Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 What's the difference between the SOHC and DOHC. I have read up on the definitions but I still don't understand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 SOHC are lighter and cheaper to mass produce,but performance wise...DOHC is much prefered to wring tat high rpm at redline.Until now,SOHC in Honda can do about better torque at mid range and good f/c Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 The full explanation is available in this encyclopedia: http://www.encyclopediadramatica.com/index...st_Kicked_In_Yo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 SOHC = Single Overhead Cam DOHC = Double Overhead Cam SOHC = 2 valves (1 intake and 1 exhaust) DOHC = 4 valves (2 intake and 2 exhaust) Hope I'm correct also cheem... i only know SOHC and DOHC.. machiam missionary position, up and dw ramming VTEC machiam bakuke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 In Vtec language, SOHC = Turbocharged DOHC = Twin Turbocharged Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Then how come a 92' civic vti DOHC opens onceand a 96' civic Sir DOHC opens twice? Sorry ah.. I'm a noob to VTEC 92vti b16a2 is about the same as the 96sir b16a4, just that the b16a4 got about 10 more bhp. both vtec open once. if u say vtec open twice, should be the b18c (integra dc2) you are wrong. B18C has only 2 stage Vtec engine. (meaning open once). The 3 stage Vtec engine ("open" twice) is made for a non performance engine known as the D series. Those are all SOHC. Thumbs up for the attempt to contribute though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heeltoenoob Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 If you guys have nothing to contribute, don't post. All the OT posts are one reason why such threads keep reappearing cos people don't get the answers they are looking for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 The opening of the intake valves and exhaust valves are governed by the degree of the cams. Thus if you are SOHC, you are using one timing for both intake and exhaust. Engineers found that to be rather limiting for performance thus DOHC, (two cams) were used. Intake cam: This cam is used to control the opening and duration of the opening of the intake valves. Exhaust cam: same as about but this time it is for the exhuast valves. This way, tuners can set different degrees for the cams. At high RPMs, the opening of both the intake and exhaust valves have some form of overlap, thus tuners can set the exhaust valves to close a little later, forming a srong vaccum in the combustion chamber, thus when the intake valve start to open, air is sucked in very strongly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 SOHC = Single Overhead Cam DOHC = Double Overhead Cam SOHC = 2 valves (1 intake and 1 exhaust) DOHC = 4 valves (2 intake and 2 exhaust) Hope I'm correct also Wrong. SOHC means one Cam controlling the intake and exhaust valves. DOHC means two cams. One controlling intake Valves, the other controlling exhaust valves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Wow sounds interesting... Turbochargers force air into the engine... Vtech technology make the engine a super sucker to suck more... interesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 i tokking to porky leh not u. so gan cheong for wat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Aiyo.. cannot take joke one this one.. alert everyone dont joke about vtech already lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 yup... number of cams does not institue to number of valves. No. of valves depend on cylinder head design and combustion chamber design.. more commonly in-line 4 DOHC engine would normally have 16 valves, only a few uses 20 valves(3 intake, 2 exhaust) 8, 12 valves would be more common on SOHC engine. DOHC are better due to more precise cam timing (valve opening, duration etc) VTEC engine are jus having additional high profile lobes on the cam for switch over(Vtec kick-in) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Thanks.. your post made it clear.. BTW are you a Vtech-er? (meaning driving a Vtec enhanced engine?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 (edited) my previous ride was city vtec, but it ever was eaten by VVT-i corolla G9, shame to talk years ago, on highway I runned at about 110km/h on extreme right lane, a corolla G9 tailgated me a while, then shifted to left lane tried to overtake me, I floored my throtle (tot Vtec kicked in aready), but the corolla G9 still could overtake me and shifted back to extreme right lane in front of me why did my vtec not work [inline Vtc_nazi.jpg] Edited September 10, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 10, 2007 Share September 10, 2007 Then how come a 92' civic vti DOHC opens once and a 96' civic Sir DOHC opens twice? Sorry ah.. I'm a noob to VTEC 92vti b16a2 is about the same as the 96sir b16a4, just that the b16a4 got about 10 more bhp. both vtec open once. if u say vtec open twice, should be the b18c (integra dc2) you are wrong. B18C has only 2 stage Vtec engine. (meaning open once). The 3 stage Vtec engine ("open" twice) is made for a non performance engine known as the D series. Those are all SOHC. Thumbs up for the attempt to contribute though. not all D series engine have 3 stage vtec. only the EK3 Vti.they have 2 vtec solenoids. some D series can be make to perform but ofcourse not as optimum as B series. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Llfr Neutral Newbie September 10, 2007 Author Share September 10, 2007 Actually I'm asking more about VTEC SOHC and VTEC DOHC So which engine models "open" twice and which are the ones that "open" once ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...