Need advise for system setup

Dennisk

ride=323

currently i am using stock kenwood headunit.

installed: D3 diamond component speakers.

wanna install : amplifier and woofer

anyone can advise me? what should i install ,the brand and model also....

budget = $800-$1000

really want a considerable good system, so that i won't regret in future and end up spending more...

thanksnod.gif

Edited by Dennisk

Hi All,

I just bought a set of ICE from my friend who is selling his car to get a SUV.

this is what i got:

- Stock mazda 3 HU

1- Infinity component speakers with tweeters and crossovers.

2- Infinity 2 way speakers

3- Rodek 4 channel Amp

4- Cadence Pre-amp

5- JBL CS200 monobloc amp

6- Sony 12" Xplod Subwoffer enclosed in Customized wooden box.

7- Stinger capacitor to power up the JBL monobloc

Do I need a fuse box for my setup?

I am thinking of taking out the subwoofer from the wooden box and fix it on my spare wheel area with acrylic top to save some booth space. any comments on the pros and cons?

I paid $800 for the items 1-7 and they are 7 months old. Is the price reasonable? I just bought the stuff from him and didnt really know the market price. just trusting that my friend will not fleeced me.

thanks for all advice.

> Do I need a fuse box for my setup?

ur friendly SUV fren didn't tell u the importance of a fuse box?

if that power cable running from the battery all the way to your ICE components, somehow comes bare of its rubber insulation and comes into contact with the car body, even if it's not a metal body part, u'll generate a 12V voltage drop across that point, and potentially can spark some flames. and apparently the car battery has enough ampere hours inside there to unload quite a bit of current through this drop.

dun have fuse, better have insurance!

u posted under "Active vs passive setup" which isn't quite right for your question, so i'll answer u here.

u have a lot of toys.

what u don't have is a nice head unit to utilise all these toys.

imagine if u buy a nice set of minicompo at home.

and u sit at your computer table, and place one speaker next to you to your right, and another one maybe in your brother's room. share share lah.

then you decided u want some bass so u get a nice big speaker and u put it facing your neighbour's house.

would it sound strange? your neighbour would certainly think so.

the head unit tries to help you correct all that, without moving the speakers from where u dumped them in. and that feature is called "time alignment (TA) / time correction". not all models have it. and that's where this "active" thing comes into play too.

the ideal for your set of toys is get a TA capable head unit, wire your front infinity speakers active i.e. one to each channel of the 4 channel amp, use the sub with the monoblock, and T-loan your rear infinity speakers to your neighbour. that way we all can enjoy music. share share mah ...

Edited by Hyun

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I dont think i am going to change my mazda srock HU, like it the way it is. Hmm... will make a trip down to the audio shop and see what they reckon is best.

Still on the lookout for a fuse box and some RCA cables...

have a good day,

Hi all,

I went down to a car audio shop along geylang and was quted the following price for setting up my ICE. would like to know if the price quoted is reasonable and if anyone has a better recommendation.

I am installing the following ICE components:

1. Cadence pre-amp

2. Rodek 4 ch amp

3. Infinity component speakers with tweeters and crossovers

4. Infinity two way speakers

5. JBL monobloc amp

6. Sony 12" xplod sub woofer enclosed in customized box.

7. Stinger 1.0 farad capacitor

Workshop mentioned that i will need to purchase a hi-low convertor for $25 to connect my HU to the pre-amp. Needed another $25 for some sockets for the capacitor

Worksmanship charges: $220 for items 1-7 (amps under seat and not mounted to back seats, additional $70 for mounting amps to wooden board attached to back seats)

$80 for wiring.

total would be $300.

Is this price consider reasonable? Workshop mentioned that it will take a whole day to fix up my ICE. anyone knows if there are any workshop who can do it in a shorter timeframe. I need my car and most prob can only leave it for half a day.

thanks,

Hehe, half day not likely...dun want to rush ICE jobs.

Hi-lo converter is around that price.

Sockets to capacitor are most probably lugs, which don't cost $25..

Workmanship also on the high side...

And you sure you want the Sony woofer? hehe...not very good leh..

Hi, thanks for your prompt reply.

I actually looking to get a compact subwoofer to place it under my seat or mount it to my back seat to save space.

Was thinking of selling away the Sony xplod subwoofer with the capacitor and the jbl monobloc. Might post in yahoo auction as I dont have enough post to post in the classified section here. Just to check if I sell it at $300 for the 3 items, is it a reasonable price?

do you know any audio workshop that I can go to for pricing and installation?

thanks

Depending on the model/power of the monoblock and the farad of the capacitor and the duration it's been used before (if at all)

You should be able to get more than $300 for all 3 items if they're better stuff.

The sony woofer would most prob be the cheapest item since a brand new one from SLT without box can get for about $70-80 i've seen before.

I do not have any other lobang for install shops cause i dun have a shop i go to...my setup was diy but i used to go to the one at Zion road (not P$n L$a$g)

Edited by Spinworkx