Prius - I need help...

Arowana1

read the comments under the various Prius threads but insufficient info so now hoping for more info with this new thread.

1. any comments from those who test drove prius?

2. any comments from prius owners?

3. mileage achieved by prius owners?

4. bm dun reduce list price and dun give cash back. so what can i ask for? tried today and only got free solar film and this also is a "can be discussed" item. geez really high and mighty. also treat me as juz browsing type... hmm maybe i should dress better next time [:p]

5. anyone can recommend cheap and good se?

6. anyone can recommend good dealer to take in my harrier?

Edited by Arowana1

heard BM is promoting this car to taxi company leh.... better do homework before u commit...

and since you are driving a Harrier... u r ok with PI car right? u mignt want to consider PI's Prius... i think PI are more flexible on FREEBIE thingy...

happy shopping [cool]

primary reason is to reduce running cost and save more money for retirement. im expecting gahmen to slaughter the sacred cow soon so that will leave me with nothing from cpf at 55 (i probably be out of work at 50), and payout from 75!

how much savings from fc? i did 30,000km in 11 months at ave 9.5km/l for harrier. with rising fuel prices, hybrid looks like a good option, plus we should start going green or at least do what we can.

prius seems to have a lot of downside compared to civic hybrid except fc (e.g. cheap interior, not too nice shape, ugly gear stick, thin and squarish seat, not so good panels-rattles, body parts not readily available, etc). prius full ev is manual trigger and once petrol kicks in, u have to manual trigger again. to optimize, probably need to drive steady at under 45km/h. not easy to do. so im now considering civic hybrid.

downgrade or upgrade... whatever. when i got harrier, i never took it as upgrade from my latio. we should not let ourselves be guided by this factor, never! if i did, i would have gotten a bring more women car. thats is still the cars girls go ga ga over.

what is important is to do what one desires... the fun of suv has died so time to move on to something else but a normal petrol sedan dun look attractive unless it is 320i or is250 but fc is probably worse than my harrier.

Prius is purpose-build hybrid as compared 2 Honda Civic. In a sense that, @ low speed / no speed, it is fully driven by 2 electric motor. From stationery - 45km/h, it is purely electric power. On manual trigger u had mentioned, it is actually a switch on d dashboard that will totally switch off petrol engine. Tis is best in inner city traffic.

I drove b4 Honda Civic EP3 hybrid under HONDA DIRACC. D engine will not switch off when d ka is stationery. If u do kickdown, it will rev d engine. So, d assistance from electric motor is negligible.

Hope tis will help.

if i am not wrong, the first generation does have a bad interior quality but have u seen the new pruis?? i not sure does local agent does bring in the new pirus...

tink hybrid is the way to go [nod]... if got money, will want one, too [smash] ...... maybe more made/options will be available in the latter year [:)] ...just give yourself some time to decide, wichever you decide [sweatdrop] ... good for your pocket and good for mother earth... [thumbsup]

Edited by Symantec9

hmm i thot the one i saw IS the new prius. quite a let down in terms of build. went to check out civic hybrid juz now. solid build!

civic not true hybrid but most reports put prius slightly better in fc but at almost 20k more with poorer interior, civic looks a better bet.

now is waiting to see how much my ride can trade-in. dealers quote is >8k below what they list to sell outside. ouch. im gonna try direct sales.

If I were u I go for the Civic Hybrid.

But Prius has a longer history compared to the relatively new Civic Hybrid and warranty for the battery is 10 yrs compared to Civic's 3.

Go for the better offer whoever gives u. Your car's body alone should fetch a high price.

Good luck anyway.

photo_4.jpg

This should be the new prius... but civic hybrid is not really a hybrid car it just a normal car will smaller engine and 2 motors at the rear wheel to assist only....

primary reason is to reduce running cost and save more money for retirement. im expecting gahmen to slaughter the sacred cow soon so that will leave me with nothing from cpf at 55 (i probably be out of work at 50), and payout from 75!

how much savings from fc? i did 30,000km in 11 months at ave 9.5km/l for harrier. with rising fuel prices, hybrid looks like a good option, plus we should start going green or at least do what we can.

prius seems to have a lot of downside compared to civic hybrid except fc (e.g. cheap interior, not too nice shape, ugly gear stick, thin and squarish seat, not so good panels-rattles, body parts not readily available, etc). prius full ev is manual trigger and once petrol kicks in, u have to manual trigger again. to optimize, probably need to drive steady at under 45km/h. not easy to do. so im now considering civic hybrid.

downgrade or upgrade... whatever. when i got harrier, i never took it as upgrade from my latio. we should not let ourselves be guided by this factor, never! if i did, i would have gotten a bring more women car. thats is still the cars girls go ga ga over.

what is important is to do what one desires... the fun of suv has died so time to move on to something else but a normal petrol sedan dun look attractive unless it is 320i or is250 but fc is probably worse than my harrier.

Strange... [:|] want to save for retirement... but yet splurge on a car..... [:|] some more looking for cars in large segments.... [laugh][laugh][:|][sleeping]