Mikeyeo Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 (edited) [reply]Hi bro, I am thinking of getting the side blind sport mirror to fix onto the side mirrors, just wondering is it very helpful? And can it can also use for parallel parking like help you to see the kerb? Thanks Hi Redcafe10, I have been driving for over 30 years and I do understand the problem that you or your wife faces. I always believe that it's better safe than never. I always have a rectangular curve mirror (there are 2 sizes but get the bigger and don't use the round one as it is very distorting) and stick it on the bottom left of the left door side mirror. I install it to all my cars because my wife would be able to see the kerb or line on the left. Without it, one has to fiddle with the mirror switch in order to see them. Another advantage of the rectangular mirror is it enables the driver to have a wider view angle than the side mirror. Also, only certain more expensive cars would come with the side mirror that has a built-in wide angle mirror. Although some members said that after several trial and errors, one would be able to judge mentally. As for me, I also find it very useful as I could see the side without having to adjust the side mirror. Even if you don't need it, I believe that your wife will definitely find the rectangular mirror very useful. You don't need one for the driver side mirror as you are able to see the floor level. Remember the location that I mentioned above. Also one important point to note is that the rectangular mirror 2 ends curvature are different, one to see further and the other nearer. Get your wife to seat on the driver seat and you flip the mirror with the length same as the side mirror until she gets the right angle. Only then will you remove the sticker on the self-adhesive tape and stick it onto the side mirror. I hope that the able will help you to determine which and how to install and yet your wife will find it easy to park. Edited April 7, 2007 by Mikeyeo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 Your side mirror got heating?My fren's blind spot mirror keep dropping becos of heating. the BS mirror on my kangoo never dropped off, even tho my mirrors were heated maybe he never clean the mirror properly before pasting it on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 I have seen this mirror being abused on the road. The driver was applying makeup with it while driving... Moving at 40km/h in the middle lane and zig-zagging like nobody's business during peak hour. Very scary. I had to wait for road to widen to 4 lanes to overtake... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 No idea... Can't find out now, since he changed to a car without heated mirrors... :) The mirrors very useful for vans eh? Now I switching to car, I oso need to find replacement liao. Kenna spoilt by the sense of assurance of knowing where your rear tire is.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silveratenza Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 bro silver atenza///how come havent update your avatar with your mazda 6 with the sports grille ? Bro, I was informed by JDM that the grille has just arrived few days back and they have sent for spray painting. Should be installing this coming week. Will update you with new pics when done up. So how's life? Been raining heavily these few days, haven't wash my ride for 2 weeks liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan78 Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 It's up to individual preference... some just prefer turning their head... But most people din know the correct way to use it, and also the correct position to place them at... (i'm talking about those small ones)... I previously also had much confusion with them... 1) Blind spot mirrors should rightfully be placed on the lower inner edge of your main mirror... 2) Blind spot mirrors aren't meant for the same purpose as your side mirrors. And there is no need to stare into them. If placed correctly as mentioned above... you only need to glance in it, as long as you see something in it, it means something is in your blind spot... Most people find it confusing as they tend to stare into it, when actually if there is one vehicle in your blindspot... you will see that it "big" as it covers most of your blindspot mirror... and please, dun bother trying to use the blindspot mirror to gauge how far the vehicle is cos it is simply too small... Hope above info is useful.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blues Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 hi all just read your posts, very insightful where can i buy a 360-degree turn blind spot mirror? i've seen the small round ones that stick on our side mirrors but a 360? also, where is a good place to shop for car accessories? besides autobacs? it is located on the west of singapore. most time i'm on the east plan to get a wide rear mirror before collecting my car thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Hi bro, I am thinking of getting the side blind sport mirror to fix onto the side mirrors, just wondering is it very helpful? And can it can also use for parallel parking like help you to see the kerb? Thanks If u r used to drive without blindspot mirror, then dun buy, but when changing lane, must turn head to check blindspot. The blindspot mirror is indeed good for seeing the kerb or parking line and for checking if there is any car at the blind spot. I believe if you put the blindspot in the correct position, there is no need to turn head to check. I got the blindspot mirror. I put myself on trial, everytime i see a car in my blindspot mirror i quickly turn my head and there... true enuff there is a car .... I am still doing the trial myself now... i am only worried about motorbikes as they are very 'slim' ... the blindspot mirror may not be able to capture it... but it is indeed good for parking.