Kelpie 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 1. Sorta of stopping ridding after seeing how bikers and cars behaved on our roads. 2. I don't understand the followings perhaps you guys can comments: a) Why bikers like to ride on the side of the road divider. It is dangerous to me. I only ride at the center of the lane and rarely attempt on the 1st lane. b) Why cars like to high beam or horn the biker infront who is rdding at the center of the lane even on a 2nd or 3rd lanes? It is not 1st lane after all. If the car wants to go faster, they can overtake on the 2nd or the 1st lane. c) Why bikers must go infront or by the side of the cars at the traffic light junction? Not all of them are ridding a super bike and can sprint past all cars when the traffic light turned green. Is this biking culture, habitual or ego? d) Some bikers don't like car to overtake them. I don't see why if the car give signal and advance notice to overtake, the biker must horn at them and make sign langauge. 3. IMHO, think bikers should just stay off from lane 1. So what if you are capable of 150Km/h at gear 1 on lane 1? you're just putting yourself at much greater risk than a car driver. 4. On NSH, how often do you see bikers dashing on lane 1? If it is, most likely it is a Singapore bike. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 1. Sorta of stopping ridding after seeing how bikers and cars behaved on our roads. 2. I don't understand the followings perhaps you guys can comments: a) Why bikers like to ride on the side of the road divider. It is dangerous to me. I only ride at the center of the lane and rarely attempt on the 1st lane. Bikes are small enuff to squeeze b) Why cars like to high beam or horn the biker infront who is rdding at the center of the lane even on a 2nd or 3rd lanes? It is not 1st lane after all. If the car wants to go faster, they can overtake on the 2nd or the 1st lane. Most of them dont have class 2 and are arsholes,unless the biker is slow poke la c) Why bikers must go infront or by the side of the cars at the traffic light junction? Not all of them are ridding a super bike and can sprint past all cars when the traffic light turned green. Is this biking culture, habitual or ego? Since they can squeeze,why not? Its bikers culture d) Some bikers don't like car to overtake them. I don't see why if the car give signal and advance notice to overtake, the biker must horn at them and make sign langauge. I dont see this with malaysian biker,even a swarm of them,no problem! Maybe Sg ego bikers 3. IMHO, think bikers should just stay off from lane 1. So what if you are capable of 150Km/h at gear 1 on lane 1? you're just putting yourself at much greater risk than a car driver. Lane 1 is for evertaking.Same applies for cars too 4. On NSH, how often do you see bikers dashing on lane 1? If it is, most likely it is a Singapore bike. Yes,Sg bikers...mostly superbike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 2. I don't understand the followings perhaps you guys can comments: c) Why bikers must go infront or by the side of the cars at the traffic light junction? Not all of them are ridding a super bike and can sprint past all cars when the traffic light turned green. Is this biking culture, habitual or ego? This is one bike practice that irritates me, even the traffic police is behaving the same. I always check my side mirror for bike squeezing to come in front if I am in pole position at the traffic light. I will then move the car forward to indicate that I don't like them to be in front or beside me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 I dont mine if they squeeze in front and gone with the wind,but what makes me boil is when you are already in front and wanna go straight,the lane is for straight or turn right and got one bike squeeze in from left to turn right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 (edited) i ever asked my rider friends b4.actually when riding behind a vehicle will feel more dangerous for them.thats why usually they go ahead 1st without/lesser cars in front of them.as a bike is much smaller than a car,the impact is very bad if they collide at the rear of the car.thats why they usually wish to go ahead and try not to stay behind of a vehicle.as some drivers like overtake without signals,no check blind spot etc... funny thing is they squeeze lane also got people comment,they queue up in lanes also got people complain. Edited March 17, 2007 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 for me it was the opposite.... main reason why i took up biking was because my school was >30km away and it would take approx 1:45 to get there one way. The next day after my final exams, i sold off my bike. I was too poor to afford a car then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 U used to be a rider ??? I think you really open up the can of worms...If not for the fact that I do not want to get myself into trouble for knocking down a rider....I would probably knock down a few a day.....Riders seeing this may say I am the idiot driver !!!!! But during a traffic jam....you just want to go between my front and the car in front of me without considering if I am going to move off....And if I let one of you move in between....hundreds would just follow thru....if riding a bike is a form of cheap transpot...my two thumbs up....but if riding a bike is because you can squeeze thru the traffic because other wake up at 7am and you can wake up at 7.30am then I think something is very wrong.