Hammy Neutral Newbie August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 Can anyone tell me whether if I can retuned back a car (e.g evo stationwagon, which is detuned from its original 280 hp) back? Assume that this car is bought brand new from AD and has been detuned as required by LTA. If the answer is yes, will LTA be able to check if I sent it for inspection later on after 3 years? I know this is a stupid question maybe to some of you but i know nuts about these type of performance cars. Why I ask this as I am considering between Mz CX-7 and Toyota Harrier. I actually wanted to change my next ride to Honda Euro R but my CO dun allow (family car), so my next choice is a SUV. I notice that CX-7 is using the same engine as Mz6 but detuned (hopefully I am right). Please no flamming. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 Should be possible if its only a software re-tune. Anyway, change your CO if she don't allow the Euro R! Just kidding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 they won't be able to check. if there's no modification. they can't Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammy Neutral Newbie August 31, 2007 Author Share August 31, 2007 Haha, no lar CO dun allow cos got kid on board and also euro r manual mah. She dun like to drive manual. She say only after he has grown up maybe late teens, but I say then that time is he will be driving that car more than I drive liao. So if only software, outside tuner do it right liao lar, is it? What if they dun have the software? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 Personally I feel that for modern cars, you should not "re-tune" the engine unless it is done by a certified mechanic that has done training at the car's factory, i.e. if you want to retune, you should get it done by a professional (e.g. the AD's service center if possible) coz with current car electronics and stuff, if you anyhow re-tune by rogue mechanics that claims they know..you might cause damage to your engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 airtrek lor. got power space and most important look and name. mitsubishi. btw what CO actually means. i through u work in the police station as I.O so C.O yr boss. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 31, 2007 Share August 31, 2007 Can anyone tell me whether if I can retuned back a car (e.g evo stationwagon, which is detuned from its original 280 hp) back? Assume that this car is bought brand new from AD and has been detuned as required by LTA. If the answer is yes, will LTA be able to check if I sent it for inspection later on after 3 years? I know this is a stupid question maybe to some of you but i know nuts about these type of performance cars. Why I ask this as I am considering between Mz CX-7 and Toyota Harrier. I actually wanted to change my next ride to Honda Euro R but my CO dun allow (family car), so my next choice is a SUV. I notice that CX-7 is using the same engine as Mz6 but detuned (hopefully I am right). Please no flamming. I should think that when they mentioned "de-tune", it is not only the programming of the ECU. Most likely the turbo and supporting equipment/parts are also of lower range. (i.e. lower cc injectors, smaller turbo, smaller intercooler, smaller fuel pump etc...) No point in putting in all the high output stuff while the car is not tuned to maximise it. That way, the manufacturers save costs mah...... So although the engine might be able to support higher output..... the other accessories/parts might not. SO by just trying to do a re-tune, you'll not likely push out much more. Probably only a slight output increase at the expense of your "safety" margin. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...