IU drop out from windshield and this is what VICOM tell me...

Mussorgsky

look behind the gantries and see how many cameras there are... if there was a way to hack the erp system, don't you think that many pple would have done so..

those cameras are to take lic plate number

how i wish you are the Minister of transport... [laugh][:/]

elect me lor. lols. got many benefits

Edited by Mllcg

The 3M heavy duty double sided tape ( red colour ) is the right tape to buy to keep the bracket back into the original position.

I have used it and it is sticking there good for one year already.

I think car owners are responsible for the maintenance of the IU and TP's job is to make sure we have the IU in our car.

Edited by Simnon

taken from LTA , http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...otoring_erp.htm

Graduated Electronic Road Pricing

Since February 2003, motorists have been enjoying savings of 25 cents to $2 when passing through most of the ERP gantries.

To discourage motorists from speeding up or slowing down to avoid paying higher ERP charges, the LTA decided to make ERP changes more gradual.

Graduated ERP rates have been introduced for the first five minutes of the time slot with a higher rate. If the next period has a lower ERP rate, the new rate is introduced for the last five minutes. This applies to cases where the change in the rate is at least $0.50, depending on vehicle type. For car drivers, the graduated ERP rate applies where the change in rate is at least $1.

Because the graduated rate is introduced in the more expensive band, it means overall lower ERP charges for motorists.

ERP Violations

Motorists who pass through an operational ERP gantry without a properly-inserted CashCard in the IU, or one with insufficient monetary value in the CashCard to pay the ERP charges, will receive a letter within a few days of the violation requesting them to pay the outstanding ERP charge plus an administrative fee of $10, within two weeks from the date of the letter. The administrative fee is reduced to $8 if payment is made electronically via the following channels:

LTA's One.Motoring website

AXS stations

Self-service Automated Machines (SAMs) at post offices

vPost

Automated teller machines

Telephone and internet banking services

If you are a SingTel mobile phone subscriber, you may wish to know that SingTel has a service called Easi-ERP which enables you to pay your outstanding ERP charges via your mobile phone bill at a reduced administrative fee of $4 per transaction (in addition to the outstanding ERP charges). Please note that this applies only for violations occurring after you have subscribed to the service. To use the service, please dial *377 and follow the instructions that will be sent back to you via SMS. A one-time $1 subscription fee is levied by SingTel.

Alternatively, payment for ERP violations can be made at Post Offices islandwide. Please bring the payment letter along when doing so.

You may also come by the LTA office at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701 or mail us a cheque at Singapore Post Centre Post Office, P.O. Box 491, Singapore 914017 quoting the vehicle number and notice number on the reverse of the cheque.

IU Inspection

Having problems with your IU? Send your vehicle to the authorised inspection and other appointed centres.

IUs are covered by a 5-year warranty against manufacturer’s defects. You will have to pay for a replacement should your IU become faulty after its warranty period. You may check the warranty period of your IU by calling our customer service line at 1800-CALL LTA (1800-2255 582).

Edited by CH_CO

My IU drop out from my car recently and I called up LTA to tell them about my problem and ask where I can get my IU fixed. They refer me to VICOM. I then drove to VICOM and waited for 20 mins plus to get my IU "inspected".

The mechanics tell me this:

"Either you buy the IU bracket or u go outside and buy the 3M tape to paste my IU back"

Huh???!!? I was shocked and went on to say that "Hey aren't my IU under warranty?" and the VICOM guy tells me that "Only the IU is under warranty, not the holder"

So now I think what the gahmen is telling me this. "The IU is what we treasure most cos it generates $$$ when you go pass our ERP but for your own safety.. nah.. its yours.. so better pay up to get the bracket replaced or get your own 3M tape or any tape to paste it back and hopefully during an accident, it won't fly out and hit your head!"

I am absolutely appalled to hear that. Although it is just a small thing but come to think of that, this small thing can result in fatal accident. I remembered once that the media did focus on the safety of the IU and even showed the scene whereby one car kena accident and the IU was still intact and remains safe cos think the members of the public was worried about that. But now, this small thing happened to my car and no one bothers about it and even ask me to pay for the bracket. Oh c'mon, what is the price of the bracket when compared to the amount of ERP that we have been giving all these while.

Isn't our safety worth more than that few dollars?

You should have staged a fake e-brake report and KPKB to the press for fear of fatal injury due to flying IU.....the gov sure fix it for you FOC....if you KPKB somemore...they'll tape your mouth shut thru legal channel like an injunction ! : (

The system is programmed in such a logic.

1)Detect IU

2)If true, deduct money

3)false, sensor comes in to take picture

3)true but not enough money, take picture

Simple logic cost $2,000,000 to build. Fantastic!

The system is programmed in such a logic.

1)Detect IU

1a) If false? what happens?

2)If true, deduct money

1)Detect IU

1a) If false? what happens?

2)If true, deduct money

Edited by Mllcg