Limlien Clutched September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Yo, Can get for me the bottom fog lights of the passat lingyu. How can? How much? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 I am not surprised with the premature failure of the Tiptronic autoboxes and turbochargers on the Silverarrow Superb taxis. A huge contributory factor is the driving patterns of your more aggressive colleagues. A trip to CA or Aldan (the workshop contracted to perform oil change and repairs on the Silverarrows) may reveal the severely abused taxis. I have seen such taxis with severely damaged undercarriage and automatic transmission boxes which leaked ATF. Sat in one abused Silverarrow with very abrupt gear shifts and jittery rides. Without surprise, the aggressiveness of the driver bespoke the condition of his ride. Fast sprints to 110km/h on roads with speed limits of 70km/h, going over bumps and humps with full throttle ... Another point which is often overlooked by your colleagues. Please allow the engine to idle for 2 minutes with all accessories off (air/con, radio) before stopping the engine after hard and/or prolonged driving. If not, the turbocharger will be the first item to be replaced as a result of excessive heat build-up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinetics Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Interesting....my signal relay, Skoda lasted for 1.5 years, CA wanted S$136, changed to a Audi for S$45, which lasted 1 year. The last changed was 1.5 years ago to one made in China VW, cost me S$28.50. Ha.... As for bearing, realised that OEM are better and cheaper....am surprised at the (lousy) build quality of VW and Skoda....glad there is a China producing cheap parts which has a better chance to outlive the original.... Am in Nanjing now, anything/anyone for order list... Any chance of getting the original remote entry for the old Elegance? I'm still using key to enter after so many years By the way, does anyone knows if I can get someone's original remote from lets say a old A4 is going to be scrap and transfer to my ride? Does it need re-programming? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alveron2001 Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Yup you need to reprograme the remote. I also thought of the same thing. Better to get original key back from AD at $300+ Hwa keat don't even have the remote, only the normal key type. They remote for A5 they charge something like $500+. Like more ex than AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alveron2001 Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 The roof is failing and the window cannot wind up. Spring under the car fell off, a/c light not working. Rear 3rd brake lights some bulbs are off. Whaa ? Roof Falling ? Do you mean the interior roof fabric peeling ? You are the resident self-fixit... How did you fix this ? Just peel off and glue back ? If it's the foam/sponge padding of the roof that is rotting then cannot glue back ? I mostly park in open-air CP. Am afraid hot sun might do the same to my interior fabrics. Very worrisome huh ? cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Think bro. fortress did too many DIY to his car liao lah ..... countless times of noise insulation. Peel here, peel there to stuff things in ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Pray that none of the window lifters fail. I had a nightmare of changing all 4 of them... Mine was similar, due to stooopid switch fault, i had to park my car in C&C workshop as I couldn't remove the ignition key. If the window drops suddenly, it's also a b1tch to keep the car safe. Luckily i noticed a funny sound on my A4 and got it rectified before it dropped. Furthermore it cost me only the plastic piece, which is significatly much cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cccs Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 Im not sure abt Octavia. Was driving the 2.5 V6 TDI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cccs Neutral Newbie September 21, 2007 Share September 21, 2007 (edited) Yes koolaba, I do agree there r hardcore drivers, but there r oso those who really take good care of the Superbs. Im 1 of such who pamper it. Thus i only encounter few prob during my 115,000km ride. But 1 thing for sure, when going over hump really hv 2 b xtra careful. Other than tat i still miss the Superb's 'magic carpet ride'. The latest E-class is horrendous when driven over uneven road. Cheers~ Edited September 21, 2007 by Cccs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched September 22, 2007 Share September 22, 2007 Pray that none of the window lifters fail. I had a nightmare of changing all 4 of them... bro the spbs don't have the lifter problems...except for mine. Only one other spb ever had it, and it was a silverarrow cab. had to wait a few mths for replacement part to arrive....but now sounds even worse and louder! but must say the Jaffar did a great job isolating my water leak, linked to a seal that wasn't put properly when running a wire at accessory shop, not CA or Skoda linked.... cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limlien Clutched September 22, 2007 Share September 22, 2007 So the water leak into where?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched September 22, 2007 Share September 22, 2007 water leak into right side carpet, hey bro, the passat lingyu fog lamps look like dun fit our car .... it would be nice if someafter market does lower Fogs, looks macho! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limlien Clutched September 22, 2007 Share September 22, 2007 Dont bloody care man! I am going to get the fogs first and try to get someone to mod or cut my grilles to install the lights in. There is no other light that can fit nicely then the lingyu one. Btw i cannot understand one point. If you have your lifter exchanged why did the sound get worse? care to explaint it? keke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched September 22, 2007 Share September 22, 2007 beats me, Jaffar also dunno, they will look at it at next servicing......... now like strangled cat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moeykf Neutral Newbie September 23, 2007 Share September 23, 2007 Im not sure abt Octavia. Was driving the 2.5 V6 TDI. thx for the info bro. really appreciate it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Let me know if you need the drawing to strip it...quite easy actually... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 The roof was the last thing that I was supposed to do until that I found out, I might have to sell the car to be posted overseas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fisheye Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Hi Bro, That's where the problem lies...same as my dying cat If you look at and compare the rubber sleeves housing the driveshafts bearings on a Jap car and our rides, you will notice that the rubber sleeves for jap cars are made from a softer more elastic rubber compound compared to that of the Superb which are from a thicker, much more harder vulcanised rubber. Thing is, rubber needs to be flexed often to ensure that it maintains its elasticity. If you leave it sitting around too long, it tends to degrade, harden and finally breakdown. As with my Cat, think the platinium comb has begun rusting after 2 years in the warehouse... good excuse to go for a high flow cat back exhause system ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...