Tutors getting private bankers pay

Lendevear

Copied from sunday times

From $220 monthly takings to $20,000

In the first three months of becoming a full-time tutor, Mr Phang Yu Hon earned a mere $220 monthly from his one student.

Now, the physics tutor has close to 90 students and earns about $20,000 a month.

The 41-year-old gave up his research engineer job after four years at the Ministry of Defence in 1994 and decided to tutor full-time.

'I had been giving part-time tuition and found I had a flair for teaching,' said Mr Phang.

He said it is not uncommon now for an entire extended family of children to attend his sessions.

'Word gets around and, year after year, cousins, siblings, the whole family, they come back to me for tuition,' he said.

Mr Phang has turned one of the rooms in his three-room Bishan flat into a mini-classroom, with desks, chairs and a whiteboard.

On weekdays, he gives lessons from 7 to 9pm.

Weekends are packed with classes from 12.30 to 9pm.

Until two years ago, MrPhang was 'running around the island' giving individual one-on-one sessions.

'Group tuition can be achieved only by tutors who have reached a certain degree of stature and experience,' he said.

'When I started, I gave individual sessions, driving around Singapore like a taxi driver.'

The full-time tutor of 14 years was a Raffles Institution student.

He graduated with first-class honours in electrical engineering from the National University of Singapore.

She makes study a fun ride for students

With her help, 95 per cent of her students score As - in maths and science.

And every top student in her tuition groups is rewarded with a ride in her 'cool' two-door Renault convertible.

Ms Laura Oh, 26, is a Nanyang Technological University materials engineering graduate turned full-time tutor. She specialises in maths and science subjects from primary to junior college level.

A private tutor for the past 10 years, she now takes home a 'substantial five-figure salary' each month.

She believes her popularity derives from selling more than knowledge. 'It's a whole package - friendship, values and customised assessment material,' she said.

Ms Oh has about 80 students under her charge: 15 come for one-on-one sessions and the rest for group tuition.

She is so popular that there is a queue of 31 students waiting to join her classes.

One parent, she recalled, even rang her every two days to check if there were any vacancies for her son.

Ms Oh, who is single, is also a shrewd businesswoman. She has 10 full-time tutors working for her. Very often, students attend lessons at her Loyang condominium unit.

Otherwise, she goes to students' homes.

While she said tuition 'is now a necessity because everyone is so competitive', she feels a good tutor helps a student shorten the learning process so as to hit 'his peak'.

Ever energetic, she has also written a series of children's stories revolving around the adventures of her and her dog, titled Laura And Chester.

The stories involve maths and science concepts, told in a fun way.

Maths guru 'saves' kids

A poster in the room at Goldhill Centre reads: 'Miss Loi's temple, enter and be saved.'

Joss Sticks is the name of Ms Celine Loi's tuition centre, where at least 20 students walk in every weekend to work on their maths. The full-time tutor of eight years has about 80 students under her charge now, each paying $60 a lesson.

The maths guru earns a five-figure monthly income from tutoring. News of her centre spread by word of mouth and also through her website (www.exam papers.com.sg).

The interactive webpage of the 33-year-old, who is single, is laced with humour. For example, students can avail themselves of her services for the 'effective prevention of last-minute Buddha foot-hugging syndrome', a Chinese idiom for last-minute exam cramming.

Ms Loi also sells exam papers at about $60 a subject on her site.

The maths graduate from the National University of Singapore has at least 10 students on her waiting list now.

She also has no qualms in 'sacking' any student. 'I tell those who refuse to work hard and do not need tuition not to come back,' she said.

Her 'favourite' ones are those with an F9 grade. Every year, a month before the final exams, Ms Loi gets SOS messages from at least 10 such students.

'I had students who scored less than 10 marks for their preliminary exams and ended up with an A in the O-level exams,' she said.

Ms Loi typically has a 3 to 10pm workday. On school holidays and weekends, she works from 8am to 10pm. But when the exams draw nearer, she works past 11pm at times.

'Sometimes, I get gastric pains because I don't have time for meals,' she said. 'I also don't have much personal time.'

