95-octane could be best choice

Yaloryalor

95-octane could be best choice  

157 members have voted

1. 1.

• The result will not change my choice of petrol for my ride
    • I will "down grade" and change to octane-95..
    • I will up grade to octane-95
    • I will try to monitor and see if its true then decide..

I have always been using 98.thinking of switching to 95 due to the recent hike in prices.lol.is it ok for my Cefiro 2.0G V6?

u asking me?

i suggest u

1) check the cover to your fuel tank. usually there is a sticker stating the minimum RON u can use

2) Check the owners manual. it should be stated there. if it isnt, see 3)

3) call tan chong motors to kpkb..why u cant find the info [:p]

lol.ok.thks alot.will check the cover of my fuel tank later.i dun have the manual cos the car is my mum's.duno whr she throw the manual alr.anyway, thks alot.

My manual says use petrol with RON rating above 95 (Italian English) so don't know if 95 can or not, so use 98 lor. Also, though the petrol is rated at RON92, RON95 and RON98, how do we know what we pump into our cars has the correct rating and there is no impurities to degrade the rating (don't think the petrol is tested and rated at the pump)? For these reasons, I pump 98 lor. Actually, Petronas Primax 97 is best... cheap and good!

Yo Nero159, do assume u driving 159 then.

Its ok to go for 95.

I'm driving Alfa GT for almost 3 yrs. Never find the need to go 98. Power/smoother are all in the mind game.

My manual too says above 95. But I've never had probs since I've pumped 95 all along. I'm a believer of using what is good enough for the car. Anything higher or better will be waste. Also, save the money and spend it on better brakes and oil. Which will directly protect your car.

Also, I realize after testing so many patrols some time back, that Esso/Mobil 95 is still best for Alfa. If not, try it! Thoroughly recommended.. keke

Rgds

Then I think ignition control has more or less made it possible to use 95 but if you put the car to it's paces, then 98 is preferred. I think a track session would need it.

yep.. that one i would recommend as well. Unless u track it.. dun even bother to try 98.

Think its the same for most cars.. keke

Rgds

As many has mentioned, it is ultimately depends on the car manufacturers specification due to thier design parameters; and not which RON is better.

Some cars have very comprehensive specification eg.

1) Recommended fuel is RON 98 for optimum performance and fuel economy

2) Min. requirement is RON 95

3) RON 93 should only be used on 'no choice' basis but not recommended for long term use.

RON 98 for optimum performance and fuel economy

Fuel economy is measured by $/km traveled. With the higher price of RON98, it is very hard to get fuel economy with it. Hence it is correct to use RON98 for optimum performance but not fuel economy.

Clutched

Just follow the recommended octane rating in your car user manual. Cannot go wrong. Performance car uses high compression ratios to get more power, so need higher octane to prevent precombustion aka "knocking".

Power is limited by the maximum amount of fuel-air mixture that can be forced into the combustion chamber. Not the octane rating...

damn genie..why y have to spoil the fun?

Hahaha

Ok.. joke aside.. that is what i agree with genie as well. 98 can be used by all cars, but over long run, its not economical. That is the waste I'm talking about. Why pay more for something that meets beyond the specs of what your car needs.

All you need is to satisfy the min requirement.

In SG, Start/Stop traffic condition, its more important in getting good engine oil, brakes..etc to protect the engine then 95/98..etc..

again.. unless u go tracking.

Of course, unless u dun mind spurging.. please. .by all means.. go ahead.. :)

Rgds

We can always have fun. Just pay lor! But be careful because it might not be fun.

Examples:

Play stock market to have fun. Result: Hard earned retirement money burned and not actually fun.

Take $300 to casino to have fun. Result: Really have fun.

Take skateboard and play in MRT station. Result: Broke arm, pay hospital bill and then kenna charged for misdemeanor and then fined. Not fun.

Take skateboard and play and skate park. Result: Broke arm, pay hospital bill, no fine and laugh about it. Lots of fun.

Now for the really not funny scenario.

Buy RON98 to put into your daily driver car for fun. Result: Car spend time in stop start, idling for aircon and still reach work late. Not fun.

Buy RON98 to put into your performance car to PG to have fun. Result: Car and you made personal best and you have fun.

laugh.gif

damn damn damn... maybe let you drink 95.. then it will be more fun lah... keke

the part on traffic jam is true.. it juz feel like pee-ing away 98 down the road.... :(

Edited by Madsumm

I am driving Accent. The recommended is 91 RON and I have been using 92 RON since I got my car more than 2 years ago. So far no problem.

I tried V-power once for 5 tanks and honestly I can't tell the difference. If the car is not tuned to accept higher RON, then premium petrol is a waste of money.

If you're not heavy right footer, 92 is the best your Accent can travel on.