Some mega churches affect students adversely

Altivo

I guess when u have kids U'd find out that kids dont always listen to their parents & parents do not have much control over what their kids do.

Some churches brainwash their followers. I have had friends who'se churches even dictate who can be their friends or who they can even date. If they have marital disputes they will places cameras all over their home to record what is being said etc.

Its not easy to decern whether a church is true to the teachings of Christ or just out to promote its own self interest. To know whether the tree is good or rotten, you have to see what kind of fruit it bears .:)

i guess so, but nothing can compare to the time parents invest in their kids, especially when they are young... i do listen to my folks, ...generally... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

churches have guidelines that members follow, up to the members discretion, of course, if it makes sense to them, they follow, if it doesnt, no firing sqaud... they are free to leave, its all out of free will... brainwash maybe too strong a word lah...

thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

sometime it's a big headache.

i never heard people com damming other religion except Christianity.

when a church is boring. people say it's boring. when a pastor is old fashion people say it's old fashion. when a pastor have colored hair and contemporary hairstyle. people complain saying pastor shouldn't have such hairstyle and dressing,

it's like when u make a different. do good. etc no one say anything. but when u do something slightly unplesent. the whole world point fingers at u.

Well I use the word brainwashed cos I have seen what undue influence some of these churches hold over their members. The other word cult comes to mind.

hahaha.... just look for the ones with chio chio architectural, multi-million facade made of titanium can leow!! [sly]

another good indication is the number of young chio [gorgeous] that goes in and out of the premises [laugh]

like i said. in the past when church have the impression of HOLY HOLY HOLE HOLE HOLE people kp. 21st century churches like u see a few in sg like u said opposite like what's in the past. people kp say building too ex. too this and too that.

I will join this one.

But not keen to worship some hot air inside a rubber tube. At least have a statue lar, like that temple in Japan. Got festival somemore. [thumbsup]

No membership right? Got free FR right?? [laugh][laugh]

This will be the big hit among sg. Who know we can even beat the ................ [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

yeah... Singapore to oppressive leow.... this will definately be a big hit! [thumbsup]

Hmmm I guess u dont have the experience. Some churches do not allow u to leave its fold. In fact sometimes they will insist the members only have friends within the church so if you wish to leave the church u will lose all ur friends. Your "friends" will then be instructed to ostracise you. Is that free will?

Edited by Zanter

I have a noob question. [:)]

Can Christians consume food that has been prayed over by ppl of other religions?

Edited by Boboman

well they dun. I got example : not to name anyone, the mum have to set aside all the dish (extra serving) for son n DIL who is christian. If not they wont eat.

What teaching is that???? i simply dun understand.

people are hard to please... but jokes aside, funds for places of worship are usually in the form of donations, so the leaders have to thread and think carefully in their decision making... think of NKF [sly]

well at least u know some who does. I know many who will shrug their shoulder n walk off. What kind of teaching is that.

If Lord can see, i wonder how will he feel?