Haurus85 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Hi bros, my first time starting new thread. Anyway, i recently attempted to apply some touch up paint to my black altis. Got from autobacs..number 209. The thing is, i applied too much and now the paint sorta got 1 clump. Is there anyway to smooth it down? I tried using claybar but it doesn't work. I heard that there's this thing called rubbing compound? Will it work? Please advice. Thanks bros! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Bro, think there is this sand paper which is dunno how many micron type which is use for sanding down I'm not that sure where to get it but have seen my painter doing that to my ride when i complained of some tiny lumps of excess paint after i re-spray my bumper the other time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 U might wan to find sandpaper of 1500 grit and above.. the higher the less abrasive to start with. Soak the sandpaper in soap water for a nite, make sure ur paint is completely dry before sanding. Ensure you sand just the rite amount off, if not the whole touch up paint will be sanded off. When you feel the surface is even, buff off using DA to get back the shine. It wont be 100% perfect, but at least less obvious.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Author Share September 15, 2007 Sorry what's DA? The sandpaper of 1500 grit can i get it from autobacs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 i think sand paper can get from any hardware shop (Wu Jing Dian or 5 gold shop). get water proof one hor if not soak liao dunno what'd happen to it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Author Share September 15, 2007 oh i din know they got stock such high level types. What's the purpose of soaking the sand paper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uplinkhack 1st Gear September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 not sure about the soaking..but the procedures that i usually read online, says need waterproof one leh..prob also put water when sanding so the surface won't be so rough..maybe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Author Share September 15, 2007 Haha ok. Thanks bro. Anyway does anybody know what's DA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 autobacs wont have 1200 grit sandpaper, but rougher ones. More chance you can find in hardware shops. The soaking is to soften the paper, and make sure you have plenty of lubrication while sanding.. 1200 grit is consider very abrasive, so if u can find higher grit the better, maybe 2000 or 3000 grit. DA is Dual Action, example like Porter Cable buffing machine. After wetsanding your surface will be marred terribly.. that is why a DA is a must, manual polishing IMO wont be able to fix the marring.. Wet Sanding is a very 'risky' method, if you can bare with the touchup without wetsanding, I would recommend you avoid doing it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 Wet Sanding is a very 'risky' method, if you can bare with the touchup without wetsanding, I would recommend you avoid doing it.. Best is let the pros do it...amatuer like us would make it worst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie September 16, 2007 Author Share September 16, 2007 Hmm, thanks bro (or is that sis? jess is very unisex..sry) My car surface has enough fine scratchs as it is. Until i can afford a DA buffing machine i guess i'll juz have to bear with it or buy 1..it cost in the hundreds rite? too much poison.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spherex 1st Gear September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 i think sand paper can get from any hardware shop (Wu Jing Dian or 5 gold shop). get water proof one hor if not soak liao dunno what'd happen to it.. difficult to find very fine sand paper in hardware shops. to get such fine and high grit sand paper, can try those model cars hobby shops instead. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...