Slowmo Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 last time bill gates say 640k is enough liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 (edited) That said, it is important to make sure a PC running Windows Vista has enough horsepower to function properly, though my com has alot of horsepower i don't want to kill my horses fast. even if it's GPU load it's still detrimental. my 8800GT has a high idle temperature with xp already, don't wanna fry it faster. actually, i'm just not cool with them using resources when IDLING. Edited June 17, 2008 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 you know you can turn the extra features off right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Yea, but then you might as well go back to xp? well other than directx10 and added 'Cancel or Allow' functions I don't see any benefits of vista Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Err, I'm not interested in any ram chips at the moment. My com currently is maxed out on ram. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 http://www2.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/ne...ista-bad-steals Vista's so bad no one steals it MICROSOFT sued a bunch of resellers for flogging copies of software they didn't pay it for, the Vole said Tuesday. . . None of the resellers were accused of having stolen copies of Windows Vista. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 2 things. XP - 2gb limitation - fixable if you know registry voodoo Vista - supports 3gb out of the box XP - support EOL this year. Vista - support EOL *not* this year I remember those people who says Windows 2000 is better than XP too, so did those Windows 98/ME people when windows 2000 came out. I'm no vista fan boy, but I'm a practical person, I won't tell you to "run linux coz windows sux" etc... if I have to choose, I am liking vista more than XP. Be it blue screens, performance..etc. I do dislike some features that are lacking in non-ultimate vista that are present in XP-pro, but thats more of a Microsoft marketing strategy. Recently I just got a 2gig micro SD for $30 to try out the 'ready boost' feature, which is excellent. This is the reality, software are constantly evolving, and I'm glad it is still evolving, so soon we can see more efficient use of the hardware that are available. I hope to see true 64bit drivers and applications that are being used in the next 10 years. If you want to play with your 32-bit XP, that's fine, I'm pretty sure where I'm going Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 17, 2008 Author Share June 17, 2008 Basically the notebook is slower because vista takes up more memory and processing power for all the pretty graphics. And at the same time this is because of the high hardware requirements of vista matched with current notebook specs actually cause the notebooks with vista to actually be slower than ones equipped with windows xp. So therefore its like getting a bigger pump but using a smaller pipe. The results are at best no change from the previous setup. Thats what people refers as "good to see but not good to use". Cheers. The sian part is the Vista is slower ... Heard that there is alot of driver compatibility problem now also. Wonder how many of you encounter this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Not for me, maybe because I'm using a note book. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 17, 2008 Author Share June 17, 2008 Yea, but then you might as well go back to xp? well other than directx10 and added 'Cancel or Allow' functions I don't see any benefits of vista Can somebody tell me what is the difference between the various variation of Vista? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Also can say like this: Windows 98 with PII and 128mb Ram = Damn Slow and loads of Bugs / virus Windows ME with PIII and 256mb Ram = Slow and even more Bugs / virus Windows XP with P4 and 512mb Ram = Slow and still have bugs / virus Windows XP with P4 and 1Gb Ram = Faster but still have bugs / virus Windows XP with P4 and 2Gb Ram = Even Faster but still have bugs / virus Windows XP with P4 and 3Gb Ram = Much Fast but still have bugs / virus Windows Vista with P4 and 3Gb Ram = Looks nice but slow and loads of bugs Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 Different versions feature security and visual functions but ultimately the "better" versions are even slower and resource demanding... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 My notebook still running XP, which I feel is still better that vista currently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 I've got ultimate at home (uninstalled though). from what I heard basic edition is the fastest. I wouldn't know yet. waiting for my new notebook with basic to come. explained here http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/...ns/default.mspx Ultimate Windows Vista Ultimate is the choice for those who want to have it all. Easily shift between the worlds of productivity and play with the most complete edition of Windows Vista. Ultimate provides the power, security, and mobility features needed for work, and all the entertainment features that you want for fun. Learn more about Windows Vista Ultimate. Home Premium Windows Vista Home Premium is the preferred edition for home desktop and mobile PCs. It provides a breakthrough design that brings your world into sharper focus while delivering the productivity, entertainment, and security you need from your PC at home or on the go. Learn more about Windows Vista Home Premium. Home Basic Windows Vista Home Basic is ideal for homes with basic computing needs like e-mail, browsing the Internet, and viewing photos. Easy to set up and maintain, it enables you to quickly find what you're looking for on your PC and the Internet, while providing a more secure environment to help protect you from an unpredictable world. Learn more about Windows Vista Home Basic. Business Windows Vista Business is the first edition of Windows designed specifically to meet the needs of small businesses. You'll spend less time on technology support-related issues-so you can spend more time making your business successful. Windows Vista Business is the definitive choice for your business today and tomorrow. Learn more about Windows Vista Business. Enterprise Designed to significantly lower IT costs and risks, Windows Vista Enterprise meets the needs of large, global organizations with complex IT infrastructures. Learn more about Windows Vista Enterprise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 Wah!! After migrating to XP .... alot of drivers cannot be found .... Got 2 "!" mark error ... - SM Bus - Unknown Device Think I just revert back to Vista and then get a portable harddisk and forget about XP liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silhoutte Clutched June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 Jia lat man. So u gonna be stuck with vista. Feel sorry for u man. XP was better... But of cos mac is the best haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 18, 2008 Share June 18, 2008 I was toying with the idea of uninstalling the vista and install Xp the 1 day I bought my laptop....but I did not....too many issues to look into. So just stick to it lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 18, 2008 Author Share June 18, 2008 Jia lat man. So u gonna be stuck with vista. Feel sorry for u man. XP was better... But of cos mac is the best haha. Not really jia lat lah .... basically this is transition .... so such issues are expected under Windows Intel machine. If I were to continue searching and troubleshooting, I would be able to get the solution. But I must really say that XP is faster and serve the current purpose well. Vista would be for eye candy .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...