Flameevil Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) I would think it make most sense to enable OPC to drive all day on Sat...since the gov introduce the 5-day week to encourage more family time. That would also make Sat off-peak...since few have to work on Sat. u also hav to understand there are still ppl working on sats and sat is my fav day to work as the traffic is smooth(if OPCs are able to drive in sat morning, i tink even more jam packed than on weekdays actually)... if 100% of the coys in singapore supported the 5 days week, den i agree with u Edited June 8, 2007 by Flameevil ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jalibhoy Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 i wouldnt say its pathetic dont you need to adjust your lifestyle to fit circumstances? i have 2 kids, both infants. Pretty much a hassle to go here and there with 2 prams. SO buying a OPC car would definitely help me out going out over the weekends , just that i have to sacrifice my hours of sleep and rest in the weekdays, which does not bother me much cause i can use the extra 1 and 1/2 hours free to go gym and work out, surf net without my sons clinging around my neck etc took me only 20 mins to get to work, and 20 mins back, much better than those that crawl with the peak hour traffic. so why are u saying that those who sacrifice their time and adjusting to that kind of lifestyle "pathetic"? to me its always have been an advantage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harper Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 haha... maybe the tp see us push car will they come and help also?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyap Clutched June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 not sure abt doing any don't get caught. Just one time caught, it's game over, don't try & don't think about it..........there is no mercy from LTA on OPC offence, it's only how heavy the fine, up to $20K, it's for the Court to decide how much u pay the fine. Got heard from a friend, the fine is to pay on the spot! Can't pay, then go jail calculated $100 per day fine. Once jailed, your whole future is gone, on criminal record for jail & cheating garhment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 8, 2007 Author Share June 8, 2007 the fine has to be heavy, or else its not fair to those driving normal plate cars. with the increase in OPC, i believe the TP will be more on the ball when they see red plates moving around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memory Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Why bother.........as the saying goes 'mind your own business'. Its mere jealousy if we're reporting them...as the winners are still garmen.Agree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etcNot same. Reporting to TP is being a good citizen. Those who scratch ppl's car are vandalism. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 not testing the system mahsometime is just like dat mah nvm abt the washing of car issue cos the timing can choose 1 right? but shifting of car is due to wanna avoid bird sxxt mah if ur area alway full of bird sxxt bomber, will u wanna park there despite u r paying for season parking mthly? Birdsh*t consider good liao. My CP is open air type, sometimes got upgrading construction going on downstairs and a big truck will unload bricks, cement, sand, etc beside where I park. If don't shift immediately, think i won't be able to recognise my own car when I come home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Driving an OPC to work daily makes sense to some. The early morning journey is faster and takes shorter time to reach the workplace. Sometime I drive to work and I have tried reaching office before 7am and it is much quicker than when I try reaching at 9am before I switch to OPC. 20mins compared to 50mins-1hr. It also helps the environment because a lot of fuel are wasted in peak hour jam just to keep the engine idling and air-con running. Sometimes, I wonder if getting a car means more restrictions. I like to go to office early too. One of the reasons is to avoid traffic jams. If I leave home before 6:30 am, I can almost hit green light for all ten traffic lights along the way and I can reach office in 15 minutes -- all within the speed limit. Driving is a joy. After 7 am, the traffic gets worse by the minute. From 7:30 am to 9 am, it takes 30-45 minutes. Driving in start-stop-wait traffic is a chore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Maybe they purposely make it difficult to buy...so that some lazy OPC owner will just take the risk instead. The stupid paper coupon also another thing.........got once i too kan-chiong....torn the wrong date.......WTFFF..........cannot use liao. Another occasion, i tear the correct day and mth......after driving practically the whole of spore, then realise...waaaaaaaaa....year never tear out. bro next time tear wrongly oso muz tear dates tat haven pass or mths tat haven pass hor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Another occasion, i tear the correct day and mth......after driving practically the whole of spore, then realise...waaaaaaaaa....year never tear out. Congrats you earn $20 in future same day can use if not Sunday or P.H. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Supra Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Believe me, I have been asking myself the same qns also (why the hell doesnt the govt wanna do electronic tagging on OPC)I am a OPC owner and I dun flout the rules. At times I find tat it is damn troublesome just to go to the post office to buy the $20 coupon, why dun they just make the $20 coupons easily available(like our car park coupons) in shops like 7-11 etc etc. Yup, strongly agrees. Would be so troublesome travel to post office to get a $20 coupon where 7-11 is just few steps away from house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 of cos unfair. normal car pay 17K more than them, they have no right to be on the road during peak hours unless they have the coupons....if not juz another bunch of cheapos Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harper Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) that's what happened to my car the other day... they was re-painting the parking signs and had to "shave" away the top layer of the road... the next day i go down see my car like a sand storm just came pass... lucky my car not black... the black car beside me almost become grey already... :) actually, will prefer open type as compared to MSCP... as can't see the car and vandalism is more problematic for MSCP... seldom do cars in open car park vandalised... Edited June 8, 2007 by Harper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benphay Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 if ppl feel OPC is taking advantage becoz of the 17K rebate..then go buy one and drive lah..why need to be "red eye" here..no one ask u PPL to drive "NORMAL" car what..what bus lane adjusted to 8pm...i everyday go home take CTE..JAM until 11pm also very common..thats considered off peak or peak? give us OPC owners a break..the world is fair..we get what we pay for..OPC pay less drive less..NORMAL car pay more..drive more lor..drive from 7am-7pm non stop lor..make full use of your NORMAL status Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charliebrown 2nd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) Agree 100% Edited June 8, 2007 by Charliebrown Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) Why bother.........as the saying goes 'mind your own business'. Its mere jealousy if we're reporting them...as the winners are still garmen.Agree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etcNot same. Reporting to TP is being a good citizen. Those who scratch ppl's car are vandalism. [whip]Of course, of course...vandalism must be reported....cos it damages one's property. Edited June 8, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Wad u said very true, those red eye one shld juz buy themselves a red plate. Den they will noe the cons of owning a OPC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Why bother.........as the saying goes 'mind your own business'. Its mere jealousy if we're reporting them...as the winners are still garmen.Agree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etcNot same. Reporting to TP is being a good citizen. Those who scratch ppl's car are vandalism. Eh my ride got scratched by AD lor.. kns.. Can put up police report anot ah if its classified under vandalism. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...