Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 24, 2007 Share April 24, 2007 When I was waiting for my flight in Heathrow yesterday, saw something like this. Supposed to be some sort of charity. 1 ticket = 20GBP. Got bulk discount some more... Eg, 4 tickets = 70GBP. Winner gets to chose from a list of super cars, including DB9 and F430. Can chose left or right hand drive, and free delivery to anywhere in the world. Insurance for 6mth included too, if I never read wrongly... Was a little tempted to saw the least... But my luck in these things damn lousy one, so never buy... Somemore I only have 72p left at that time... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 20GBP is about 60 bucks SGD leh.. that's one pricey coupon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Author Share April 25, 2007 But it's for a chance to win a 'super car' mah... Not a Rex or Civic leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinichi21 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 this is something i wana know: if u win anything in sg, like toto or car from lucky draw. u got to pay the tax, etc right. but wat if u win something outside sg, let say u gamble in vegas, win a car or jackpot. then wat? u still pay the tax in sg or usa. i know if u win little, u can jus take it and bring it back like its nothing. but wat if u win big, like millions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilb Clutched April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 How to buy from Singapore? Interested here since it is for Charity. Winning a super car sounds wicked too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Author Share April 25, 2007 Not sure also leh... But I think you pay tax to the country that is hosting the lottery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Author Share April 25, 2007 Not idea leh... Din try to find out.... Take a flight and transit via Heathrow? Terminal 3 iirc.... Oh... One of the choice for prize not car... Cash = 90k GBP... But I think most of those car easily top that in value... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinichi21 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 sure not. hehehe. so if u win the f430, they jus ship it here and we dun need to pay anythin. the sg government will be furious lol. f430 there is 120k pound. convert shud be 360k sg. but hong seh sell it for 800k. where does the difference go lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 The difference is the 110% ARF, COE and registration fees that you need to pay before you can take it out of the port. Add in those, still got much difference? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinichi21 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 (edited) lol, i really duno. how to calculate that 110% ARF thing? registration fee for ferrari and normal car is different? so if win the car overseas how? lol and the thing is that 120k pound(360k sg dolar) f430 there is already included all those registration,tax, profit from dealer, shipment cost from italy, etc. u see.its not the basic cost. maybe the car basic cost only like 200k+ sg dolar. how can it reach 800k in the dealers lol. Edited April 25, 2007 by Shinichi21 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Author Share April 25, 2007 Maybe transport monkey see others have f430, buey song also want to have one... So tax the dealer/owner another f430... SGD 800k/2 = 400k close to 360k liao lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liveevil Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 no one has to pay tax for a windfall in sg. geee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 such lucky draw is held thru out the year... you can buy it when you do another transit.. not only in heathrow, but also other air port such as manchester, CDG-Paris and Dubai... I remember seeing the bently CGT at manchester a few years back. If you really want to win, buy Euromillion (1.50GBP per tix) or Lotto (1GBP) instead.. the winning is a few million pound... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 25, 2007 Author Share April 25, 2007 True hor... US Powerball Jackpot starts from USD10mil... But then, like I said, these kind of things I no luck one.... Must get my wife to buy... And the car lottery, money used to buy the tickets go to charity leh... At least that's what they say.... Maybe they also use to buy peanuts for ang moh monkeys.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched April 25, 2007 Share April 25, 2007 I think u still need to pay the tax for the car if u win. Which is quite high. What u win is like the sum of the OMV value of the car, u still need to include the tax etc of the car, not cheap! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 26, 2007 Author Share April 26, 2007 No idea.... But if sell off the car, can still cover the tax, + pay off existing loans, etc... But oh well. Never even buy the ticket. So chance to dream also dun have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 26, 2007 Share April 26, 2007 come one lar...even when we donate.. do we really donate for those that is in need? most likely we hope the "investment" will bear fruits.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie April 26, 2007 Author Share April 26, 2007 But knowing that the money is going those in need, feels better than if say the money go to buying peanuts for monkeys mah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...