Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 Dear all, I am just curious whether anybody played golf here? What does handicap "(in golf terms) means huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 see u play against player or on overall par lor...like if u play against player,he lead u by 1..so u be on 1 down...if on the course overall par..the total number of par for 18 holes..u subtract the overall par..so like 120,50 handicap,overall par :70(course par) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 so chim... can make it simpler? don't understand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 like i play with u(a player) rite on this hole..i used 5 par to complete,u used 6.so i won u by 1..in term wise..i will say 1 up,u will say 1 down in handicap if play against golf course overall designated 18 holes..let say put it 70 total par to complete.u used 120 to complete it..so in words u on 120,50 handicap:70overall used ur 120 total need minus the designated overall par which is 70 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 Mean to say.. if initially agree on 70 par and i use 120 par to complete.. i handicapped 50 points right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penthousepauper Clutched August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 (edited) simply, it's a number that represents a golfer's ability to play golf. rightfully, a golfer would need to obtain a handicap by passing a test before he can start playing on a golf course. the golfer's handicap is adjusted by submitting his score card to the golf club, each time he completes a round of golf. some golf courses do allow players without a handicap (esp in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand). Edited August 24, 2007 by Penthousepauper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 OK...I'll attempt to make it simpler. Golf is scored by the number of times you hit the ball in order to get you ball into the 18 different holes. Inexperience golfer will usually take more stroke to complete the round hence the handicap. The total 'score' for the golfer will therefore be "Total number of hits" less "handicap". A pro on the other hand, don't have these kind of advantage. So if you play against them, your are technically in the lead by the number of handicap you have even before both of you hit a ball... Hope its simple enough... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 oh.. so a golfer will need to obtain a handicap before paying on the green? What is the name of the test? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 The test consist of basic of hitting the ball and more importantly, course ethics.... Basically, if you can show you won't ruin the golf course, you will pass... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penthousepauper Clutched August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 (edited) a handicap test. the test is usually conducted by the club in which the golfer has a membership. but, if he does not have a golf membership club, he can join Singapore Golfers Association, and SGA do conduct handicap tests and maintain their handicaps at a yearly nominal fee. Edited August 24, 2007 by Penthousepauper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 Wa.. You like that explain then i understand.. I am interested to play golf.. but i know nuts about the game.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 try go for some strokes..places like CDANS or Arena ..then go on course..but at beginning..need lots practice..like Dvtox said...dun ruin the course..hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 Strokes is the terms for hitting the balls right? BTW what does ruin the course mean? Does it mean the course of the game? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 ya stroke as in hitting...as in whecking the turf grass course Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 Those people playing in the driving range are practicing their strokes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 wah do u tink then? stretching their bodies?hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funnie Neutral Newbie August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 KNS! I heard from my friends that there are many different strokes use for the golf game? How to define all the strokes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyw4lker Clutched August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 can ask your guyver mah! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...