1.4A getz or 1.6A getz??

Florinelee

haha i'm sure that she wont sacrifice the auto gearbox for manual.

ya...i also think so. Typical women's requirement. Hatchback + Auto Gear are manatory. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

hi fellow bros. i've decided to buy a Getz OPC and i intend to go to the car showroom this weekend. however, i still cant decide whether to get 1.4a or 1.6a. will have to carry full load usually (which means 5 adults including driver). the price difference between the 2 cars are abt $500 (i think.. anyone can cfm?) but im worried abt the FC. isit worth getting the 1.6 cos of the extra power and ABS? wad more difference are there b/w the 2 cars? also, wad freebies should i ask from my SE? thanks in advance for your advices! [sweatdrop]

Get the Getz 1.6. It has Airbag, ABS for just $500 more. Road tax different btw 1.4 and 1.6 OPC is rather insignificant. If you wanna install this, it will cost you more than that. Anyway Getz is a very armoured car with high tensile steel, unlike a japanese car (crumper zone). Go head on with a lancer and can see the lancer crush like a coca cola can, Getz at most bumper drop only. I rather the other car crumper and mine not even dented. Getz 1.6 manual is one of the fastest 1.6l car in singapore. It's engine is proven and design had won many awards too. [thumbsup]

a lancer roars only when u rev it up.

during normal driving, its actually quite ok. but definitely not up to toyota/nissan standards. but still acceptable hehe

hi fellow bros. i've decided to buy a Getz OPC and i intend to go to the car showroom this weekend. however, i still cant decide whether to get 1.4a or 1.6a. will have to carry full load usually (which means 5 adults including driver). the price difference between the 2 cars are abt $500 (i think.. anyone can cfm?) but im worried abt the FC. isit worth getting the 1.6 cos of the extra power and ABS? wad more difference are there b/w the 2 cars? also, wad freebies should i ask from my SE? thanks in advance for your advices! sweatdrop.gif

Get the 1.6. No need to think.

thumbsup.gif

http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/

Go head on with a lancer and can see the lancer crush like a coca cola can, Getz at most bumper drop only. I rather the other car crumper and mine not even dented. Getz 1.6 manual is one of the fastest 1.6l car in singapore. It's engine is proven and design had won many awards too. thumbsup.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bro, any car go head-on with another car sure crumple unless its a tank.

sweatdrop.gif

http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/

yah i understand all these.. lol.. i think im going C&C to try lancer also.. but im worried abt the servicing from C&C.. isit really that bad as rumoured? isit more expensive than others?

For C&C, you have to strictly send your car bk to them to service during the 3 yr warranty period and no major mods are allowed too, or your warrantyis void. They are very strict about this.

since ur going leng kee (assuming) maybe u can just walk around all the showrooms if u have the time.. might find something u like a lil more maybe?

my take is to try the kia rio h/b if ur keen on hatches.. not sure about the price tho..

AD servicing mostly high one lah.. unless u wanna void ur right to warranty.. bo bian lor..

after 3rd year can servicing outside since C&C is expensive and also after 3rd year then mod lor since C&C is very strict. [rolleyes]

Edited by Jl1500k

I do suggest you to visit the getz forums to have a feel of how the car is like with other getz owners.

I was a previous getz owner, one thing that I like about hyundai is that my routine servicing (for labour only) usually costs less than $100. This is because they do have the flexibility to allow you to use your own oil, sparkies..etc.

as for warrenty, I've claimed for busted driving shaft twice, steering rack and a variety of other things. But that was quite long ago. :P

Do take note the cost of maintenance (parts) as well.

So far I know my matrix, getz original oil filter in Singapore cost me $3-5. I wonder how much it is for others? [;)]

u sure about the sunny having good low end torque ? the weakness of the sunny engine is the poor low end torque, sunny only mid to high end is good. thats why my mom change from a sunny to a latio, and me having driven a lancer and sunny before, lancer have a better low end then sunny. but the sunny will fare better at the mid to high end as compared to the lancer.

To the threadstarter: if u do plan to get a sunny, don't get the auto version, the auto gearbox of the sunny sap alot of the engine power and its not that efficient. The lancer is also quite a good car, but only for the manual version, the CVT of the lancer have a very bad rubber band feeling. I have a friend who drove a getz 1.6(M), quite a good car, but if it was my money, i will still get the lancer/sunny option.

My 2 cents. [:)]

Maybe I drove the auto version that's way I feel it that way. Like wat u said the auto sap alot of the engine power. Maybe a manual model will make big diff I guess... Cheers.

hi fellow bros. i've decided to buy a Getz OPC and i intend to go to the car showroom this weekend. however, i still cant decide whether to get 1.4a or 1.6a. will have to carry full load usually (which means 5 adults including driver). the price difference between the 2 cars are abt $500 (i think.. anyone can cfm?) but im worried abt the FC. isit worth getting the 1.6 cos of the extra power and ABS? wad more difference are there b/w the 2 cars? also, wad freebies should i ask from my SE? thanks in advance for your advices! [sweatdrop]

Get the Getz 1.6. It has Airbag, ABS for just $500 more. Road tax different btw 1.4 and 1.6 OPC is rather insignificant. If you wanna install this, it will cost you more than that. Anyway Getz is a very armoured car with high tensile steel, unlike a japanese car (crumper zone). Go head on with a lancer and can see the lancer crush like a coca cola can, Getz at most bumper drop only. I rather the other car crumper and mine not even dented. Getz 1.6 manual is one of the fastest 1.6l car in singapore. It's engine is proven and design had won many awards too. [thumbsup]

The 1.6M still available? The 1.6M only comes in 3Dr version, not good for a family of 4/5. Nevertheless, it's a powerful car having test drive it previously. My suggestion is to go with a more powerful 1.6 instead of 1.4. Easier to sell next time also.

I'd strongly recommend the getz 1.6L. Reasons are as follows:

- By driving around in full load, ur 1.4L is very likely to drink more than 1.6L

- Yours is an OPC car, so road tax between 1.4L and 1.6L is about $100 diff/year only.

- Getz 1.6L is very powerful! [thumbsup]

Oh....u prefer a hatchback.....errrrrr....i guess u are a female bah. [:p]

By the way.....my OPC Lancer giving me 12-13km/ltr also. Old engine but reliable and proven.

Eh bro...dun like dat leh...i also prefer hatchbacks, but i'm not sissy hor [laugh]

I tried 180km/h with full load on my lancer on Ns highway not bad leh never floor can reach le but 5krpm... think was at that speed fora gd 3min [sweatdrop]

not really floating but ya engine quite noisy [sly]

At 5K RPM which engine is not noisy? [laugh]

I had the impression that lancer is one of the most powerful 1.6L jap cars out there with a rating of 10+ sec for century sprint. Wonder y u mentioned that ur low-end torque is not good. [shocked]