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamer Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Personally, I think the blindspot mirror is pretty much a hoax. Not really that useful. Have to agree that it does help when doing parking to gauge where your tires are when near the kerb. But, as mentioned, this can be countered by adjusting your mirrors accordingly. The blindspot mirrors have also caused much inconvenience as it blocks off some of your view in your side mirror. Maybe just need some getting use to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pathfinders Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 I used the small little round so-called blind spot mirror before, kinda useless imho. I used it as a parking mirror instead. Now i'm using Prova Mirror, but not easily available here i think, but it is far better than the stock mirror. It's similar to the Twister Mirror. http://www.entrustauto.com/dir-html/product.html#mirrors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongyong Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 I've been using it because in a van, you don't have a window to check your blind spot with.But I have found it so helpful in parking (it tells you exactly where your right rear tire is), I find myself having difficulties parking with it when I drive my sister's Rio or rental cars in US. US's parkinh lot so wide..dun need to reverse parking..head in can liao...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Your side mirror got heating?My fren's blind spot mirror keep dropping becos of heating. I hope this isn't too late or will come in useful... If anyone is going to use anything stick on like double sided tape, the trick is to use a hairdryer to heat the section first (be careful not to melt anything) and while its hot stick the item on. It won't drop after. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 oh yes, indeed u have to get used to it, because it takes up part of the side mirror viewing area... normally the side mirror is adjusted in such a way, when u r comfortably sitting at the driver seat , u turn yr head slightly to see the side mirror (i am talking abt driver side), u will be able to see a little of yr car body. And if the side mirror is in this position, then there is no way the side mirror is going to cover the blindspot area. What we can do is to use blindspot mirror, get those which can turn one.... u turn and turn.... u will come to a point that u can see the blindspot... there... u have it.... Alternative u can of coz adjust the mirror outwards, u can still see the blindspot area... but area which is very near to yr car body u wun be able to see... if u r comfortable with that, then ok... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordlonewolf Clutched August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 Guys , singapore roads are so pack and the distance we had to keep to the front cars are quite close especially during peak hours in the morning and evening . I too did not believe in blind spot mirror until i got into an accident . *When i was about to change lane near the PIE speed cam towards changi , i turn to check my blind spot for a milisecond and at lane 1 , the traffic infront of me came to an E-stop . I reacted immediately but wasn't able to stop in time and veri veri slightly dented the front taxi and chip a little of its taillamp .* LESSON LEARNT = $500 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordlonewolf Clutched August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 Equip with this mirrors ( should be placed at inner bottom side - not to block yr view ) , i am able to spot motorcyclist zipping in and out of lane , which i presume not possible with yr rear view mirror AT THE MOMENT you change lane .I dun see u need to see u need to be big cos when u spot something that is not road , u better double check again .] Always see alot of vehicle near miss with motorcyclist in the morning . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 Talking about safety and avoid kissing the ass of the car in front of you... the best way is to keep a safety distance. Sad to say, when u keep a safety distance, always got car take advantage of the space and cut in... so i just slow down a bit and reestablish that safety distance again. To some ppl, keeping that safety distance means road hogging. U kissing the taxi in front... cannot really blame for the lack of blindspot mirror as i believe yr safety distance is not enough, if not.. then u r taking too long to turn yr head and check the blindspot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blues Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 agree, especially when drivers here always take advantage and they don't even signal their intention to cut in sometimes truth is, to drive safely here also means to drive slower and must always give way of course, drivers with quick reflex can always go for the rush Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbiegetz Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 i also want to buy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...