do not get high when the car is loaded If you purchase the original kit (maybe costing a few $k's) and have it properly installed then good. But if all you do is to replace the standard halogen bulb with a HID one using the same reflector (meant for the halogen), you will definitely blind those around you. It's not a question of focus but more of using the right equipment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhBao9388 1st Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 wat i meant was im not against drivers who change off their halogen light to HID. but damn! they realli need to focus the beam properly so as not to distract other rd user. i hav encounters of such cars realli veri glaring until i cant see anything behind and onli that 2 stupid HID light blaring at my rear view mirror Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 But some cars come with stock HIDs. Then how... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bieffe 2nd Gear February 21, 2007 Author Share February 21, 2007 Ya lor actuall some come as OEM also dame glaring what then is approved but aftermarket LTA say cannot always double standard. YA quite correct in Sillypore no need HID but is like a fashion accesorry now. I bet it even makes the driver good faster, boost ego etc!!! Is not that I want to install but is the double standard by LTA that I wanna get some light on. Just look at the PI cars almost all comes with HIDs as a free gift like DVD player etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear February 21, 2007 Share February 21, 2007 Logical is to just test headlights to standard, HID or Halogen. Have met many taxis with one lamp purposely adjusted upwards for attention - equally irritating. It's NOT about HID or Halogen, but Misaligned lights that LTA should address. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...