I nearly killed a cop....

Deel

enough of the name calling exercise dude, your 'precedent' easily distinguished, i don't see how the court will have no trouble concluding that, especially it is a traffic light controlled t-junction. esp from para 7 of the judgment you quote, 'When a court apportions contributory negligence, it is apportioning what it thinks were the blameworthiness for the accident, and any finding of that nature must depend on the circumstances of the individual case.' the court is not setting a precedent, there is no definite apportionment of contributory negligence. My point is, if i did not slow down as you claim, i would have mowed down the poor cop! And my point of me letting my vehicle cruise, was stated in the very first post. You can say my way of driving is wrong, but as i mentioned, and as i always practice, traffic light: let car cruise, foot off accelerator, prepare to stop. I am just highlighting a dangerous practice, and i hope the traffic police can address this.

I certainly agree with you. This driver should kena demerit points for not slowing down upon approaching junction. Very dangerous driver!!!

yeah, i won't get demerit points for not slowing down coz i wasnt in an accident. When that happens to you and you knock into someone, i will be the first to laugh at u..

[laugh] Very Simply, TS is exaggerating to convince authorities that TP cause injuries to him...hmm... if TP acknowledge fault, does TS have a legal case against gahmen for causing injuries??!

Ai ya... one sided story nia... who knows what really happen [lipsrsealed][laugh] .

I only believe if there is a witness to proof what he complain is not distorted. [laugh]

People who complain often write nice stories and claim themsleves to be right [shakehead] .

Must wait to see what the TP writes about this incident... [laugh] must be very different la... [sly]

nope no injuries and no claims at all... just hope that TP can acknowledge that they will exercise their discretionary actions with due care and attention to other motorists..

[nod] The important thing is no one is injured..But like u said, going from your facts, there should be a better way of doing things.

oh dear president... but i got pay road tax... president travelling also dunnit to put my life in danger ma... president cannot wait for traffic light? want to block road also block in advance, dont juz swerve n stop in front of me when i travelling ma...

You see... That is why....

The reason is becos you pay road tax, he dun... [laugh]

lol.. no wonder.. [laugh] usually those who nv pay road tax got more protection from authorities, like cyclists, pedestrians ....

don't you realize there are so much complaints about policeman, cabbies ETC ETC?

he and the other kitten should just go ahead complain to relevant authorities and not inviting flaming here if they can't accept what others comment.waste time waste bandwidht.Period.

From one thread to another....tsk tsk... [shakehead]

I'm telling you this for the second time. I don't have to 'go ahead and complain'. I have complained to the relevant authorities as advised by some MCFers. Who's wasting bandwidth here? [rolleyes]

PS. This post just substantiates my inkling that you have some personal agenda against me.

The difference between the 'flamer' in this thread and you is that at least the 'flamer' in this thread provided some objective views regarding the matter, whereas you've contributed nothing but personal remarks.

Edited by Icekitten

To whom it may concern,

I was travelling on Tanjong Katong Road in the direction of Lion City Hotel on the 1st June 2007 at or about 1835H. At the traffic light controlled T-junction of Tg Katong Road and Dunman Road, the traffic lights were green in my favour, as seen from afar. My vehicle was travelling well within the speed limit on the right lane of the abovesaid road. There was an extended right lane for right turns and the lane was packed with vehicles, thus obstructing my view of the traffic from the perpendicular Dunman Road. When my vehicle was at the abovesaid junction, the lights were still green in my favour. When the full length of my vehicle was about to cross the stop line, a traffic police motorcycle shot out from the perpendicular Dunman Road right into the path I was travelling. He braked upon seeing my vehicle, raising a hand (in apology perhaps?). I had to jam my brakes in an emergency matter to avoid hitting the said motorcycle. My body lurched forward and hit the steering wheel. Thankfully, my vehicle managed to stop in time to prevent a collision, albeit less than a meter away from the said motorcycle. My heart jumped and I shuddering at the thought that I might have just killed someone or got involved in a serious accident had I not managed to brake in time. At this juncture, an escort team of several other traffic police motorcycles and a presumably escorted motorcar, of the number plate 'SEP 1' (I cannot be totally sure as it was travelling fast), passed by the abovesaid junction while the lights were against them. My vehicle was well across the stop line and in the middle of the junction.

