Chewy Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 Currently driving an auto car. Want the power in a WRX but not used to driving manual. But auto is about 8k more than the WRX manual. Is it worth the extra cost if I get the auto WRX? Maintenance and cost of ownership any difference? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 I shd say this is one of the best value turbo charged automatic at the moment. You pay less rd tax than the 2.5l manual. Maintenance for turbo cars are slightly higher than NA cars in general. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Author Share April 15, 2007 is it possible to test drive a WRX? LOL! After the mx-5 saga i dunno if it's allowed nowadays. should i get from MI or PI? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy80 Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 insurance for rex will kill me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Author Share April 15, 2007 why? you new driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zealot Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 you may want to consider a cheaper turbo such as colt-r. compared to wrx auto its more theb 10k cheaper and without the subaru tag the insurance is cheaper. and just like the auto wrx both cars will kena tear by manual wrx.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcraze 1st Gear April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 the insurance for WRX is rather high. did you take note of that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Author Share April 15, 2007 currently driving the colt plus turbo. for 2.0L how much is the road tax? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewy Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Author Share April 15, 2007 how much is that per annum? 4k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silveratenza Neutral Newbie April 15, 2007 Share April 15, 2007 Annual road tax for 2L is about 1.5k while 2.5L is 2.2K plus... For that WRX auto price, it's really a great buy to enjoy good performance and handling. In fact, 2.0 Auto WRX is more powerful than the manual 2.5 one if you look at the specs and 0-100 is probably like a second slower only. Insurance premium although will be higher than your present one, but is lower compared to manual 2.5 version. Although you get more kick from the turbo in manual mode (which most people would suggest here), but auto can be quite fun too. Look at it as a smaller version of LegacyGT... If you can afford it and only like auto driving, this is a good buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 The downside to the auto box is the feasibility of monster mods. You'll be limited to about 260- 270 whp which is about the max the box can take reliably. If you're thinking of more like those 350 whp monsters.... you can forget about it. Although the 2.0 stock WRX engine can still about manage to hold such power, the autobox cannot take it. If you don't intend to do much to it.... then I think its fine. Or you can always do a manual convert later on.... when you get absconded by the dark side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 If you are already driving a Colt Plus Turbo, then going into WRX (A) is a good choice. It had AWD. I am also looking into it but it is 8k more than manual Don't understand why an auto box cost so much..... By the way, can anyone advise how much is the OMV for WRX 2.0 (A) and the old WRX 2.0 (M)?? I also lazy, would rather drive auto turbo car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 I don't think the stock wrx engine and manual transmission can take hold that much power 350whp reliably ... that's why there is the STI ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 The Wrx engine is actually quite hardy. Its already been done for quite a few. Its a matter of tuning. Running 1.5 bar is about as much as the stock WRX engine can take.... maybe abit more if you'd wanna push it. Anymore and there'll be need for forged internals and closed/semi-closed deck, etc.... of course, you'll need auxilary cooling means.... In fact, it's been fedback that the 5-Spd manual cannot handle high toque/power.... and some change to the Sti's 6 spd. But its been done before, for the 5-spd to hit the 350 whp. It a matter of tuning as I mentioned before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 Most people do it for the fun of it. In Singapore, I don't thing we need a 350BHP engine power for pulling a car the weight of a WRX. 95% of the time, we don't have chance to use all those power. Maybe over weekend in Sepang....... Any car below 8 or 9 sec from 0 to 100km/hr is good enough here. Rex stock manual we are talking about less than 5.5 sec.....too much power, and that is why a lot of car is wrapping up trees Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 What you say is true to a certain extent. But to get the 5.5 sec to 6 sec 0-100 km/h for a stock WRX, you'd have to do a launch which is not good for the tranny. Imagine if you can just move off w/o dumping clutch, then floor the accelerator when in gear 2 or 3 and still get 5 secs for the century sprint. Or say when cruising at 90km/h and you wanna overtake fast... the stock TD04 doesn't pull that good at higher rpms. Mid to high end power is good for over-taking along the Malaysian single lane roads which're clogged up with trucks and slower moving vehicles. e.g. going up the coastal route to Trengganu. Not only just good for Sepang/PG... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 http://www.pro-fuzion.com/pics/dyno.jpg Ok... this one is considered extreme liao.... but the stock engine can tahan hor..... about 400 whp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2007 Share April 16, 2007 is it possible to test drive a WRX? LOL! After the mx-5 saga i dunno if it's allowed nowadays. should i get from MI or PI? you can test drive any turbo charged cars in MI as long as you meet certain criteria, eg i remember u need 50% NCD and a min age requirement. anyway, i manage to test drive the forester turbo previously, POWER! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...