Modeldriver Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Fren, I think you need to keep the rolling circumference of the tyres the same - else you may need recalibration of various dials etc on your car. I think LTA also has a rule against changing rolling circumference. Thus, if you change the size of rims from 14" to 15", basically you'll end up having to get tyres with lower profile - e.g. going from 65 to 50 or something like that. Usually makes the car look much better - but really doesn't do much to your ride height, since the overall diameter remains the same. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Me? I don't frequent JB and if do I go there, it's usually for makan, shopping and VCD/DVD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astralee 2nd Gear April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 saw a cheapest set of 17" rims without tyres going for $504 onli. isn't tat cheap? any comments ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Brand? Pic? Where is it made? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Merwede spring can't make it lah....they will sag after some time....Tanabe is much better.......more costly but will be worth it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Got check with the tire shop at Upp Thomson Road before Nee Soon camp? I think Huggable is a regular there btw, you'll definitely need lower profile tires for larger rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Author Share April 25, 2003 Merwede spring can't make it lah....they will sag after some time....Tanabe is much better.......more costly but will be worth it... Wah thanks for the advice man .... I didn't know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Author Share April 25, 2003 mmmmm, haven't yet as I dun know them. Huggable .... no longer around leh .... hardly see a log on from Huggable anymore. Are they located just before the Nee Soon Camp turn-in or opposite of Nee Soon Camp where the Caltex or Shell Station is ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Author Share April 25, 2003 Wah , JB rims not that cheap leh .... as I found out today. Went to 4 places and average price for JRD, Advanti and Taiwanese 16 inch rims plus tyres totals to about RM$2000 - RM$2600. Can't say they tried to con a singapore car cause the prices are clear on the rims themselves. If at current exchange rates , that would equate to an average of S$1000.00 for a full set. Certainly almost S$200.00 more expensive than at Stamford Tyres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 like that better buy from stamford loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Author Share April 25, 2003 Thats what I thought too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 its not cheap there especially imported rims..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 Merwede spring can't make it lah....they will sag after some time....Tanabe is much better.......more costly but will be worth it... Or even Eibach which was what I used for my ex-Bimmer. Merwede=SAG big time. Knew a guy that fitted it and after 1/2 yr , his 318i had no finger gap between wheel arch and tyres at all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear April 25, 2003 Share April 25, 2003 good deal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie April 25, 2003 Author Share April 25, 2003 I thought so too .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 Wah , JB rims not that cheap leh .... as I found out today. Went to 4 places and average price for JRD, Advanti and Taiwanese 16 inch rims plus tyres totals to about RM$2000 - RM$2600. Can't say they tried to con a singapore car cause the prices are clear on the rims themselves. If at current exchange rates , that would equate to an average of S$1000.00 for a full set. Certainly almost S$200.00 more expensive than at Stamford Tyres. That was expensive! Have you also checked out Leong Seng and Yap Bros? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 >>Knew a guy that fitted it and after 1/2 yr , his 318i had no finger gap between wheel arch and tyres at all! Maybe he put on weight! Yeah, Merwede is off limits. Everyone who had tried it said so....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 26, 2003 Share April 26, 2003 Honestly, I also not too sure which wheel shop it is Try PM Huggable, he may respond faster that way ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...