These actions are a blatant and wilful disregard of road safety. Why should the life of a rule obeying ordinary road user be put into such jeopardy for the escort of a presumed VIP? This should be doubly condemned as it came from a public enforcement authority which has ROAD SAFETY under its purview. I fully understand the need for traffic police escorts. Section 114 of the Road Traffic Act (Chapter 276) fully legalises and provides for these actions to be taken by the police. However, such discretions should be properly planned to avoid minimal inconveniences and most importantly, pay attention to the safety of other road users. The Traffic Police should look into this matter. Police officers on the road are guardians of the other road users. I, for one, will not expect and want to see the Traffic Police to play the role of a menace on the road. Imagine preaching ROAD SAFETY on one hand, and putting other road users' lives in blatant disregard on the other, just because they are empowered to do so. I expect a reply from the relevant authority as soon as possible.

Thank you

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

darn traffic policeman, nearly made me kill him....

This is very normal. I have experienced it many times. The POlice Escort on the motorbike has got to be fst enough to stop traffic ahead so thatt he motorcade can have a smooth traffic flow for them to proceed.

When you are dealing with Ministers and VIPs, I don't think there is anything you can do about it. Just have to accept it & bear with it.

You are fortunate you kept to the speed limit and were able to brake in time - in the worst case scenario, I'll bet you will get the full weight of our wonderful S'pore law thrown at you for knocking down a police escort, especially if they can prove you were going above the speed limit. [furious]

That is why I have always emphasised this countless times. " PLEASE TRAVEL WITHIN THE SPEED LIMIT", even if 50km/h on a 3 lane rd with no cars in sight seems slow and crawling, this is the law whioch has to be obeyed

kindly refer to our guideline before you make another posting.

Thanks.

Forum Guidelines

To ensure a great experience for all of us and considering the diverse makeup of our community, there are certain forum guidelines to follow. There aren't too many rules, but please read through these before posting. Our friendly moderators will help to enforce these guidelines in the forum.

• Postings

• Slanderous, defamatory, obscene, violent, abusive, threatening and harassing comments will not be allowed.
    • Respect the viewpoints of others, even if you may not agree with them. Agree to disagree.
    • No profanity or obscenities of any kind.
    • No personal attacks on other users.
    • No political or racial comments will be allowed.
    • No impersonation of other participants or public figures.
    • No FULL CAPS postings. In internet, CAPS equates to shouting.
    • Refrain from posting information which is not publicly available.
    • No posting of number plates, unless it is your own. Respect others' privacy.
    • No copyrighted material is allowed. Please use links instead.
    • Please declare vested interest (if any) on the topic you are discussing
    • No multiple postings

That is a good one by the moderator.

Ok, we shall see whether there is any reply or outcome from this matter.

Edited by Ahsiong

Hi there,

Maybe he has forgotten that he might just met an accident or knock down.He also

expected that you should have on the look up rather than him.Take care.

Once i saw at hyaat hotel in orchard. TP siren at a taxi driver who was settling his passenger. The way he chase them was kinda rude like wanting to bang the taxi's rear. How long will it take for a passenger to alight? Somemore the taxi was infront the car porch. The VIP got off a the car porch. You can't do what u like in Singapore. You only can do what the gahmen like u to do.

Before the appearance of more like-minded flamers, I will like to reiterate some stands:

1. I was angry (who wouldnt?) at the point of time, but mere anger will not drive me to write in to the authorities. It has further implications, especially on road safety. I am fully aware that should the accident occur, I may be charged in court for killing someone, which is not what I want. I have a career, a family and a good number of years ahead of me, which should not be destroyed in a moment of rashness. The same goes for the policeman. I say again, I do not wish my face to come out in papers, because I kena charged, or in obituary.

2. I am fully aware that the police has the right to do this, I just want assurance and I am sure the public will appreciate that, when using their discretion in such circumstances, they will do it safely with due respect to all other law abiding motorists.

3. Public awareness of this should be raised, such that ppl can be prepared for such a scenario. A forum is a good place for people to learn and give constructive comments like most which I have received from fellow MCFers

Ai ya... one sided story nia... who knows what really happen lipsrsealed.giflaugh.gif .

I only believe if there is a witness to proof what he complain is not distorted. laugh.gif

People who complain often write nice stories and claim themsleves to be right shakehead.gif .

Must wait to see what the TP writes about this incident... laugh.gif must be very different la... sly.gif

I know that laugh.gif

hopefully the relevant authorities give her/him the favorable reply so she/he is happy lor.

sleeping.gif

Edited by Skyw4lker

If I were you, I will give him a loud horn. I don't care he police or not, but rush out suddenly with the traffic light against him and nearly causing an accident is wrong. And I will get out my car and tell him off.

If you langgar and kill him, he still get a full military funeral (with his family well taken care) so he die still never mind, but you will be under all kind of trauma. And who knows that you are innocent if you kill him?

Please write to the forum and ask what is their stand on this matter.

Edited by Starry