Accident Procedure in Msia

Spezlezz

Anyone noes what is the accident procedures when you meet with an car accident in Msia?

Do we need to make a police report there?

Does the procedures differ for the different insurance companies?

Tks a lot

Depends on you accident with Singapore or Malaysia car.

If only Singapore cars w/o injury, suggest you ask every party to make police report or to insurance company asap when back in Singapore.

If got Malaysian cars involved, that's it liao... Malaysian police will "hum tum" you with RM$300 first whether u at fault or not. Seldom Malaysian cars get fined by their police. You should report to Singapore Traffic Police or insurance company when you back in Singapore.

if its the MY car getting involved and if you're not at fault, get as much $$$$ as possible from the other party and gei gei tell her/him that you don't want to waste time on reporting to polic. then make a bee-line to the MY tp station for the accident and the report. do keep in mind you need to pay for the accident report. oh, better bring along someone who speaks and reads malay as the report will be written purely in malay and you will not need to wait forever to be served.

of cos you still report to the local insurance firm when you make the trip back home safe.

all the above from personal experience!

Wow, looks like it's a No WIN-WIN situation if kena accident in Msia [:/]

I presume the local insurance will surely make a claim against our own motor insurance policy [:(]

In my opinion, I disagree with this approach. Becos:

1. You are in another person's territory whereby you are outnumbered anytime

2. The driver may not be the owner. Could be stolen car or some syndicate. These accidents may be staged also. You neva know.

3. Safety first. You neva know wat may happen to you if the other party has a gang waiting for you somewhere else

I still prefer to report to MY police. At least you have a higher chance to go back to Singapore alive.

For accidents with MY cars, I suggest you make OD claim if you have Comprehensive policy. Leave it to your own insurance company to recover the repair costs from the MY insurance company.

If you tried to be "smart" by claiming TP, you may have to wait long long...MY insurance always take their own sweet time. Still got the jurisdication issue also. Some people claim 3 years still not settled yet.

If got Malaysian cars involved, that's it liao... Malaysian police will "hum tum" you with RM$300 first whether u at fault or not. Seldom Malaysian cars get fined by their police. You should report to Singapore Traffic Police or insurance company when you back in Singapore.

R u sure?? D summon is issued 2 d guilty party. Usually, MY police will advice u not to make report unless necessary. However, it is safer 2 make a report because it is an offence not to report.

My friend's car burn into flame when in malaysia.. He went frm 1 police station to another.. No police want to help him make report .. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I called up the motor insurance.

They advise to make a police report and then inform the insurance company with the report when you're back in SG. [:/]

Sometimes it is also tough to settle on the spot oso [:(]

i never advised anybody to be fierce and demand the $$$ settlement. instead you still play the innocent poor little kid trick. like your dad, wife, boss, or whoever, is going to kill you when you return to sg. so all you want is at least some cost sharing to have it repaired back home. (try to imagine your the MY driver!)

usually the other party will quite likely suggest you follow her/him to have it fixed to her/his workshop or , but then you have to play smart ass by claiming you would love to, yet you're rushing back home for some work or whatever. again, playing innocent is just the shield, the true intentin is to get as much $$$ from the other party. then go to tp station afterwards!

if the other party plays tough boy, then you just call it a day and go straight to tp station.

once again, all from personal experience!

Edited by Muwrx

In my opinion, I disagree with this approach. Becos:

1. You are in another person's territory whereby you are outnumbered anytime

2. The driver may not be the owner. Could be stolen car or some syndicate. These accidents may be staged also. You neva know.

3. Safety first. You neva know wat may happen to you if the other party has a gang waiting for you somewhere else

I still prefer to report to MY police. At least you have a higher chance to go back to Singapore alive.

Yah some times accidents are staged they may extort $$$ or worst hijack. So minor ones just move on unless a lot ppl around