Anyone in MCF doing full time tutoring also earning 5 digits income? Share ur trade secrets leh!

Edited by Lendevear

I used to tutor that time too, when I was 18...good money...At one point I had 21 students, and that time, had a monthly of $2800sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Man....I shld go back to tutoring liaolaugh.giflaugh.gif

siao liao.. IRAS going to spot check. [laugh]

they declare 80% or so, why will IRAS spot check? [sly]

of course those who dun wanna declare, wanna keep low profile and pretend to be "unemployed" won't consent to interview la [lipsrsealed]

it's a common fallacy for people to think that tutors earn high pay. Yes, to hold it as a PT job to earn an extra $100-200 a month is good but to do it FT and earn a decent living is quite challenging

My wife is a full time private tutor and she has to work everyday just to earn a couple of thousands (4 figure median range lah). There are no CPF or any medical benefits. during lull periods like sch holidays, you basically earn nothing.

Also, lotsa people think that being a tutor is simply going to the kid's house and sit there for 2 hours. In reality, it's not so simple. A good tutor has to plan the subject syllabus to go in line with school curriculum. Parents now are also very demanding, if the kid's results don't improve, the tutor is replaced. But if you show that you can deliver, then the parents are willing to pay. My wife has a student who studies in Australia but comes back to SIN during every school holidays. The mum is willingly to pay $360 for 4 lessons. Not bad huh. But this is more of exception than norm.

Also, my wife's fees are more affordable as compared to those Star Tutors featured in the media. Why? Cos not all students come from well-to-do families and being in the education line, there is always a moral dilemma between your own financial gains as opposed to helping your students. Do you turn away a needy student becos they can't pay your fees?

Sometimes, i do nag at wifey for being too kind..... hahahaha... cos if she charge higher, we can stay in condo and drive convertibles leow.

But seeing the joy beeming in her eyes when she invites the students over to our house for festive gatherings and realising how close their relationships are, i guess these are the intangible "benefits" which money not able to replace.

Edited by Altivo

Think it really take years of building up a reputation and of course you must really be able to teach. Something so lacking in teachers now-a-days. Lastly, I see car is also 1 of the more important thing too.

i paid for all my uni expenses (excluding school fees [laugh] ) by giving tuition too

what mr phang said is true, once you hit the group tuition stage, you are big time. basically it is your own business, or whether you are making 100s or thousands or 10s of thousands, depending on how good you are loh, not just as a tutor but as an entreprenuer.

Mr Phang obviously got good brains (1st class in E&E is no play play) and good entrepurenurial skills. kudos.

Well, every job got its pro and cons.. your wife has the flexibility but not the paid leave and benefits. Btw, does your wife need to pay taxes?

Actually I was thinking if I charge $30 an hour and teach 4 hours daily, for 1 month, my pay is only $3600. Petrol, travelling time and "OT" not included.

Quite little right?

I think its quite difficult to teach beyond 4 hrs a day as sch usually ends at 3pm and if u start at 4 plus travelling, u might end at 10pm liaoz. Unless chiong during weekends.. quite siong oso!

Wonder how they earn so much??!!

Edited by Lendevear

those tutors earn much becos the students come to their house/centres, so can cut down on travel time. Plus they charge high fees leh. Also, these tutors have basically reached the auto-pilot stage. With their fame/reputation, every father, mother and son would come to find them whether or not their kids genuinely needs tuition. Students from good schools are particulary KS and would seek a tutor not becos they need one but rather to make themselves feel "at ease".

So with a long waiting list, these tutors can simply choose to "admit" students from good schools. Not much work is needed to coach them and since these students are more of less assured of good grades (based on their own merits), the tutors can then "up" their fees on the basis that good results are guaranteed.

Tata.... that's how you make money! Okay... i'm not taking credit away from them lah. But it's not difficult once the tutor achieve a certain degree experience. Just follow the way elite schools function where they admit only good students and your money is assured!!!!

And yes, my wife pay taxes lah.... IRAS don't play play huh!

there's only one trick - that's group tuition. Harvard MBA will tell you it's called scaling the business. you teach one by one teach until midnight every day ah [laugh]