Points for Taxi driver

Bluenuts

It's nice that you highlight something good from what you experience, though a bit over courteous, but definitely better than being rude.

Even w/o auto doors, i'll try to open the door for passengers with their hands full.

Be it pram, boxes, luggages....my helping hand will be there as long i can.

Heh heh, dun take me too seriously lah.

I do have my views and perceptions on Taxis, everyone does.

Just that I happened to be a little more sensitive to those Taxis that I posted, some relating to my trade so I am quite vocal about it.

Nevertheless, I wish many many customers! Huat ah!

When you starting?

Just a few pointers to add..

Talk to your passengers if they are alone. It'll brighten up their day and your day too. Of course, have to be sensitive lah. If your passenger is the type who does not like to talk or just want to take a nap, then just keep quiet. And don't keep complaining abt gahment like most taxi drivers too. A complaining spirit irritates people.

And also don't pick and choose destinations during peak hour like most taxi drivers do. Just let them onboard and drive them to their destination.

Yeah.. their are lots of bad taxi drivers out there. But I have met some really good ones too. For those good ones, I will usually tip them at the end of the journey. Remember there was once I was quite late to leave for the airport for my flight. It was just about 1 hr before flight departure. I was thinking it will still be ok as it is highway all the way to the airport.. and that most taxi drivers tend to speed. But to my surprise, this taxi driver was driving below 80 on lane 2 instead of cheonging on lane 1 when he entered the expressway! I didn't want to pressure the driver to speed as he may not feel comfortable as he may get caught. So I just kept quiet. After a short while, he broke the ice and just asked me what time is my flight, and when he knew my flight is leaving in abt 1 hr time, he quickly switched to lane 1 and chiong all the way at 100+, even when there's speed cameras. Then throughout the journey he talked to me.. which helped to keep my mind off the possibility of missing my flight. On reaching the airport, he got down and helped to take my luggage out of the boot. Gave him a nice tip in the end, and I was on time for my flight [thumbsup] This taxi driver really made my day. [;)]

dun speed! i have seen cabbies roaring down the hiway at more than 150kmh.. think for the safety of the passengers..

my fren also complained once she boarded a cab from changi airport.. and the cabbie drove at 140kmh.. and aft tellin him to slow down.. he slowed down to 120kmh.. must speed like dat meh?

I know there's more complaints than compliments regarding Taxi drivers.

Care to give me some pointers to be a better one as i'm a taxi driver soon to be.

Thanks...

Just make sure you adjust your headlights properly and test your signal lights and brakes before moving off.

[sweatdrop]

Always ask your passengers which route they prefer and if they do have one, stick to it.

Those who know, will know. The smart alecks will pay the extra fare they chose to incur.

Agree about the complaining part, very irritating indeed.

I've noted down your point about communication with passengers, will look into that.

Also choosing destination is not on my list, peak or non peak...

Hey, i juz drive to where you wana go. You're the Boss!! [flowerface]

As what Bro Green_carnation has mentioned, cabbies should not speed, in fact all motorist should not speed, i doubt anyone will object that. [:|][:|]

Well, if the traffic condition permit, maybe juz a little also no harm right?? [lipsrsealed]

I confirm ask and will follow whatever the route they prefer.

Juz don ask me do illegal U-Turn hor cos i know some people do that juz to save a few mins.

Am i Right??? [smash][smash][smash]

Edited by Bluenuts

the most important thing is sufficient rest and a mindset that safety comes first, not passenger or $$$

easy to say, hard to apply. hence the vast majority of taxi drivers are a$$holes on the road. no offence meant. just my daily observation [shakehead]

anyway, wish u all the best in ur driving career [drivingcar]

bro,

I think most bros and sis here already given some good pointers.

I'll just touch on the personal health issue.

You should keep yourself fit, becos your trade box you up in a confined space for long period of time, try to have some breaks in between to freshen up as your concentration level may drop toward midway of your shift.

Try to enforce a exercise routine like jogging, walk, etc to keep yourself fit, becos all this help you to be more alert on the roads.

I know there's more complaints than compliments regarding Taxi drivers.

Care to give me some pointers to be a better one as i'm a taxi driver soon to be.

Thanks...

Don't tune your radio to FM 95.8. It's irritating. [laugh]

I'm still getting the clown next week [:(][bigcry]

Q for the Sonata very the Looonnnnnggggg.

Maybe next year ba.

Bro, sad to say, I'm a frequent complain king about cabbies especially the clowns... may be u want to take note of my view about these clowns:

1. These range of clowns are really old in terms of their exterior, interior, drive train and gear train etc. -

I greatly hope that cabbies understand that they are old clowns and don't drive it like the new age Crowns which can eat many cars for breakfast. Many a times, i see these clowns want to pick up but with the limited and out-dated engines, it just cannot make it and it also generate hell lot of noise out of it and these clowners still want to take up the right overtaking lanes thinking that they are driving a proper Crowns. Therefore, don't try to overtake a Crown...er, don't even try to overtake ...er I mean even a Sirion lah...

2. After overcoming that choking-for-breath stage, these clowns love to chiong like nobody's problem even they know that they have to slow down and brake in about 100m away...they will chiong chiong chiong and jam their brakes at the last 20 or 15m.

3. Wave thanks or acknowledge other drivers' giving way and don't take it for granted... [:p] this apply to me as well lah [laugh] ... so far, i only saw one waving thanks but quite a few waved middle finger... i reported one doing that to me the last time[:|]

4. Well, er...cabs who try to squeeze with me will usually have a shock of their life...usually they thot they will "win" but, well...i dont know leh... i have a lot of prejudice against cabs lor... probably my experience with them extremely erked me lah.. i will not give in lor. [:p]

5. One thing that really piss me is that when they don't have passengers, they like to drive at 30km/hr and barke intermittenly looking for customers... although in the left lane but please respect other road users lor.... when they have customers, they horn at anybody in front of them and people waiting to get out to the main traffic... well, i really hate this style lah bro.

I usually dont see a lot of other cabs like the newer Sonatas, Merc, Superbs and Kias etc having the above leh... i think very much got to do with the car... really cannot perform much to overcome a lot of situations.

so, enuff said, hopefully u will set a good example after listening all these and try to encourage your fella colleagues to take note of their attitudes on the roads.

Lastly, I wish u have a successful career in this line. [thumbsup]