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 maybe LTA should make a motorbike lane specially for bikes... just like bus lanes.... eventually bikers will get tired of that and sell off the bikes... no bikes... drivers don't complain.... if i m not wrong, Guangzhou ban bikes already right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 maybe they can do like what they doing by creating a path to connect the parks in singapore together?? i think so ,i went recently didnt see any bikes...only cars,bus,lorries and alot bicycle.but if we go there drive...can vomit till die.our traffic culture cant suits them one. or rather theirs cant suit us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 Do you know that in China, if a driver were to knock u down, they will rather kill u than to injure u? If they find that u are still alive, they will make sure they run u over n over again until u die. This is to prevent long term compensation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Author Share March 17, 2007 i ever asked my rider friends b4.actually when riding behind a vehicle will feel more dangerous for them.thats why usually they go ahead 1st without/lesser cars in front of them.as a bike is much smaller than a car,the impact is very bad if they collide at the rear of the car.thats why they usually wish to go ahead and try not to stay behind of a vehicle.as some drivers like overtake without signals,no check blind spot etc... funny thing is they squeeze lane also got people comment,they queue up in lanes also got people complain. 1. Not quite. If you're those patient biker, you probably will stay behind and keep a safety distance. 2. Not that I look down on a certain profession, They are probably always in the hurry, suqeeze between lanes, stop infront or by the side of cars at traffic light junction. 3. As a leisure biker, I will stay off from 1st lane, ride at the center of the lane. Whats the hurry anyway? Sometimes I have to overtake because can't stand those exhaust from the taller vehicles. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 ya i heard too that when was there.somemore they dont have any rules one.who come out 1st means who go 1st.even people crossing on road also heck care one.who block the road awhile,cars behind keep horn.cant imagine if its in sg. sure sio pa one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Author Share March 17, 2007 (edited) for me it was the opposite.... main reason why i took up biking was because my school was >30km away and it would take approx 1:45 to get there one way. The next day after my final exams, i sold off my bike. I was too poor to afford a car then. No problem with ridding a bike . You have your own valid reasons. We are discussing about biking behaviour on our roads. During old days, I used to cycle from Chinatown to my school at Changi. Regards, Edited March 17, 2007 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 (edited) I'm an ex-rider too. I agree that these are bad habits. I'm guilty of them too. But nothing else matters when you're riding a nice bike. must have more safety awareness though. I dun take bike as a transport. It used to be a strong passion but died down a bit. Will definitely get a harley after i retire, if my old body still can tahan the vibration. Edited March 17, 2007 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 in China, even if the traffic light is in favour of the pedestrains...the cars also no give way one...funny system there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 17, 2007 Author Share March 17, 2007 U used to be a rider ??? I think you really open up the can of worms...If not for the fact that I do not want to get myself into trouble for knocking down a rider....I would probably knock down a few a day.....Riders seeing this may say I am the idiot driver !!!!! But during a traffic jam....you just want to go between my front and the car in front of me without considering if I am going to move off....And if I let one of you move in between....hundreds would just follow thru....if riding a bike is a form of cheap transpot...my two thumbs up....but if riding a bike is because you can squeeze thru the traffic because other wake up at 7am and you can wake up at 7.30am then I think something is very wrong.... Could be occuptional hazard. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 thats why i mean we cant determine out of majorities.not all have such thoughts.see...u're the minority with such attitude which is good.what i saying is most drivers seem condemn riders.squeezing lane,they also comment,when not,also comment and complaint.donty u think so too???road is for vehicles and about safety.just drive with care and patient.patient is a virtue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 17, 2007 Share March 17, 2007 but 1 thing is they very seldom swear and curse.maybe get use liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...