Re: LGT

Lifemoveon

Not stated on the use of bigger turbo leh, looks like only remap ECU.

My take is it's not worth it. Just PI a manual JDM LGT, straight away 280bhp and 2L road tax, and furthermore manual which is what the TS wants. thumbsup.gif

I am driving 1 ... so lemme give you my 2 small cts

1. What else can I squeeze the SE for?

dont know ... maybe rebate

this car already has everything

if you are cute ... bargain for a GPS ... factory fitted if possible

2. What more modifications can I do?

your pocket is the limit.

I hv already blown 20K on it and I occasionally still lose

No one single ultimate driving machine to decimate all the competition

got time ... stop by 1 pro-subaru workshop in Sin Ming (Lim-something-something_ to get some poisoning.

else ... go to Targore Lane ... there is a new building there

workshop downstairs, parallel import business unit upstairs

ask for Ms June Wong ... tell her you want the LGT Spec B manual transmission

4 to 6 months waiting time

or speak to her bro... Lester ... he can recommend how to bankrupt your credit cards

3. If I remove the bonnet (with scoop) and replace with one without, will it affect the turbo?

yes and no

yes if you remain as stock intercooler

no if you change to front mounted intercooler

Lester will teach you wat to spend on

Edited by Comnao

Potential total damage is 115K. The difference between that and a regular GT is 8K. The main difference is the ECU tuning, suspension tuning and strut bars. To me, these are very important because of the speeds I hit in Malaysia.

Cheers.

Hi man,

I've already got a GPS. Works fine for me now as it tells me where speed cams are. Haha...

Very likely I'll just let it remain stock. I'm planning to do 30% downpayment, so I have to recover from the huge payout first.

I wonder the manual version would have as many gadgets as the MI one and how much does it cost. Performance is important to me, however I still like to have ride comfort - that's why I prefer the LGT than the WRX.

How's your fuel consumption and maintenance cost so far? Care to share?

Calculated total cost to be 115K (inclusive of tuning by STI). I understand TC cars have higher maintenance cost. How much exactly, i'm not sure - got to ask brothers here for advice.

Cheers!

i personally hv not tried the manual version myself

I hv seen 1 such car during the forum meetups but i do not know the owners personally so i din get to sit inside the car to find out how it performs.

MI will never bring in the manual version. I know bcos i know the owner of the company

Cost wise.... according to industry sources ... PI and MI cost about the same

but PI is JDM spec ... suppose to hv more goodies like variable valve timing and some other eletronics stuff

my is the 2L version so not fair to compare w the current 2.5L

FC is about 6km/l when blown, high 8s when ah pek driving

so far only my aircon compressor and steering rack bushing gave up on me for the last 3 yrs

...costed me less than 2k to fix

other maint cost is only engine oil, atf, differential oil and spark plugs.... the last 2 items can kill!!!

U mean the labour charges for the last two items can kill... [laugh]

AWD or 4WD cars have 2 gearboxes 1 auto trans & the other is the differential gearbox. Hence u have to maintain 2 gearboxes. Differential gearbox oil works differently from trans gearbox oil where trans oil is more for lubrication whereas diff. oil is a transmission medium.

Spark plugs on the boxer engine are located at the sides of the engine. Unlike a inline 4 they are dedious to replace. Porsche also have such high labour charges. [:p]

Hm....the process of bringing in a PI car sounds tedious and potentially costly.

Why PI won't bring in the manual version? So that it won't 'kill off' the WRX sales?

Care to explain what do you mean by 'can kill'? More than 500 bucks?

Additionally, I heard they are going to launch the latest model of the Legacy. Any idea when this would be and about how much they are going to retail?

Cheers.

thank you for clarifying on my behalf

yes ... bcos of the position of the boxter... access to the spark plugs are not easy

Therefore labor is a bi7ch to replace

this is a poor man porsche ... but we pay the same bi7ching labor to replace the spark plugs

Hmmm.... which is why i recommend you to talk to that reputable PI in Targore Lane.

I personally would feel safer buying from such a PI compared to one jus registered the company yesterday

I thk you mean why MI wont bring in manual

Reason is bcos Legacy is viewed as an executive sports saloon

Therefore the target market wants a cushy ride with sporty features ... for a boy racer turned PEBM

Maybe they have to share this car w their wives too ... therefore the target is to give auto tranny , not manual

I hear the next model will be in Q3 08 ... so it is quite safe to keep buying current model legacys

Dont worry ... I have already reserved the last piece of the current model

So the last buyer will only be buying the 2nd last piece.

I think yr talking about the older model ... BH series

there are about 3 to 5 of them running around. One of them is a Superscale civil servant.

Met him at a gas station near my old house previously... very smart looking middle aged gentleman

Not sure if the forummer i met with the manual one ... if his BL model is the B4 or not

Hi there,

I just splashed my dough on the LGT 2.5. The one tuned by STI. Should be collecting the car in about 1 month.

Perhaps one of these days we might chance upon each other at the petrol station.

Cheers!

Congratulations !!!

Wah Lan yeh ... Sti siao !!

Dont chiet me hor !! [sly][sly]

stay [cool] , drive safe !!

dont let the killer whales bite!! ... welcome to the darkside